I just did my part as a friend though I felt betrayed!

14 23
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Hello, lovely readers and friends of Read.cash. How are you all today, hope work wasn't that bothersome. A lovely evening to you my sponsors.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

Welcome to my article for today , on betrayal.

So some urgent situation came in that needed my full energy and after the recess, I got a call from a close friend who called to inform me about a friend of mine.

Many years ago.

While I was busy in a Faraway land having a tight schedule and almost no time for myself, I met up with a lady, she was just 18 years old then and she started moving closer to me, you know , in a bid to get close. After several attempts by me to let her off, she never relented and kept on coming. Though I was very friendly with people around me, I never did let them get too close to me but this lady continue coming forward to lay under my wings and after many attempts by her, I gave in. After all I wasn't always around anyways. When I met her, she had a boyfriend who she really loved and I later got acquainted with the guy some months later.

Let's say the girl's name is Margaret and the guys name his Raphael and me(Balikis).

I most times read people even without me knowing and I knew there was something off with them. But me being me , I minded my business and face my jaw cracking workloads . After several months then years of being together, I called her one day and had a face to face conversation with her because I had taken her as a sister and I couldn't watch and relax on how things goes.

I noticed that Margaret gives the guy a lot, I mean, she could literally fly to the space and bring the moon to his feet, that's how crazy she is about him. She give him money, that she even started staying with him when she couldn't pay up her house rents when due because she gave it to the guy for his business. Though I have seen the guy give her little things too but it not up to what she had sacrificed.

I was sadden when I came back and realized she was staying with him which prompted me to call her. I could have asked her to come stay with me but I had a roommate then and I don't want any association with the duos and mostly because I love my privacy a lot. I knew my roommate would corrupt her to her ways since she was still a bit naive and I don't stay around much to be able to caution her.

After advices here and there and I saw she wasn't turning up because to her, she would never leave the guy, so I let her be before I would be tagged something else and her mom knew where she was so who am I ?🤷

A year after that.

I got really sick that I could hardly breathe, and I was in a lot of pain so I had to travel far away from there to get myself treated.

During my recovery mode I got a call from Margaret. You know the kind of call that makes your heart almost jump out from your ribcage? Yeah that's how I felt , her voice was shaking, sounding like she was being chased by an angry mob for ruining his day. I became alert and asked her to be calm. Then I told her to explain what made her that way.

Hmm....

I never did told you guys that when I was still at the other place, after travelling and coming back from a place, I saw her looking pale and so thin. When I asked her what happen she told me she was diagnosed with typhoid and malaria and me being someone that get sick a lot then you'd think I was a SS(sickle cell) I never doubted her cos I know how extreme my sickness can get most times.

It was during the call conversation that she had to tell me that she did an abortion for Rapheael and it was her third one which almost claimed her life.

Me that was still in the shock phase alone with her cracky voice stood up and asked , what?

Then she re explained telling me how sorry she was for not telling me the truth sooner because she knew me and knows well what I could have done to the guy.

Then I remembered that, I did heard people then saying she did an abortion when I came back then but I never listen to rumours and since she told me it was Malaria and Typhoid I never asked any other question.

Why did she call?

Now, it happens that she was pregnant again, which made it the fourth pregnancy she had for the him and he had asked her to abort it of which she declined and then he called a friend of his who was in the force to come over, unknowingly to her.

When the guy came in and also pleaded with her to have the baby aborted she still stood her ground claiming she almost died from the third one. As a result to that, both guys started beating her so that it will probably lead to a miscarriage.

She had a chance to run away of which she did and called me immediately she was a bit far away from there thanking God her phone was in her Jean pocket when they were beating her.

I had once taking her to one of my safe place so I asked her to go there,telling her to inform those people she was from me.

I tried calling the people at the safe house to inform them of her coming over but I couldn't reach them based on the fact that the network there wasn't stable(it a small village). Before she ended the call she begged me not to reveal her location to anybody , especially her boyfriend which means I had to feign innocence whenever he calls me even when I had wanted to call people over there to capture him and have him disciplined.

A call from the safe place.

Hours later , I got a call from one of the people at the safe house informing me on my friends arrival and I told them to please help me look after since I wouldn't be able to make it there because it was almost a day's journey there and the fact that I was still recovering.

Two days later I got a call from Rapheael on Margaret's location . The following conversation ensued.

Me: (wanting to strangle him but still acted nice though it pained me to) Hello, dear🙄 how far na?

Rapheael: I'm fine, please give me the location to the safe house I need to go pick her up.

Me:(feigning innocence) sorry, pick who up? And what safe house? Are you okay dear?

Raphael: she called me some minutes ago telling me where she is but the network was bad and I couldn't get reach to her when I called back.

Me: I'm sorry but I don't know what you're talking about, maybe you should try calling the number again.

Raphael: she once told me you took her to a safe house , that's why am calling I need to get to her, it very urgent.

Me: (with my phone up, shaking it ) hello, hello, are you there? Try calling me back, I can't hear you.😒

Immediately the call ended I had zillions of questions buzzing through my mind, did he guess, she wouldn't have told him right? No, it not possible... Did she.??

I quickly dialed the number at the safe house but it wasn't reachable, omg! What was I going to do? I kept on calling and calling but all to no avail. I couldn't concentrate on my work anymore and had to leave for home.

On getting home.

After countless hours of hmm.. haaaa.. hmm.. I got a call from the safe house. I picked it up and I was met with fear. I was told a guy came with fierce looking people to the village and they wanted protect her not until she said she called them. There was an uproar in the small village and they had to call to know what happened but I didn't tell them but only apologized for disturbing their peace.

Years later.

I never called her and neither did she and after years later I got a call from a strange number which happened to be hers , begging me endlessly , crying profusely that she couldn't stay away from him and had to call. I told her I forgave her, after all I did my part as a friend but I felt betrayed!. She continue apologising and I told her to stop and let go for I have. I never allowed her get attached to me again especially when I found out she was still with the guy and when she tried to get in, I cut her off.

I had a friend(male) who really liked her and took her like one of his sister's.

He was the one who called me telling me he called her over to his mom's house to have his mother talk to her and even after that she was still bent on not leaving him.

Why?... She was asked and her response was. We've been through a lot together bla bla bla.

That friend of mine also knew Raphael and wasn't happy on how he treated her, he said he womanize a lot and use abusive words on her and still she's still not leaving.

Now, I ask, can she be saved? Did I do wrong in not putting her the right way?. I really wanted to help, but how can I help someone who doesn't want to be helped.

This is a true life story. Your comments are most appreciated always .

Thanks for the usual tips , comment and love.

To my sponsors, I say very big thank you !!😍. I love you all.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date:22 2 22

8
$ 1.52
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rodriguezpct
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Comments

Well I think this is more like obsession, the guy clearly doesn't love her and she's stupidly inlove. You tried your best, there's no point in helping someone who clearly doesn't want to be saved. When she gets enough, she'll leave the boy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, what if she doesn't and hurt herself more or the guy even?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't regret or feel betrayed as you did everything which you could do. I'm really surprised how can she live with the guy who beat her, who don't even love her. I just wish Almighty give her the power to take the right decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray too, I do really wish the best for her but she doesn't or maybe she's wishing the wrong thing for herself unknowingly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite heart touching a story. Although after reading this I kinda have a lot of why questions to ask. I also have to admit it was so nice of you to find a place for her even though you were really far away. Sadly, she refused to listen to advice and honestly I feel she might later regret this in a big way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray she doesn't stay long before she finally realizes her mistakes. What a waste of time and energy it would be..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder how girls can be so careless to fall for the wrong guys. Getting pregnant the first time may be a mistake but the second and third time? That's pure stupidity. For the guy, if he knows he isn't ready to take responsibility then he should not do what will make a baby come through!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it pure stupidity or obsession, who knows , I later asked her why they never used protection and she said it because the guy doesn't like it.. then why get you pregnant?.. eiish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story is quite touching. A guy laying hands on a woman is a disgrace to menhood😂. But I think she can be saved spiritually,cos even a dog that has been beaten without no reason by it owner will run and get itself a new owner. Let her deal with it herself, you've done the best you could as a friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You think I have? I hope she does get save spiritually because it seems she's physically and emotionally drained. Thanks for the suggestion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With time,she will realize what she has faced.i just feel for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel for her more, I still feel I need to do something.. I just don't know what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only to you need to do for her as a friend is to pray for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, thanks a lot for your contribution, it is highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago