Do We Have To Belong To Something?

13 46
Avatar for Bisolammy
1 year ago

Yes! Is it necessary to belong to something or somewhere? Can't we just stand on our own and do it alone to achieve a positive result? This question came to my mind yesterday when I went to the audition venue. I have heard many things in life. I have always heard that no matter what you do in life, you need to be part of something or be a member of an organization for you to achieve your aim. As for me, I'm not that type. I always believe that we all can grow together by sharing ideas and opportunities and not by joining one organization or the other.

Yesterday, when I got to the audition venue, I filled out a form and my friends did too. We wrote our necessary information and waited for other people to come. They began to call us one by one. I was the fifth person because I came very early and registered my name when I git there. They called my name and I went inside. I was asked what my name is. The next question was "which organization are you under?". I told them I'm not under any organization and I did a monologue and went out. I later heard from a rightful source that they only needed actors from their organization. It was so disheartening because I knew I had already wasted my time. Honestly, I was very sad. My friends felt bad about that too.

When I left the venue, I began to think of different things. As I said earlier, I have always heard that if you want to make it in life, you need to be a part of something. Is that true? Let's take a look at religion. It is believed that man must have one religion or the other. I think that's why we are always asked about our religion whenever we fill out forms. It means we are to belong to an organization. Let's go to the music department. A lot of artistes are yet to make fame because they are not under any record label. But we tend to realize that popular artistes are under one record label or the other. Even models register themselves under some agencies so that they will get more jobs and be recognized. It's cool but I don't like it.

Here in Nigeria, even people selling similar goods have their organizations including transport workers. So it keeps on ringing in my head that I gotta join one organization. But they come with advantages and disadvantages. Let me sight an instance. Some record labels have done more harm than good to a lot of artistes. This is clear!! It's not in Nigeria alone but every part of the world. They have a lot of rules that seem not to be friendly to some artistes in the organization. When I got to the venue yesterday, I saw a lot of people who said they have been acting for over a decade but we don't know them. I sat very close to an elderly woman and she said she has been acting in film for sixteen years. I've never seen her on my screen. These organizations have a lot of restrictions and limitations and at some point, they won't favor me. I love to think about the future. I'm trying so hard for me to have a bright future in the industry.

Most people I met there yesterday are members of the organization but they are not even part of the top one thousand movie actors. They are just every other commoner. So, why will I join that kind of organization that is not looking for ways that their actors and actresses will grow and feature in more movies? I prefer not to be given the role of joining the organization. I met the governor of the Oyo state chapter of that organization yesterday. It's been a long she was featured in movies as well. I noticed something about this particular organization. They use few actors for major roles and give minor roles to actors who are not very famous. They are making us feel like there's no opportunity there.

Now, let me ask you. What work do you do? Does your work have an organization? Will you advise me to join an organization (A better one)?

11
$ 1.11
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Sajibb
+ 8
Sponsors of Bisolammy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bisolammy
1 year ago

Comments

Oww that was nice just don't give up with you dreams. Organization? Yeah I somehow belongs to organizations as my profession and becomes mandatory for we need that to renew our professional license, lol. Also I belong to praternity which also a organization, hehe. Why not, there are benifits of org. You should look also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh thanks so much I will join one with benefits. I'm grateful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well the should be yours to decide. As for me I have always hated to be in an organization. I prefer to be alone. Someone can be on his own and still make it of he is good at what he is doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly oh. They are making it feel like you have to be in an organization to succeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think an organization is good. We have it here in our area and it's a good venue to discuss and agree things for the best of our profession. However, yours is a bit different, if it denies you the chance to grow in your craft, that's a bit toxic in my opinion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some of these organizations are good while some are not

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They try to make it seem like we can't make it alone but i understand the power of unity. It shouldn't just be a do or die something

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Joining an organization is just like being recognized to be helped when you need one. Take the tailoring and hairdressing as an example, they have their own organization where it is easier to be connected for help.

I think it's important one must join an organization, whether virtual or offline.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm You're right. I'll see to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth is that, almost every single sectors have an attached organization which is stationed as a MUST for people therein, which is sometimes favourable and MOST TIMES not favourable...(just like you stated).

The movie industry is one that I find so unfair with the way low-key actors remain on low ground. I know a lot of people into acting for years but yet to be seen majorly as a main actor.

Music industry is more fair enough because sometimes the sound/voice announces without knowing the actor facially

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm you're right Nah those Yoruba movie association worst pass

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a student, there are many organizations in our institution like tourist club, chess club, dance club which are mostly useless. But there are some organizations like blood donating group, higher education planning, research club, journalist club etc. I try to join those which are related to my subject, as they will be useful for my future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. That's nice too. I like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago