Did You Know That The World Largest Pearl Was Discovered by a Filipino?

37 67
Avatar for Bestie
Written by
4 years ago

Some years ago, history was made when A Philippine fisherman had discovered and kept hidden a giant pearl under his bed for 10 years.

Aileen Cynthia, a tourism officer in Puerto Princesa revealed the existence of the pearl on the island of Palawan she happened to be a relative of the fisherman. According to her, the Pearl was being gifted to her when the fisherman was about moving out of his home for safekeeping since it was quite heavy.

The Pearl weighs about 34 kilogram which is approximately 75 pounds, its more than 2 feet long and 1 foot wide according to CNN reports

This made it the World most largest natural Pearl ever discovered in a giant clam. This record was initially attributed to The pearl of Allah which was discovered off the coast of Palawan in the '30s

The 75-pound pearl is now on display in the city hall of Puerto Princesa; the local government has dubbed it the "Pearl of Puerto."

Maggay-Amurao, who says she persuaded her relative to display the pearl instead of hiding it, has called for gemologists to visit Puerto Princesa to examine the pearl for authenticity and an estimate of its value.

A spokesman for the Puerto Princesa government says the fisherman who found the pearl hasn't signed it over to the city, Agence France-Presse reports. "It remains his property," the spokesman says, confirming that the man could be in for an extraordinary windfall.

For the record, a 75-pound pearl would be 170,000 carats valued at $100 million.

31
$ 0.00
Avatar for Bestie
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

Wow nice articles dear

$ 0.00
4 years ago

wow beautiful

$ 0.00
4 years ago

THAT'S MY UNCLE RIGHT THERE

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Are you serious?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nah just kidding. I mean I'm a filipino too, hehe😅 but great article. I was shocked after reading it. Another info locked in my brain✨

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Gagi kala ko totoo HAHHAHAHA

$ 0.00
4 years ago

HAHAHAHHAHAHHA

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes, I saw this with episode of KMJS reports. And wow, special kind.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Wow, I never heard this news despite I am from that country 😂 Thank you for sharing this one. New gained little knowledge, it's really good to read articles.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I've watched that on a special tv segment. I thought it was not real but after watching it, all I can say is what a lucky man that person was!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Its real...

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Wow! Really? I suddenly felt proud! 😊

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Seriously? I didn't know about this fact, though I'm a Filipino. Thanks for informing us here.

And that's a really big pearl! 😯

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You are blessed

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Wowww its really huge!!!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Sure, it is

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'm a Filipino but I don't know about this. :'( Thank you for the info

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It's so shocking how he made such discovery and hid it under his bed

$ 0.00
4 years ago

i thought the prize is $130 million as far as i remember :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ahh this was on the news here years ago

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Its history

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah but like those special segments on the news. Mostly about travels

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Notable achievements often come from Philippine

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Not always o

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Really? I never heard of that.. But just woow..!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah, the Pearl is so amazing

$ 0.00
4 years ago

So well article

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Really I never knew but it’s quit huge

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Very huge

$ 0.00
4 years ago

in my country philippines,lots of precious stont to be found

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Interesting

$ 0.00
4 years ago

That's huge 😲 I'm from the PH but never heard about that. Thanks for the information.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

good article

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'm subscribe your channel, Please subscribe me...

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah. I already saw it in one of the segments of Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
4 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
4 years ago