Is your phone's battery running low?

29 45
Avatar for BaldurThorLoki
3 years ago

Most smartphone components consume battery power, with some being larger while others are smaller consumers.

Which components are the biggest consumers of our smartphones' batteries? The Android Authority site took this topic seriously and compiled a detailed list of them:

Screen

The screen consumes more electricity than any other component. It can affect battery life in four ways:

- First, the bigger the screen, the more electricity is needed.

- Secondly, the higher the screen resolution, the more demanding it will be, ie it will need more electricity.

- Third, the higher the screen brightness, the higher the battery load.

- Fourth, the higher the refresh rate, the higher the CPU load, so the situation is the same as with the screen resolution.

Wireless connection

Phone signal, mobile internet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS ... Smartphones constantly use at least one wireless connection, if not several at once.

Each of them represents a significant load for the battery, so the ones you do not use need to be turned off. This is especially true of Bluetooth and GPS.

A weak signal from any of the wireless connections also increases battery consumption, as the device is constantly trying to check if there is a better or stronger connection.

Processor and hardware

Newer processors are typically smaller, faster, and more energy efficient. Therefore, it is necessary to regularly update the software for this type of hardware, in order to be better optimized and reduce the battery load.

Cameras

Cameras "squeeze" the smartphone's battery in several ways, although most of the consumption is on the processor and screen. With newer phone models, the partial culprit for that is the built-in photo post-processing, which additionally consumes CPU resources. The video is also quite an intense consumer, especially in 4K resolution.

Other components

Other components cannot be measured with the screen and processor in terms of power consumption, but that does not mean that they are not affected.

So, for example, the motor that produces the vibrations of the phone also consumes electricity, and it is similar with the speakers. Whenever you watch a video, listen to music, leave notifications on... the battery works "overtime".

Temperature and age

Batteries work best when they are new and at room temperature. The older they are, the shorter they will last and the more often they will need recharging.

In terms of temperature, the batteries lose capacity at lower temperatures, while too high can permanently damage them.

No matter how careful you are about them, calculate that you will lose, approximately, a fifth (20 percent) of the battery capacity after approximately 1,000 charges.

Active applications

Applications that use GPS, a camera, large amounts of data and a constantly on screen are the biggest consumers of the battery. The mentioned Snapchat, for example, uses GPS, camera and data exchange at the same time.

Especially big "battery eaters" are games for phones, because they load the processor and graphics chip, artificial intelligence, screen and speaker ...

For example, Pokemon Go was the first game to use GPS, Bluetooth, camera, screen and data exchange at once. After it appeared, sales of external batteries recorded a big increase.

Passive applications

Applications that "spin" even when the screen is off are a special problem. Among them are applications for listening to music and podcasts, weather forecast, fitness..

Operating system and background processes

Like processors, newer versions of operating systems are generally more economical or better optimized when it comes to power consumption. They also need to be updated regularly, so that new software solutions can be used.

Background processes load the battery in two ways: by activating the device whenever they need it, and by using data exchange.

Each of them individually does not consume much, but if several processes are active at once, it will start to affect the speed of the phone.

Fortunately, newer versions of Android do pretty well with managing such processes, thanks to mode settings like Doze and Adaptive Battery.

17
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @angelikip
$ 0.01 from @milos1998
+ 2
Sponsors of BaldurThorLoki
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BaldurThorLoki
3 years ago

Comments

I almost bought a phone, but also an external battery just in case.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is wise decision.. Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I bought almost a new phone, I don't download all kinds of applications, I use it only when I need it, I try to spend as little time on the phone as possible, I think it's also of great importance, that's why my battery lasts a long time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is good daily practice for you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I got too much going on. Sometimes it hangs and I have to restart it to keep it going.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's normal, overloading and temperature pressure gives bad influence for battery..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I use a relatively old mobile phone and miraculously I have no problem with a fast battery discharge. Surfing the Internet, various games and applications, camera .... all these things affect the battery problem. I don't practice all these things on my mobile phone and that's why I don't have a problem with the battery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I share your opinion, if we don't reduce our wish for more, we can extend our battery charging level till we need for useful things. Many use flashlight, I think and it has impact on consumption, but it is not used permanently..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My phone is so old that I often charge the phone. The battery often runs out on trips, so I get annoyed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you should get external battery for additional solution for that problem.. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I charge my tablet and my phone non-stop. The battery will wear out quickly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Different battery types can handle a lot of charging cycle, and one cycles means charging and spending battery...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

my phone is new and the battery lasts for a long time, so I'm calm, I charge the phone in the evening, but just in case, bring a charger so that the battery doesn't surprise you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not recommended to charge battery after 100% charging rate. That decrease capacity of battery life, and also, not to wait to die to turn of, and that is so wrong ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am very happy with my phone, I would not change for anything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are so lucky! In this article you see barriers for batteries long life...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I use the internet all day and work over the phone, I run out of battery very quickly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's problem for all of us..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My phone processor is so bad working at this moment. I can't use it so good as I want. I think this is the end of my current phone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, but prices are not so high. There is good production series with fast and economic processors and huge RAM memory, and you'll be satisfied..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I am looking for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On my old phone, my battery was very often empty, while on the new one, whose battery power is 4500, in addition to all the applications I use, it lasts more than 24 hours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's awesome, And that's good battery capacity! From mine phone is just 3100mAh..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I practically lost my phone and I have a big problem, it just won't charge every 10 days, my charger runs out, so I'm planning to go back to Nokia, great article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everyone prays to battery lasts and we need to take care, because android are big spenders of battery capacities..

$ 0.00
3 years ago