Are superstition truly real,or just mainly fables?.

10 36
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Human, Short Story, 2022

Hello lovely readers and friends of Read.cash, how are you all today, hope today's work was not that stressful, and if it was, please try taking a rest. You have truly tried today. Hope for tomorrow's event.

To my notable and amiable sponsors, I send my greetings with a box full of love, warm hug, sweet words and more funds.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

Now on today's article on Are superstitious beliefs truly real or mainly fables. Before writing further , let's breach into what superstition and fable truly entails.

In my own words, Superstition is a person belief or people's beliefs or notion with respect to any event which maybe influenced by one's behavior in a mystic way either a good or bad omen.

Fable on the other hand, is based on fiction (imagination) which is made to excite wonder or common talks.

How true are superstitious stories?

I have come in contact with many people who have their different say on either superstition is true or mainly fable.

While some agreed with facts to back them up, others disagreed saying, ' things only happen because we believe in them '. For instance when you have a positive mind towards achieving something, there's an higher chance that thing would come to pass.

I'm a practical person when it comes to these beliefs, I want to know why I shouldn't blow whistle when the sun is high up or why I shouldn't sit at the middle of two people or walk pass the leg of a pregnant woman or eat from a pot.

If most of our mother's are being asked why we shouldn't do this or that, or what will happen if we do, we most times get answers like, what isn't good isn't good and that's it.

What if I saw someone doing something which I was told shouldn't be done and I told the person not to,if the person asks why? Should I just respond the same. No!.

There was a time I once visited a friend of mine and while discussing a woman told us that if a cloth wrapped in a circular form is being placed on a goat's head, the goat wouldn't move an inch until the cloth is removed.

I didn't believe it not until she did it and it was actually true!.

There was also a belief that when two dogs are mating, and a nail is put deep inside the sand, very close to them, they won't be able to stop not until the nail is removed, that also was true! Because I witnessed it.

If I were to tell someone this, I would be able to back it up. I believe in facts. You can't tell me something and just expect me to believe it because you said so.

Just like the former mentioned above on why you shouldn't sit at the middle of two people or walk in their middle I believe it because it just mainly wrong to do so.

The reason I think it not good to blow whistle when the sun is high up is because you might disturb other people's private time with the noise.

There are some superstition that aren't superstition but fable to stop people from doing something which may be morally wrong not because something bad will happen.

How does Superstition and Fable relates?.

To me, they work side by side, just like I mentioned, something's are just said to scare you not because it real.

Stories told to children of how tortoise became bald or has a small nose, are mainly fables. But you'd see children believing it when they see one because they've been told so.

A child which was told that he/ she wasn't to tell anyone when they are traveling because something bad will happen is a lie.

There are sometimes you won't tell anyone of your travelling and still encounter bad things, such is life!

I have seen people or being told by someone of their depart to places far and they got there safely with no harm.

What actually motivated me to write this article is a call which I received hours ago from a friend.

I have mentioned her in some of my articles, she was the one who lost her father which I mentioned is one of my articles that a childhood friend of hers didn't show up even after she called her of her dad's demise.

Well it happened they sorted things out as the friend later apologized after many rebuked her actions.

Now the same friend told the person who called me that she was traveling to her village with her dad whereas she went somewhere else.

According to my friend, she said she called on her on the day she journey through the destination she was told about to know if she had gotten there or not.

Not long she called came in dusk and she had to do somethings and was unable to call.

She said the moment it was fully dawn she called her countless times but her number wasn't reachable so she thought it must be because the signal there was weak.

After two days of calling and not getting any response she became worried and had to call her friend's mother who informed her that her daughter wasn't in Nigeria anymore and didn't tell her because something bad could happen to her plane.

Haha... sounds ridiculous right?

As a good that friend she was, she even asked if she could get reach to her even if it is through her sister with whom she went to meet there and the mother said she won't be able to talk to her because they don't receive any kind of number there.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Really? So she couldn't pass the lady's number to the sister or what?.. so they could talk via WhatsApp or something?.

It kinda funny though how people can just term things as superstition to cover up their untruthfulness.

I told my friend never to mind them and shouldn't think about it of which she informed me she didn't have it in mind but just decided to tell me because it was actually funny to hear.

This lady had people learning a under her who have fully paid for the services to be rendered to them and she just left without even looking for a place to put them before she left.

All this wasn't said because according to them, superstition stated it.

If her bus didn't crash when she told her friend she was going to the village, then why would her plane crash.

Good things are meant to be celebrated.

I believe though that she was just being careful not to encounter bad things on her way there but having to lie to a close friend of yours isn't worth it.

Truly we don't know who is who and my country with it's supernatural beings could most times put fear in our hearts.

But in regardlwss of it all, believe in God's word and pray before every going out and coming in.

Read Psalm 23 always if any sort of doubts sets in. And God will lead you through every nook and inch of your journey.

I make sure to tell close buddies of my departure and things worked fine, if it does not it is God's will.

No one knows tommorow, so live a good life because when death comes, it won't only wait for you to journey out as it can appear at any given time, even at the comfort of your home.

What are the superstitious beliefs you've been told or know?.

Drop your comments if you believe in superstitions and why, or do not believe in it and why, or in any case any additions to what's already written.

Thanks for the usual tips, comments and love.

To my sponsors I say a very big thank you . I love you all😍.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date:25 February 2020

7
$ 1.10
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @FashTioluwa
+ 2
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Human, Short Story, 2022

Comments

well the truth is that, it can be myth that was turn to story, it can be true like the one you witness, and some can be fable, if I go to a new place and I was told not to sit and fold my hands 2pm in the afternoon, babe. I won't do that.. I will just do as I was told.. Either its superstition or fable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well if I were the one, I'll be sure to ask why I shouldn't.. so I'll be able to tell someone else the same with explanation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well.. I guess I can do that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in the Word of God. I do not believe in superstition. But I respect people's beliefs as long as those beliefs do not directly harm me. Interesting content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the comment, I love that you said if it doesn't harm you, in this context where the lady is been lied to, hurt her, we are all humans, maybe it didn't hurt much but it'll hurt a little when a childhood friend of yours just wake up one day and left the country after telling you she was leaving for her village. Everybody has their beliefs but we shouldn't harm others with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. You are right. Love thy neighbor (do no harm) is the second commandment. Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true, there are so many superstitions that make us believe as children, that some of us when we are adults realize that they are not really true. For example, during my childhood they told me that if I stood under a table I would not grow... Well, it is false or if I opened an umbrella and there was no rain I would not get married, it is also false... there are many superstitions that make us believe that for being innocent at the moment we believe it. Greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, have never heard of this but it a great contribution, I'll find more on it, thanks for the addition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for I believe most of this stories are just folk tales just to while away time, I was told when you wrap a wrapper on a goat that it makes them sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, Is this even real.. oh my folk tales has almost wiped us clean of our intellectuality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago