Just a Glimpse of Yesterday

27 43
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

My goal to publish every day has been ruined by an emergency. Just 5 more days to go and I'm going to make it. Then in just one text message, I have become a messenger for half a day until the night. I'm thinking of banging my head on the wall from the stress that I got from it. But Nah, just facepalm...

Image from Unsplash

Well, here's what happened...

At 1:04 pm yesterday, I received a message from my Aunt in Singapore saying that his brother which is living in the next barangay from us, has received a call from a relative that is living in another city which is near to where my Grandfather is living. They said that my Grandfather was admitted to a facility wherein non-Covid patients are referred. He had difficulty breathing that's why his neighbors helped him and call an ambulance.

The neighbors notified the distant relative of ours. Well, let's call her Midwife C, so we will not be confused later. So Midwife C called her nephew which is living at the same barangay as ours but it's still far away from us, and he didn't have any mobile number of any of my family members. Midwife C's nephew called my Aunt's brother, my Uncle, but since he doesn't have any mobile number of us also, he sent a message to my Aunt in Singapore to message me the news.

That's how people mind their own business in the countryside. They don't even share their contact numbers.

When the news came to me, I can feel the adrenaline rush coursing through my veins. Well, it's a matter of life and death. Not just an adrenaline rush, my blood is boiling with anger, too. They told me that my grandfather's second wife was useless. She wouldn't even go with the rescue team to watch over my grandfather at the facility. After pissing at her skirts, acting nervous, she went home as if nothing happened. Having no other relative to watch over him there, they called our distant relative, Midwife C, to attend to him temporarily. The problem was Midwife C is a senior citizen already and she isn't allowed to get into the facility.

I called my brother when I knew this to inform my mother about the news and the urgency of her going there. However, I did forget one thing. I have sent them money last Friday to buy fertilizers and groceries. Of course, she was still out there at the market busy shopping. I called them from time to time to check if my mother has arrived but she hadn't. It was 4:30 in the afternoon when she arrived, hungry and exhausted. We just decided not to make her go and set it on tomorrow morning. I notified Midwife C of that since we have no other choice, then it's settled.

At 7:20 pm, I received (2) missed calls from Midwife C's nephew. Since I'm still on duty at that time, I can't return his calls. It was 8:30 pm when I got off from work and called back. He said that we needed to let my mother go over there if she can make it at night. He also said that the rescuers are having a hard time dealing with my Grandpa. They said that my Grandpa pissed at his pants and he is smelling bad. His wife didn't even bring him some spare clothes and blankets, not even food. She just left without saying a thing and chill at their home like there's no emergency.

My heart aches after hearing this. My Gramps is a good guy and a caring father. He doesn't deserve all that treatment from his useless wife. I called my mother to standby because I'll find a way to look for a service vehicle to transport her to where my Gramps is. I called my Uncle since he owned a tricycle and he is only been the one who often accompanies us every time we want to convince Gramps to come home with us in the countryside.

Those attempts have no luck, though. Always have been denied by him, but then look at him now. His beloved wife whom he can't bear to part with can't even bear to be with him when he's on the verge of dying. There's no use blaming him at that moment, though. What I need was a service vehicle to send my Mum over there to attend to his needs. Unfortunately, my Uncle wasn't available at the moment. He was on duty last night of being a CAFGU (Citizen Armed Force Geographical Unit) of their Barangay.

He advised me to call for help from our Barangay Captain. Luckily, I am on the Group Chat of our batchmates in elementary on Facebook Messenger and they were all close to the Barangay Captain's home. I asked them for the Captain's mobile number, so I can make a call and plead for help. One of my batchmates is his relative, so I have it in a minute. There was a problem again at that moment. The mobile number was out of the coverage area and can't be contacted. My batchmates lend some help and contacted the Captain's daughter online. Well, she said that the Captain was already snoring, totally useless. My batchmates offered a ride to the Bus Terminal for free since this is an emergency. A problem again was, it was already 10 pm. They weren't sure if there would be a Bus to pass by since it's late at night.

I have been out of choices that time. There was no other way since the Barangay Captain was useless. We just called it off and settled it surely on tomorrow morning. I just thanked my batchmates who lend some help. I notified Midwife C about the situation since there was no other way, we just plead with the DRRMO rescuers that has been assigned at the facility to watch over my Gramps for a night. I just prayed that he could hold on for a little longer over there.

That night has been a sleepless night for me. I have been wondering if my Gramps is okay and my mother's reaction, maybe she was also panicking over there. The morning came and my mother set off early. I thought that would lessen our stress but, little did I know, that it would be just the beginning.


I'll write the next part tomorrow in my next article. My thumb is numb already from typing. I'm sorry guys, but I got to end this for us. By the way, thanks for reading!

From your Broke Farm Girl,

@Ayane-chan

11
$ 8.75
$ 8.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Ang hirap kapag ganyan Kawawa talaga ang mga nag mamahal ng totoo. Katulad niyan wala manlang maparamdam na may pakielam siya kahit konti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pera lang kasi habol niya, ayaw lang maniwala ng lolo ko dahil first lab niya daw yan dati kaya naman binalikan niya talaga nung pareho na silang naging biyuda/biyudo.

Wew, sana all nagkakabalikan. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness, what kind of wife yong wala manlang pinapakitang pake yaan. Kahit moral support nalang sana ano. 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pera lang naman kasi habol niyan eh, kaso ayaw maniwala ng lolo namin kasi first love niya daw dati yan. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano ba yan, kahit pa first love bat baga panira ang mga first love ahahahs charowttt ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha. True, panira talaga yan. I testify! 🙋‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope things work out well @Ayanechan. God bless po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything is going fine naman po. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that.. Minsan tlga hirap makahanap ng tulong mula sa iba kht pa nsa emergency situation. Pray nlng 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun na nga eh. Mabilis lang sila kumilos kapag eleksiyon. 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don’t know what’s got into his second’s wife’s mind but she really got into my nerves. I may not seen her yet, but still I don’t like how she treat your grandfather like that. She’s the wife, she’s supposed to be there. It’s already her responsibility since they’re living together. Ughh. Kakainis

Anyway, praying for your grandpa’s health. I hope he’s okay now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainis nga eh. First love kasi ng lolo ko yan kaya binalikan niya talaga nung namatay yung first wife niya. Sana all binabalikan. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, I see. pero ang panget naman ugali nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, napaka materialistic pa nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish your grandpa sound health; it's annoying when I'm in niss one day and go against my writing everyday prompt; I know how you feel. Pls relax.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks. Everything's going fine now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to know that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap pag ganyan ano? Emergency pero parang walang intensyong tumulong yung iba, lalo na yung mga officers. Haynaku.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Di ba dapat kapag officers ka ng Barangay, pwede kang mahingian ng tulong 24/7. Sila hindi, pag oras ng kailangan, di mo sila mahagilap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unless may perang involved, mabilis kumilos yan sila. 💁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malamang sa malamang. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying for your Grandpa's healing!..So sad that you are not able to get the needed help right away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yeah. That's how useless politicians are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah...they're just active during the campaign period.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear! Hope your grandfather will get better soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He is getting fine now. Thanks! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago