Having Friends Who Can Understand You Is The Best.

14 38
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

They say that friends know you more than your family, and it's actually true. The family has strict rules sometimes that we can't agree with. Sometimes we are pressured to push ourselves more to achieve what they want from us not knowing what we are exactly struggling and dealing with. Yes, we can also open up with them but not all parents are open-minded enough to be that hands-on in helping us overcome what we are struggling with.

Contrarily, if we have close friends that we can rely on. Being the same age as them, a little younger, or a bit older they are than us, they are much more willing to listen to everything we say. I'm not saying that all of our friends can be like this and all of the parents are like that, but just in some cases. Well, there are really some people who act as good friends in front of us but are really a snake when we turn our backs. They are someone whom we should be more careful of. Instead of lifting us to the positive side, they might bring us down to hell with them.

Back then, I can say that I was a misfit. I feel like an outcast in every circle that I have joined even in our own home. I'm trying to fit myself in with them because I don't want to be left alone. I followed what they wanted just to be in. I tried my best to understand what they like and their perspectives on life though it was all foreign to me and I can't relate. Maybe that was also the effect of growing up in a place that is outdated in technology and being poor to avail of what's new.

I got pressured and depressed. Instead of fitting in, I found myself being left alone and an outcast once again. Since then, I just trained myself to get used to being alone and love that peace of mind that I can get when I'm alone, which I still carry on until now. My classmates back then even gave me a nickname, "Alien", for that. They say that was for isolating myself from everyone. What can I do since I can't fit in no matter how hard I try? It's better to be alone than to force myself to do things that I don't like just to be in that group.

Then I found a friend online who shares the same experiences with me. I have known him from a friend also who was his first friend before me. We got along very well because we have a lot of similarities. Sadly, we are far from each other that's why we haven't got the chance to meet up. He lives in Cavite and I live in Bacolod. Aside from that, we were both broke at that time and we can't even afford to purchase a mobile load to register for a promo that has a lot of mobile data.

Well, we were just students back then. As years passed by, he became more and more toxic, though. His beliefs about God are already different and he was even badmouthing God. Positive advice never work on him anymore. He got succumbed to depression and rebellion. Even his parents can't handle him. I was going back on my feet back then and I'm trying to avoid negativities just to overcome what I am dealing with on my strength and alone. I decided to avoid having communication with him. It hurts since we were friends for a long time. I already did my part as his friend. For me, I don't have anything to bear for getting guilty for what I did.

Before ghosting him, there came my bestie Skaterboi also. Though he can't relate that much to what I'm suffering, he tried his best to help me overcome it. Whenever I feel bored or I'm overthinking, just a message to him and he will invite me to hang out with him just to divert my thoughts from those negativities that were eating my mind. We are even besties even now and he even became a Godfather to my daughter.

Just this month, I also found another one. My trainee here, that is also a childhood friend. Though we never had the chance to spend a lot of time together when we were kids, we are still friends whenever we meet and our treatment with each other never gets cold, honestly, we are even getting closer every time. During her stay here with me, I just knew that we have also a lot of similar experiences and a lot in common in terms of personalities. If we aren't just busy grinding for our future, maybe we would be tagging along anywhere most of the time.

Through her, I also found a new friend which is just the same species as us. He is an internet friend also but very opposite to the one that I had in the past. I can't help but laugh most of the time when we are talking. Same minds and same vibes but different realms. I hope someday I can meet him in person and fool around with each other to our heart's content. I have to grind more for that since our distance is much farther since he lives in Laguna and I'm on Bacolod. But who knows, maybe someday it can be true. I just have to exert a lot of patience for that even though I'm an impatient person, myself.


Can you see the difference?

We don't have to force ourselves to fit in just so we can't be left alone and will be always in with them. Let's just be ourselves and there will be a right circle for us that we can rely on and that will support us on our journey of surviving in life. Don't ever stick to the toxic ones because they will not bring us any good. Yes, we can't choose our parents but remember that we can choose our friends.


Thanks for reading!

  • Lead Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|Noise. cash

10
$ 10.06
$ 9.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Somehow I could relate to this one, I don't know but I am not really open to my family and parent but I am more to friends whom I know could really understand me. Friends with same experience and likes are more than friends, like a bond of real siblings eh hehe.

I remember when we were not yet talking friend sa GC you called me 'bisexual' hahaha.. still remember? Nagulat pa ako noon kasi bigla ka nalang sumulpot asking me if I am bi...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagtanong ako ng ganiyan? Ang naalala ko lang nagtanong ako kung 'bakla' ka, kasi parang ang taray mo mag chat. Hahahaha.

Sensiya na po, God bless. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ako gaano nakakabonding na now na friend. Parang pag tinanong ako if sino mga kasama ko sa outing, nahihiya na ako sabihin na mga "kaibigan ko..." pero may "...dati." sa dulo. Kaya minsan pag tinatanong ako sino mga kasama ko lalabas, sasabihin ko nalang mga kaklase ko noon or name drop nalang. Nahihiya akong tawagin sila na mga kaibigan ko yan kasi di naman na kami ganon kaclose or yung iba kasi don alam kong mas plastic pa sa orocan. haha alam mo yon? Baka di ako belong or di ako kinoconsider as their friend baka gusto lang ako kasama pero after non, wala na ulit.

Anyways, maganda talaga na may napagsasabihan ng problema e. Sila yung totoo yung handang makinig pero never imamaritess sa iba pinag dadaanan mo. Dito samin, wala akong ganyan. Mas gugustuhin ko nalang sarilihin problema ko. Pero dahil dito sa Read.cash , nakakilala ako ng mga tao na willing makinig sa problema ko at the same time, they give advices and they also took care of me..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, relate much. Yung parang di mo ramdam na kaibigan ka nila. Madami nga kayo pero pakiramdam mo parang ikaw lang din naman mag-isa. Mas okay pa nga virtual friends eh, nakaka open up pa ako ng di hinuhusgahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been curious, what if magsama-sama tayong mga tila outcasts sa circles? What would it be like? Siguro magiging okay yun kasi we know the feeling na iniichapwera, kaya di natin yun gagawin sa iba. :((

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga eh. Kaya kapag may nakakausap akong may similarities sakin, magka vibes kami kaagad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having best of friends really meant a lot and has saved me from being depressed with myself. I remember really having bad fights with my parents, and I was just lucky that I had great friends who are very reassuring and never adviced me to be rebellious against my parents instead they said everything will be just fine. I also had a childhood friend who became a high school classmate of mine that I've not been able to see for years, and I miss him a lot already. I hope when we meet again, things will be just the same hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good. It's nice to surround ourselves with good people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masarap magkaroon ng friends na bukod sa ka-vibe mo, maaasahan pa talaga sa lahat ng oras.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, proven na. Anytime pwede bulabugin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap Ng friend na maiiintindihan ka. Pero minsan Kasi talaga trayfor Ang iba. Haha kaya kapag nagkamali ka,yari ka. Pero Tama ka may mga magulang na narrow minded at Hindi mo masasabihan Ng problema but mas maraming magulang din Ang umiintindi. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po. Kaya parang mas maganda pa magka virtual friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, I haven't got such connection with any of my friends whom I can rely on or have same humor as me. Now I'm really doubting myself I'm normal or not haha. I don't try to fit anywhere infact I change them to fit my style, ah no evil plot here!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have guts, then. While me, I'm too shy to do that. So I'm better off alone if I can't fit with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago