Locust bean gone wrong.

19 40

Hello lovely readers friends and sponsors of @Read.Cash , happy fruitful Sunday to you all and don't forget to pray for those in need of God's healing , strength, support ,favour and mercy.

A big thanks to my sponsors, I appreciate their presence here.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

Also I want to thank my viewers, readers ,friends and also @TheRandomRewarder for your tips, love and insightful comments.

I bring to your table today the locust bean which is known for it healthy benefits.

According to research made in it biological term, Locust beans are seed obtained from pods of the African Locust tree;Parkia biglobosa which belongs to the Mimosaceae family.

In Africa, Nigeria to be precise, the Yoruba call it iru, they have the iru Pete(Mashed) and iru woro (Whole in a seed like form).

The Igbo knows it as ogiri.

While the Hausa's calls it Dawadawa.

Locust bean is an amazing seasoning added to our food to add more taste to it and protect us from certain health illnesses or sicknesses.

Health benefits.

  • High protein: it contains protein and can account for a reasonable percentage of our daily protein requirements when used frequently in our meals.

  • Eye sight: Locust bean promotes good eye sight because of it rich nutrients and can be taken by old people to help improve their eye sights.

  • Blood/heart diseases:It has a free radical reducing ability with antioxidants for detoxifying the body because of it remarkable amount of Polyphenols which helps clear blockage within blood vessels that can lead to heart diseases.

  • Stroke,hypertension and diabetes: It aids digestion and reduce risks of hypertension and diabetes.

  • Blood sugar/weight loss: It is high in fibre and may help decrease blood sugar and blood fat levels, it also increases weight loss with it soluble fibre.

  • Diarrhea/ Ulcer: It contains tannis which are are often recommended to be taken for treatment of gastrointestinal diseases such as diarrhoea and ulcer.

  • It also contains other health benefits not mentioned.

Is locust bean good for everyone?

Well in my own life experiences, I have never seen or heard anyone who can't take locust bean unless you are allergic maybe or can't deal with it smell.

It healthy benefits mentioned above states that it can be eaten by everyone, both young and old including babies and especially pregnant women because of Folic acid which helps prevent neural tube defects in unborn babies.

Side effects.

I haven't heard of it having any side effects though it shouldn't be consumed on high rate as we all know too much of everything is bad.

Meals it can be present.

Locust bean is ready to fill your home with it healthy aroma when added in your vegetables, soup, stew and other foods.

How did it went wrong?

I love adding different herbs in my meal so I added locust bean in my rice. Well it a conditioned rice like we call it in Nigeria๐Ÿ˜‚.

After cooking, my friend came over and we ate together, the presence of locust bean made us want to eat more but we had to stop our hungry tongue since our stomach was filled up. We both agreed to warm the leftover the next day since we ate the food at night after cooking it at somewhat 7:26 pm.

Unfortunately when I woke up the next day I found out it was spoilt, I even warmed it to see maybe it'll be good but it was still the same. I called my friend and we both morn the death of our fantasy towards devouring the food like we did the night before.

When I got to work I wasn't that happy and after I narrated what happened to my colleagues, it was made known to me that when locust bean put is added to rice, it should be finished that same day unlike in vegetables or soups which can be left till the next day.

When I asked why it was like that,she told me she didn't know too but she was told by her mom too when she cooked with it and it got spoilt the next day which made her call her mom.

Till now, I do not know why it did, so if any of you do know please do the honour of explaining why because I'd like to know and add it to my knowledge.

Locust beans can also be eaten raw but not after washing it clean.

How can it be washed?

Get a clean bowl, add the locust bean in it then add water then wash gently to remove sands and shafts. After you wash clean,add salt to it and leave to be dried in the sun or to cool in the refrigerator.

Thanks for the usual tips, comments and love. I appreciate you all and a very hearty thanks to my sponsors ,readers and commenters at large.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date:13 March 2022.

6
$ 1.19
$ 1.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 2
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I really don't know much of locus bean cause all my food is mostly cooked for me, and I love cooking stew for rice with locus bean, I really don't like condition rice, but I won't mind locus bean in it.. Also I haven't heard of any bad side effect of locus bean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you are a big guy oo, you have people cooking for you. Don't like conditioned rice, really??๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ which country are you from friend.. .. neither have I heard of it side effects. Well I hope my article informed you well on the healthy benefits on locust beans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, what big guy, I'm still learning in some people side.. And sometimes I do the cooking too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see, happy learning dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is negative side of locust beans, it's spoils food kept over till tomorrow. I could remember vividly when i was in Ekiti, one evening mum cooked jollof rice that had locus bean, but before she finished cooking i had already slept, and i don't like person to wake me up while sleeping. When i now woke up around 3am midnight, i went to carry my food, it was already drawing/slippery. It pained me so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well guess we are much on the list.. I wonder why though๐Ÿค”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not really familiar with that kind of food my friend. Honestly, I even searched it on google to see what it looks like. I think, we called it "Tawsi" in our dialect.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really good.. Tawsi wow that's great.. you should try it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But sad to say, we don't have it here right now. Especially that we were hit by a super typhoon last December.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh am sorry about the disaster dear friend, I hope everyone is safe now. Maybe you'd get to taste it one day or it might grow there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its okay my dear. We are now recovering from it.

Hmm.. I think we can grow in here if we have time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It'll be good to, it is very good . You can find more of it benefits on Google..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay my dear. Thank you for your suggestion..I will subscribe you now. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜.. thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome too my new friend... :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of locust beans, I dont like the smell and the taste either. I wouldn't eat anything that contains locust beans as it's not good for my stomach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah the smell sucks but it really good and packed with superb health benefits.. I'm sorry it not good for your stomach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago