The good old days of my childhood.

16 71
Avatar for BettyBoop
3 years ago

I grew up in Yugoslavia, after that in Serbia.

We walked to school and came back with friends. Our dinner time was at 7 p.m.

Lunch at the restaurant never happened. There was simply nothing.

You took off your school clothes as soon as you got home and put on your clothes for the game. We had to do our homework before they let us play outside. We had dinner at the table.

Our phone was mostly in the hallway and had a cable attached, so private conversations didn’t exist

The TVs only had a few channels! We actually had to ask before changing channels

We played hide and seek, hid and searched, football, basketball, between two fires

Staying in the house was a punishment and the only thing we knew about "boredom" was --- "You better find something to do before I find you!"

We ate what mom prepared for dinner or we didn't eat anything.

Everyone was welcome, and no one came out of our house hungry

There was no water in the bottle, we drank from the tap or garden hose outside (and everyone was healthy).

Our favorite treat was a slice of white bread spread with butter and allspice, sometimes with homemade plum jam (it was even tastier with friends)

We watched cartoons on Saturday mornings, and rode bicycles for hours, swam in rivers, walked through forests, meadows. They climbed trees, ate fruit from the branches.

We were not afraid of anything. We played until dark ... the sunset was our time to return home (and our parents always knew where we were).

If anyone had an argument, it was instantaneous and we were friends again the next morning

We respected the elders because all of our aunts, uncles, grandfathers, grandmothers, and our parents ’best friends were extensions of our parents, and you didn’t want to tell your parents if you misbehaved!

These were the good old days. So many children today will never know what it feels like to be a real child.

Good times

29
$ 1.11
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @eommaZel
Avatar for BettyBoop
3 years ago

Comments

Effects of digital age. But still, i want my daughter to experienced those things. Maybe after this pandemic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For those good old days ... It was a real childhood! It will stay in our memory forever! I wish such a childhood to future generations, but times have changed and I do not believe that they will feel the same on their skin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I'm missing my childhood days thanks for this article dear. I suddenly recall the old good days when I was still young. I consider myself lucky to experience an amazing childhood and those memories will never be forgotten until I am old. I want to tell my childhood stories to my future grandchildren, to let them imagine and live how wonderful and happy to be a child. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brilliant article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its definitley an interesting take on childhood! Things are always the warmest fuzziest memories when they remind you of your innocent days <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's so nice to reminisce about pur childhood. Reading this makes me feel nostalgic of my own childhood years 💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So so so nice.. i love my childhood life.💖💖💖💖💖

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have the same childhood days.. I miss those times.. I walk too going to school with just a pair of slippers.. for lunch I always go home to have lunch..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our childhood is always something to remember. The past and present is a projection of how our future will be. It is quite amazing to see you write such an article. Mind blowing contents.My childhood wasn't that smooth I don't usually talk about it because I was mostly alone and locked up in the house. I have never felt so lonely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Super article.keep writing Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

everyone has got ome memorie of good old days of childhood.yours is awesome and some part is common with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Were poorer but much more protected and grew up healthy in a more carefree environment than our children now. They hung out more and were more physically active. read books and wrote letters, developed completely differently intellectually than today's young generations.

$ 0.00
3 years ago