Would you Start a business with a Family Member?

22 38
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

I have always loved the idea about going into a business partn ership with my brother and sister. I know I can trust them with my life and cooperating together would really interest me. I can't say the same for my cousins though, even though we meet everyday.

Trust, belief, love, respect, care and tolerance are the major factors that determines the success of a family business. Birkshere Hathaway, Walmart, EBay are family business that have survived for decades and are still growing stronger every year.

One good thing about a joint family business is that decisions are taken quickly as at when due as a result of the proximity between the members. No valuable nformation or suggestion is been held back by any of the members since they are all after the success of the business.

Also, in tough times, members are always ready to make sacrifices so that the family legacy can continue to live on. They wouldn't fancy a situation when they would be made a laughing stock by people since Tue family's reputation is at stake. Hence, there's always a higher level of dedication, commitment and accountability in a joint family business.

Anyway, research had shown that 4 out of 5 family businesses fail before 10 years.

You see, on the flip side money can really bring out the terrible side in a person no matter the closeness. When a sibling stab you at the back, the pain is more excruciating than when someone else betrays you. Worse is that you might not be able to initiate a debt recovery process by dragging him or her to court since you share the same blood. You wouldn't want things to get messier than they already are as the family would continue to be in the spotlight for the wrong reasons.

Also, problems might arise due to improper succession plan. Like a situation where the older members or founding fathers (brothers) ofnte business decide to retire after the long years of establishing a successful business. Now the next generation of leaders ( Children, nephews and nieces) could turn out to have different personalities and divergent views about the management of the organization.

Also, they might also be influenced by their spouses and friends. Hence the organization might begin to suffer due to disagreement among members as a result of lots of disparity in views and opinions. Not also forgetting that the older surviving members would always want their opinions to be seek before any decision is reached.

In a short while, nepotism, greed, incompetence, family feud would crumble the foundation and inadvertently lead to the demise of the organization

********************************

Thanks for reading 😀😀

11
$ 1.19
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 8
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

Some business with family members thrive but some also go the other way because of what you mentioned above. I admire those who are able to make a business partnership with their family members and not experience severe issues like greed among other things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly speaking ma'am. It's a thing of admirable. Some families are just perfect!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Joint venture always has more chances to lasts long but as you stated greed , war of supermacy, ignorance and lot of other factors may breach the foundation of business. Most of here believe that alone business ownership has less chances to grow but always panic free.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It depends on the individual strength and determination. If he thinks he can't do it alone, family could help in any way they can

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is are pros and cons on building a business with family. Yeah, I prefer not having a business with a family member because I feel like there is no wall between family and business. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sis and that's where the problem lies. A successful business wouldn't survive on emotions or nepotism

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am planning to have a small business and the money is my problem now, so my mind is telling if I can ask my partners sister to finance me but half of my mind is telling me not to do it because sometime uncertain circumstances happened and I dont want to have a misunderstanding with her especially if its all about money, so I did not bother her, maybe I will think another options

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true mummy adriellle. Trust me you will feel very proud and more confident after raising the capital on your own. Just believe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have thought about doing business with my sister for she is the one I trust the most and rely to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sure she also have ba beautiful personality like yours 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anyway, research had shown that 4 out of 5 family businesses fail before 10 years.

I was about to say it's a very bad idea before I saw the above quote. Money has a way of bringing out the worst in people and I rather maintain the good relationship I have with my siblings than to risk it in one business or another, make everybody just mind their own business

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. That's true to some point she.. But you should always be ready for billings the moment they see that your personal business have started yielding fruits 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😆 that one is normal and I can help them to some extent, but if it now turns into a bad habit, them no go see shishi again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I swear you no fit tryam. I have an elder brother like that, the worst he can do is to scream and complain about how we no dey ever allow am rest on top billingsl. but after all the Lamentations, e go still drop something. That one na for sure. Infact as e dey pain am, na so e dey sweet us 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money can bring out what you haven't seen in people before and more so, family members too. It's a tricky path that has caused more harm than good. It's not an easy path I have to agree. Humans change and who knows where they are also getting their advice from? A lot of people are not that strong willed and can easily have their minds poisoned.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sir. Family businesses used to thrive very well before but today the world don turn something else o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before some people will go and be advising the family member to misbehave and with money involved, no one can be fully trusted.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's better to build a business on your own because sometimes it will lead to misunderstanding and will cause chaos in relationship as a family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right ma'am. It almost always don't end well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't go into a business with my brother or sister, because when it comes to money you can not trust a human

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It depends on the kind of person though, to some extent

$ 0.00
1 year ago