The plight of a pedestrian.

17 38
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Be rest assured that as soon as you step out of your house after a heavy downpour, there's about seventy percent chance of getting your clothes ruined by muddy water. All thanks to some thoughtless drivers behind the wheels.

Thank you πŸ™

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Sometimes, it would appear as if a cab or a private car had been eagerly waiting for you to come out onto the road so that the driver could further decorate my beautiful dress with some cool but nasty water.

And since it's a developing country, most of the inner roads are untarred with numerous potholes fiiled with puddles. whenever it rains, the roads are always an eyesore

I remember an experience when I was still a school girl. it had rained heavily the previous night, and the following morning, the roads that led to our school was covered with puddles of thick mud. We had to intermittently leap over some really large puddles on our way to school. As children, we actually had fun jumping from one puddle to the next and would laugh at any of the other kids who mistakenly fall into a consecutive puddle.

Then out of no where, without a warning, an old lorry came along with full speed, spluttering dirty water all over us even when we had been walking by the side of the road. This really provoked the anger in our little hearts. I was so upset because I was the only girl among the rest and my immaculate uniform was already ruined by brown spots.

It meant that by the time I got to school, I shall be the only one looking dirty in the midst of other girls, on a monday morning. The rest of the other kids were still raining insults at the driver and his truck. One of them said that he wished the driver would meet with an accident on his way back. Another kid prayed that he would be attacked by arm robbers, and so on.. Lol. They kept throwing invectives at him till the lorry was out of sight.

As fate would have it, on our way back from school, we saw thesame vehicle. But this time around, it wasn't moving. As we came closer , it became obvious that the vehicle had plunged in a very thick mass of mud and had become stucked. We saw the worried look on the face of our tormentor- the driver and we burst out laughing ( from a safe distance).

He desperately needed assistance from passerbys to help push the truck from the rear so they he could be able to propel it from the front. Maybe he couldn't recognize us anymore as he looked surprised while we laugh. He ask for our help but the boys told him that they didn't have the kind of strength needed to push a truck as they are already tired and hungry from long hours of lessons. I felt quite sorry for the driver. Some of the boys even scooped some mud and flung it towards the driver.

I have had other experiences of being splashed with water while walking by the roadside but the worst of them all was when I was awaiting a cab to take me to a wedding venue. It was after a heavy rainfall and I was already late for the event when a Mercedes Benz ruined my dress with muddy waters. I couldn't attend the ceremony anymore and I cried as I walked back home. Not because I couldn't continue my journey anymore but because I felt cheated.

Sometimes, it amazes me. If you have been blessed enough to own a car, why wouldn't you have sympathy on those who still walk with their legs, some even with empty stomachs. why would you hurt them more by making them feel more miserable. It's not as they had asked you for a ride.

A good number of vehicle owners are quite guilty of this. From a psychological perspective, I am tempted to believe that some manic drivers carelessly but deliberately humiliate other road users by splashing water on them when the day is wet . Maybe it gives them a cracked feeling of satisfaction and pride when they see others who couldn't afford what they have got. You would agree with me that some humans are just unbelievable. I mean, every driver, including learners should always remember to drive carefully on a wet road in order to avoid splashing dirty water on people by the roadside.

Image Source

But I also understand that it's sometimes not intentional. A driver might not be aware that he or she had splashed water on other road users. I have seen good people who had highlighted from their cars and apologized as soon as they had realised the damaged they had done. I even had an experience with a good man the other day. He offered to drop me off but I declined. I was just OK with the apology and I became happy again. I think vehicle owners should try reducing speed on a wet day when approaching pedestrians. They'd later accelerate when there's no more people close by.

Reminiscing on past occurrences, I have seen quite alot of unhappy pedestrians use terrible curses on inconsiderate drivers after such an incident. Needless to say that the curses could be very sickening to the ears. Some folks might even curse the driver's forefathers and generations yet unborn ( my people could be very notorious with the use of words when they feel seriously cheated. Lol) .

All this had made me to have a strong resolve that if I ever get to own a car, I would be very cautious of others when driving in such wet conditions.

******************************

Thanks alot for staying with me ... Special thanks to @Kushyzee and aunty @Talecharm for the sponsorship renewal. I really appreciate your kindness. πŸ€—πŸ€—

11
$ 3.45
$ 3.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

This has happened to me many times and I would feel bad especially when I guess the driver intentionally did that. Most times I would hurl insults at them but I have realized raining curses on them might not be necessary since the deed has been done. You just have to turn around and change your clothes.

While reading this, an idea popped into my mind, perhaps doing something like this that 🀣🀣 It was actually a skit I saw on my status where the innocent Korean girl was passing by and a Jeep was speeding on a wet ground and muddy area. The lady just picked up a big stone and suddenly, the driver maintained his speed and drove quietly πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I said the lady was a smart person. Who would want his or her Jeep to get damaged? Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. U just reminded me about the video went viral some months ago.... I think that' would be the perfect language that some Nigerian drivers would understand too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is exactly what happened to me yesterday, the thing vex me eh. I was returning from church that morning and there was a very heavy downpour a few minutes ago, I was walking on a tarred road and trying to avoid erosion, then suddenly I saw a tricycle coming with full speed, the thing shock me because there was huge water on one side and the tricycle is coming on the other side. Before I can even think of what to do, the werey just splashed water all over me from head to toe. What immediately flashed into my mind was to pick up a stone and hurl it at him, but he get luck say I no see any stone nearby

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. So sorry.. I have also observed that tricycle operators are the major culprits. They'd move with so much speed after a rainfall, without caring that if the roads were wet... I think they can't wait to make all the money they had missed during the rainfall when the roads were empty... Very annoying set of people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you said the splash of mud was on a Monday? If it were to be me, I'd return back to home and skip the school for that day. Me that like neatness with IRONED clothe🀣.

Just like you said, some of these actions are not intentional

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Now why didn't I ever thought about that.πŸ˜‚... Sure I agree. They are not always intentional

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At that point where you step out and a random vehicle splashes mud or water on you, you'd begin to wish you had your own car.. haha.. Happens to the best of us!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, That's exactly the first thought that would come to mind,and you'd be more motivated to work harder.l especially when you know that the people that owned these vehicles once trekked πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some drivers can be unmindful and inconsiderate. I think bad karma got the driver who splashed you with mud hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure dear.. God answers the prayers of children 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced this before my friend. I was walking happily on the side of the road, when a splash of water reached my body and it startled me. It was all because of that vehicle. The driver was so insensitive to what I will feel after that thing, I feel so angry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And ofcourse, such a person won't be happy when some one treats him/her that way, so why do such to others... Well, it's human nature

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, the memory of that truck you said from your childhood was very interesting, the curses of the children are coming soon. I completely agree with you, some drivers are very careless, and don't pay any attention to pedestrians. This has happened to me many times.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol... you could say God listens to the prayers of little children. πŸ˜‚ And that's very insensitive and inhumane of thrm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some drivers deliberately splash water on pedestrians, while soon it isn't deliberate, just by mistake. We just need to know that anytime we go out during raining seasons we can have such experience. Thanks for your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.. the experience can be very unpleasant. Ur welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago