Chronic borrowers

31 36
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

I got to realize this was actually an addiction when I became a student in the University, living on campus. We all know that there are alot of different personalities and characters one would encounter in a higher institution .

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

There are some individuals that when you see them coming or hear where their name is being mentioned, the first thing that comes to your mind is their terrible borrowing habit. Even when you get a call from such as person, you might instinctively assume that they want something and your guess would turn out right.

Most times, it's not as if they can't afford the needed item, but they find it more conveniently to take from others than to get their own,even if the item were very cheap. These items could be very common everyday stuffs like match sticks, seasoning cubes, buckets, laundry irons, perfume and even washing soaps.

What is more irksome is when such a person fail to return your stuff after they are done with it . You'd be forced to go back to their apartment and get your stuff back when it's time for you to use it again. This is quite a terrible attitude that might make you regret lending your stuff to such a person.

Sometimes, they might end up spoiling your stuff as a result of neglect or misuse. He or she might not even apologize for the inconveniences caused. And when you decide to bar such a person from using your things in the future as a result of their unpleasant behavior, You'd become an enemy and he/she might even slander or spread false hood about you.

I am not saying that we should close our doors to those in need of any form of assistance . From my observation, people who are always quick to ask for or use other people's stuff seem to be quite defective in self discipline and such people are never satisfied.

This is because I know of alot of young individuals from very humble backgrounds who have very little but do their best to manage the little they have for as long as they possibly can. It all boils down to self discipline and determination. And when such persons eventually comes to you for help for the first time, you'd know that they really needed it as the situation has now gone beyond their control. Infact, you'd feel honored helping such people. You wouldn't even mind to repeat the gesture some other time .

I for one find it difficult in asking some one else who is not a parent or a sibling of mine for a financial assistance. I'm not saying that I have never seek help or a favor from someone else before. That'd be a bogus lie and absolutely no one would believe me . But I know the kind of persons I would ask for an assistance.

Such a person would definitely be someone who I have assisted in their time of needs also. A close friend . And even if he or she couldn't help me out, I will definitely not feel bad about them neither would I regret asking for their help because I already know that if they were in a position to help, they wouldn't hesitate to help me too. I wouldn't hesitate to use that their stuff too when the need arises

I have a friend who was a compulsive borrower. There was absolutely nothing she wouldn't ask to be given to her, no matter how affordable it was in a nearby store. Ofcourse she likes getting familiar with people, and as soon as she have succeeded in making you her friend, she'd start using and misusing your stuffs even though the friendship was not even up to a week old.

It also turns out that she was a spendthrift who found it difficult to economize the modest monthly allowance that her parents sent her. She'd borrow money from everyone around and wouldn't want to pay no matter how much pressure her creditors put on her. whenever you ask her to pay up, she will always reply that she had "bigger debts" to pay and when she's done offsetting such debts, she would see what she could do about yours. She'd end up frustrating you till you forget about the money.

And if you want your money so bad, you'd have to involve the police to force her to pay up, but ofcourse you don't have time for that.

Strangely enough, she'd always succeed in convincing others to keep borrowing her money and I wonder how she does it. Who knows, maybe it's an esoteric skill that is innate and peculiar to chronic borrowers.

*******************************

Thanks for staying with me β™₯️

13
$ 2.58
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

You will be surprised when they come to you borrowing onions or pure water from you πŸ˜‚ I have seen many kinds in my hostel here but there are some times I turned them down. Not because of anything but the fact that everyone is a student and these things are cheap to get for yourself instead of borrowing. That is bad I always make sure to get all things available at my disposal to avoid borrowing because I feel shy doing that and for me to ask for any assistance, you must be so close to me as I find it embarrassing meeting people I rarely talk to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. We have thesame mindset. I find it really very difficult looking at someone in the eye asking them to borrow me money, especially my mates. And even if they finally do, I feel so weak and demoralized receiving the assistance, unless if it was an unsolicited gift, and I'd be very grateful ... I do make sure I do my best to pay back even before the agreed date. Then never again, I hate see finish πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you remind me of many people Sis haha I'm so kind before that I always give and let them borrow, but at the end it's me who feel shy to ask them about it. Yes it's true that the more you give, the more you received, but I would say tht this type of people should be excluded for that rule.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh dear, you just reminded me of one of my most favorite quote " the more you give the more you receive". Sure there would be some people who would want to take advantage of your kindness, but God would always have your back !πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These people are everywhere in every corner. In my current stage now, I've blocked my eyes and hears to some people because it's too much, and I know God understands. There are some people that ask you for help and even if you don't have at that particular time, you'll improvise means to sort it out for them... that's because they really need it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol @ God will understand. But God sef sa givers never lack. y the more you give the more you receive 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it works but to some extent it doesn't, especially when you are giving forcefully or grudgingly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have someone like that in my lodge when I was in 100lvl, the first time this guy talked to me was to collect onion πŸ˜‘ and that was how we became friends. Everything in my room belongs to him as well and the worse thing is that he never returns anything he borrows. I don't like that behavior and that's why I always return anything I borrow from my neighbor immediately I am done using it. I don't like borrowing but sometimes there are situations that warrants it and you have no other choice than to borrow

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. Your last sentence is especially true. No one is entirely free from needs. As for me, I'd try my best to pay back the money or return the stuff earlier than I had promised so that I would build a trust. ..... When I was in level 1, one girl that looks like one of those fowls in your farm help me finish my perfume before I even started using it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 See violence. It's that kind of experience that will make people think someone is selfish and wicked when we decide to not loan out our things anymore, people will always abuse that privilege

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it lending money out, I usually give out what I can afford to lose, because asking for money back ehn, I no get strength

$ 0.02
2 years ago

"what you can afford to lose". Lol, I no fit laugh abeg πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lending is good when the borrower knows his responsibility too. I hate it when someone borrows money or stuff and doesn't know how to return them especially things or tools. I want my stuff to be available when I need them, lol! For money, I learned my lesson and don't just lend to anybody now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Sometimes they still just find a way to borrow more. It's better to just gift them a much smaller sum and ask them to forget about paying back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, that's good too. And it won't be painful when they won't pay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember one of neighbor then, she can even borrow a child.. But the most important for a girl, avoid borrowing a girl you like moneyπŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘.. E get why

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. I no fit laugh... About avoiding borrowing a girl or boy that you like money, I swear you can't just help it.😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You won't be able to ask for your money back, finally.. You will let go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not bad borrowing money because we all do that. But it becomes bad when you don't pay for what you borrow. That person might find it hard to borrow again, karma will hunt that person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

exactly, especially when the creditor is in serious need of the money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right. Its actually offending

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There people like that friend when I also in college he also borrowed things from me. but suddenly those things he borrowed is ranging a week. Suddenly I thought he would return it to me, so I approach him and said he forgot to return and beg for sorry. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. He forgot to return some one else property since he's done with it. Not nice at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have a friend who borrowed money, but instill of being true to his promise, he keeps on making excuses regarding the payment. Until I got tired and just it it be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They could be very annoying you know. Sucj a person could even go into hiding or continue the avoid u for a long time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, the topic you raised is great. The presence of such people around us is really annoying. Like you, I can't borrow anything from anyone at all, if I borrow, I will not sleep at night. But some people seem to live their lives just by borrowing...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am, as soon as I borrow a sum, I'd immediately begin and plan when to pay back. Honestly, I don't believe people when they say they'd forgot about the money that you lent them. Like who does that ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly, people with this disease cannot control the bad habit of borrowing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am, some might even claim that they have forgotten about the debts when you approach them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If people repay the loan on time, we have no problem lending them money to help people. But the fact is that once people borrow, they do not want to repay the money, they humiliate us, then, for the same reasons, we don't want to lend money to anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really terrible you know. After promising to pay up, one makes his creditor look like a fool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago