Have you ever been Blessed by a benevolent spirit before?

9 25
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

I was in my second year at the university at that time. There was this particular course that I found very difficult. Infact a lot of students found it backbreaking too. Not only was the course extremely stressful and difficult to grasp, the lecturers of that particular department were very mean . You could say that they derive gratification when students failed enmasse for they all adhere to a strict marking scheme.

Meet my humble and magnanimous sponsors. They are one thousand percent sweet

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

The course lecturer had given us two tests already but the results were not good at all as about 93% of the class members couldn't even make the average score. At this point, majority of my course mates had already resigned to fate and arrived at the inevitable conclusion that they would fail and carryover the course. This was because the exams was expected to be more difficult than the tests.

I also didn't do very well in the test . So I doubled my efforts and started reading all the materials I could lay my hands on. The day I was admitted into the university, I was so happy that I promised my self and my God that I would never fail and carryover a course till I graduated. This determination continued to push me and made me go the extra mile just to accomplish this beautiful desire.

A night before the exam, I couldn't sleep through out the night. I kept on reading and praying every now and then.At around 5am, due to weariness and exhaustion,i briefly rested my head on the reading table so as to gather a second wind. In less than three minutes, I regrettably fell into a sleep.

I woke up around 9: 20am for a daunting exam that was scheduled to hold at 9am. I jumped up immediately when I saw the time and began to panic. Without taking a bath or brushing my teeth, I careless threw my clothes over my body. With tears already streaming down my face, I ran out of my apartment as if it were on fire. By the time I got to the bustop which was not far from my residence, I was lucky to catch a bus that was going towards my school.

As soon as i entered the bus,I started to cry profusely and the other passengers ask me what the problem was. I told them that I overslept and woke up late for an exam that was already in progress. Some of the passengers tried to comfort me while others merely shook their head in pity.

I was stuck in traffic for more than ten minutes and I began to curse myself for renting an accommodation outside campus instead of living within the school premises. Suddenly a woman with an infant that wouldn't be more than a week old approached the side of our vehicle. I was the first person to see her since I was sitted close to the window. I saw the look of despair and misery in her eyes. She was obviously beggar who was very hungry. She pleaded with me that she have got to eat so that she could breastfeed her baby who was already crying.

The driver turned around and in a harsh tone, he screamed at the woman to leave me alone and get out. He told the woman that I was already in a serious trouble and she shouldn't disturb me with her own. He told her to take her baby to its father as it was his responsibility to feed and take care of child.

For a moment, I forgot about my predicament and was looking at the innocent child who continued to cry. I took out 500 naira ( 1.5 dollars) from my purse and placed it on the baby . The mother was so full of excitement and joy that she almost knelt down on the busy road to thank me. The baby in her hands looked at me and ceased crying, my heart was so glad and I smiled back at him. I couldn't stop myself from giving the mother another 200 naira.

At this moment, the traffic got better and our bus continued to move again.Because I was already late for the exam, The driver volunteered to take a shorter route that would lead to my school.

I leaned forward, and with my head turned backward, i looked out of the window and saw the woman with a beaming smile on her face as she kept waving at me from a distance. I waved back at her briefly and retreated back into my seat.

By the time I arrived at school, I was already over an hour late for an exam that was scheduled to last for two hours. When my examination paper and answer sheet was presented to me . I found out that I couldn't even bring my self to write anything. The image of the poor woman and her infant continued to occupy my mind. All over the question paper, I kept seeing her smiling face and that of her child as she waved at me. I thoughtlessly kept smiling at them too.

I managed to pull myself together was only able answer just twenty percent of questions before the time was up. As soon as I had submitted my work, I immediately left the exam hall without waiting for my friends to join me. I already knew that I would definitely fail the exams but to my surprise,I wasn't bothered by this fact. I kept thinking about the mysterious woman and the cute baby.

I boarded a bus back to my residence. As soon as we arrived at the spot where I met the woman, I ordered the driver to stop. I highlited from the bus and looked around but I couldn't find the woman. I proceeded by taking some steps forward and then backward, still I didnt see any sign of the woman and her child. I went further and asked the traders around wether they had seen or know the whereabouts of a woman with an infant who begs for alms by the roadside, but none of them seem to know what I was talking about.

I was quite disappointed as I wanted to see them one more time. I also would have loved to carry and play with the baby. After standing there for a few minutes, I later got another bus that took me home. I never saw the woman again even though I kept using that road regularly

Two months later, the results of the exam came out and I was shocked that I got a B. I was the only student in the class that achieved that feat. Others got lower grade while most failed the course as usual. I couldn't believe what I saw. How was this even possible when I had left most of the questions unanswered?

I told dad about this and I also told him about the mystery woman and her baby on the day I arrived late for this particular exam. Dad thought for a moment . "It might be that the woman was not an ordinary woman, She and her baby might have been a spirit of good fortune that God had sent my way ". Dad said. If you had ignored her, you might have failed the course just like others. He said.

I have heard stories and even watched movies of spirits appearing in the human form and rendering assistance to someone in distress but I have never thought it real, nor even think I would ever had an encounter with them.

Anyway, I still believe that the woman was just like any ordinary beggar but God decided to render a divine assistance to me in the exam because of the kindness I had shown to her and her baby. Or was she actually a spirit?

Let me hear your opinion in the comment section.

A very big thanks to all my sponsors, subscribers,readers,upvoters and com enters. I wouldn't be able to make it this far without you.

Yours lovely,

💗💗💗

Bilqees

6
$ 1.20
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Your article reminds me of a very mean lecturer of mine. Honestly, I wonder what kind of pleasure they derive from such an attitude. you know courses they teach become often difficult not because the courses are but because of the approach, they take teaching the course. I think they waste so much time being mean than finding better ways to pass knowledge. Who knows its an excuse to hide their inadequacies.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard countless stories of this occurrence. Just like the movies we normally watch, those stories are mostly real. God sending help in a human form to someone and afterwards the person would be untraceable. It's real my dear, just that if it happens it looks so doubtful at that point but when you give it a second thought, you'd see that "it might be God"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is wow. It's good to be a sincere giver, though there are many incidents that have happened which opposes giving a stranger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we all do what our heart tells us to do. I think we would be alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such magnanimousity. You have such kind heart. Many would have been so preoccupied thinking about their own predicament instead of helping the woman and her baby. Glad you passed. May I ask if you still have not broken your promise to yourself about having a carryover before you graduate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The promise is still standing by the grace of God ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, I believe that we meet a person in some purpose, maybe your father was right, maybe that lady and her baby was really sent from above just to help you pass your exam, that's actually sounds interesting. Or maybe that woman was sent to test you, of how considerate you are with the people in your surroundings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Thats why it pays to be kind

$ 0.00
2 years ago