I should have understood better...

12 60
Avatar for Balikis
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story, Listen, Poem, Death, Grateful, ...

When people don't have any curiosity about themselves, that is always a bad sign.

Irvin D. Yalom

The signs came in like flashes of dim light so I never questioned it.

The talks went around but I never asked why too.

The love of keeping to myself blinded me.

I could see but could not truly see what was truly happening.

When the talks became consistent and louder this time, I decided to take a look.

Then I realized, I should have understood better.

*******************************

Life is a rollercoaster,the ride is always wild and bumpy. Sometimes the bravest soul never make it and it'll make us question,can we?

Yes we can with great determination,but it isn't assured for we might fall with no hope to rise again.

They are certain things beyond us that we can never understand even when we study hard at it.

Life is a mystery and full of secrets of the unknown.

The journey of life brings us to the story of the young lad who believed otherwise.

He saw life has a mere thing which can be lived with no stress.

His view on life's perfection was cut short when his mother became very ill.

Oh dearest mother of this poor boy, he didn't know what to do as such had never happened before.

The lovely,carefree life he had seems to be a distant dream of no ounce of reality when his hero(dad) was taken away by death so soon.

He could have sworn his father was the bravest soul of all.

The boy's world seems to crash down completely when his Ma who seems to be getting better kicked the strange bucket.

He never understood why and didn't bother to ask,he was shaken to even utter a word.

He didn't know what to say or do,he heard the voices of his parents family he never knew existed,he heard their words but didn't listen well to grasp the meaning to it.

He locked himself up in a cruel manner never to see the light.

The presence of darkness fit his weary soul.

He was lost,he saw the flashes of properties being taken but he never questioned any.

He heard the murmurs but he closed himself away from it and stood alone.

He held onto his past like the air he breathes,not letting go.

He could see the people taking it all away but he couldn't see what they were taking.

The echo's of their talks one day woke him up and then he heard clearly what he couldn't and knew what their saying meant.

Then he realized he should have understood their plans from the onset.

Right there he understood life but it was too late for his doom descended on him.

Conclusion.

The story above is not just about the boy alone but the life we all live.

Most times God sends us signal toward some things but we never seem to understand not question it.

When life throws it jabs at us,some act like the young lad, keeping to themselves and blocking out the reality of life.

We forget we need to learn from the scar and make a beautiful story out of it. We let our past sink it teeth into our very soul,capturing us in a tight grasp with no will to fight.

Things are happening all over the world and we shouldn't ignore those signs sent to us,we shouldn't turn deaf ear to those murmur.

A woman, a lady and a guy died yesterday while crossing the road, it happened that I crossed the road not up to a minute,I was still walking to get home when I heard gbam!!!

A car collided with her and the two others and they just fell.

I turned round and couldn't believe my eyes.... I mean I just crossed the road,the road...

I'll tell you what, when I wanted to cross the road, my mind told me to look left and right before crossing and I almost question it,I mean it just a one way but I have learnt to always listen,then the lady beside me was telling her kid the same thing I thought on, wait let's look well before we cross and we did.

I just stood there for a second, trying to process why there was pool of blood where I just crossed, I blink rapidly and stopped,I saw people rushing toward the scene and I just stood there...

I saw someone stopping a car to take them to the hospital and I just turned around and walked home. I knew the woman that died, she sells at the bus stop.

When I got home,I just sat down and thought on what happened,I prayed for their soul and I was glad I understood better.

I appreciate you all for taking time to have this read.

Thanks for the usual tips, comments and love.

Great love to my sponsors for renewing their sponsorship and staying with me.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date:15 May 2022

10
$ 0.17
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story, Listen, Poem, Death, Grateful, ...

Comments

Life is more about perspectives and some people won't bother to see life from a different angle because the struggle will make life feel like is one angle and no way out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They don't want to see it from different angle.. thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We always feel that we are alone but we don't focus on main thing and theme of our life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we feel like we are always alone.. thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Balikis, your writing are so deep, it will take a open minded person to understand the deep meaning of what you've writing, as I was reading, there was this chilling in my spine, I hope we all listen to those murmuring and voice before its too late

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you understood the deep meaning behind the hidden words. I hope we always listen. Thanks T for your kind words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Poor boy and poor happenings. Life with its ups and downs. Within the blink of an eye, what seems a beautiful day can immediately turn gory. It's best to keep moving after taking time to process the pain we've just experienced. Life is all about learning.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it all about learning and not giving up on learning.. life isn't fair.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true, that God sends us messages or signs through things around us but sometimes we are too busy doing a lot of stuff. Let us listen to our inner selves, stop and listen to our surroundings. It could save our lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it could save our life and I'm grateful mine was saved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad to hear that :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago