How much is 1 dollar worth?

6 82
Avatar for BSzandra
1 year ago

I can always be very surprised by the prices when other users write what they bought for how much money.

The prices of the products usually differ from country to country, as does the salary, so it is not worth comparing the prices alone, because it matters how much money we have per month. I read an article here yesterday, How much is $1 in Indonesia? by @Mudi97 . On the one hand, the article was interesting, and on the other hand, it inspired me to write about how much 1$ is worth in my country.

Actually, it makes sense to compare prices this way, since here we all earn in dollars, and while we don’t earn exactly the same amount, it can be interesting to see what you can buy here with your 1$ earned and what I can buy with my 1$.

First, I compare the prices of the products listed by Mudi97. A dish and a drink for 1$. Well, in Hungary you can get a dish at the cheapest price if you don't choose the food, but ask for the daily menu offered by the restaurant.

But the price in this case is still a minimum of 3$. If you choose dish it is a minimum of 5$. A soft drink is a minimum of 0.8-1$.

3 GB mobile data. Of course, different providers have different offers, but I have to say that on average, 1GB of data costs about 5$, with more data, the amount per gigabyte decreases.

Mudi97 wrote that in Indonesia 0.53$ a liter of fuel. Here, a liter of fuel is currently 1.5-2.5$.

So what can I buy in Hungary for 1$ ?

Almost nothing. Haha! If I’m lucky then I can drink a coffee for a dollar, but in a better category place, a dollar wouldn’t be enough for a coffee anymore. Can I buy a pound of bread for 1$ ? No! Can I buy a kilogram of rice? No! Both of these are about minimum 1.2-1.4$ or more.

I can buy about 6 eggs, or 2 pounds of flour, or 1 pound sugar. I can buy about 100 gramm cheese or 200 gramm meat.

Of course, as I wrote, it is not possible to compare prices completely fairly. But if someone has significant income here and on any other online interface, it’s worth thinking about this.

If you work entirely online and your income isn’t affected by where you are in the world, you might want to consider a trip. Of course, someone who has a child, for example, finds it a little harder to make such a decision, and of course it takes some adventure and courage.

But why not move to a country where your income doesn’t change but your spending drops significantly?

Honestly, if I had a relatively secure income and no one would stop me from making a decision, I wouldn’t think about moving to another country in hopes of a simpler, cheaper life.

Thank you for reading!

Images source: Pixabay

10
$ 2.71
$ 2.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mihhaimarrian80
$ 0.05 from @Daliana
+ 7
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
1 year ago

Comments

And take this into the formula as well: if westerners can order something from a webshop for $50, sometimes the same item from a hungarian webshop will cost about $100 worth of HUF, which is hard to swallow sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

It is an honor for me that you are inspired by my article.It turns out that in Hungary it is quite expensive just to buy necessities such as rice and eggs haha.. And it seems I'm interested in making this article again for part 2 after you explain the price of eggs, rice and others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the difference of each country from the value of the currency is clearly different, many countries have high currency values ​​and there are also countries that are very cheap based on the price of goods set. maybe the example above can conclude that developing countries still have cheap prices compared to developed countries.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course, and the prices are cheap or expensive considering the salaries. For example, it wouldn’t bother me if a pound of bread were $ 20 if my salary were $ 10,000. A teacher, for example, gets about $ 500 here. Probably in other countries where prices are similar, they get paid 2-3x. Or just as much but in a cheaper country. But when it comes to online activity, the salary available is almost the same. So while I make as much money here with the same job as anywhere else, I can barely afford to pay the rent for an apartment here. But maybe I could buy my own house elsewhere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in our country you can already bought 1kg of rice with your $1. But it is still depend on what kind of rice you like to bought as the rice has also different variety and so there's also a chance that in your $1 you can still bought one pack of instant noodles ☺️.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in our country, the price of 1$ is 180Rs and we can buy a lot of things in this budget

$ 0.00
1 year ago