Drunk Talk With My Uncle

20 31
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Last night, before I wrote my article, I have a chance to talk with my uncle via video call. It was already past 9 pm and I just got off from work. They told me that my younger sister who ran away with her boyfriend comes home. But she is afraid of my father, so they stayed over at my uncle's place. My elder brother is also there. They are drinking alcohol at my uncle's house together with my other cousins.

They forced my sister to talk to me but she was embarrassed by what she had done and doesn't have the nerve to face me yet. Good thing she knows that I'm mad at her. We have good plans for her and she wasn't even prohibited to have a boyfriend yet she desperately looked for an opportunity to run away with her boyfriend. Such a foolish thing to do, they're truly a perfect pair because they are both cowards. Please forgive my rants again. I just can't help it.

They insisted that she should at least talk to me but I cut them first. I just said, "I'll just waste my saliva and time talking with her. She wouldn't listen to us, after all. Just let them be, we already did our part. It's up to them if they would heed our advice." My uncle suddenly shouted, "That's right!", and everybody laugh. Well, yeah. I don't want to stress myself with her anymore. I did my part already as her elder sister. She wouldn't listen, then that's her fault.

My uncle then steal the phone from my elder brother and waved at me while smiling happily. He asked how was my situation here and when will I go home to the province. After assuring him that I'm fine and they shouldn't be worried about me, he started telling us about his drunk advice. The first piece of advice that he said was,

"Marriage should be thought thoroughly and planned properly. It's not like chewing hot rice and you would just spit out when you can't handle the hotness."

I have heard this a lot of times from my mother and the other elders here in the community since I was a kid. Well, not just me but all of us here. I just don't know anymore on my sister's part. She's not that dumb not to be able to comprehend that simple saying. Well, I guess that saying is true, where it goes, "If you are brain smart, you are weak at heart. And if you are emotionally smart, you have a weak mind." Maybe not all people are like that, but from what I have observed from the people around me, it's likely true. As for myself, maybe I can testify for that. I don't want to say that I'm that intelligent, maybe so-so, and I have so weak dumb, and gullible heart. Just how many times that I have been cheated? I don't want to state the numbers anymore.

Back to my uncle, the second piece of advice that he said was,

"Don't be in a hurry to be in a relationship. There is a right time for that and everything else."

I totally agree with this. I just nod my head as he explains that to us. God has a plan for every one of us. Just have faith and trust the process no matter long it will take. Always ask for guidance in every decision you make, and He will guide your every journey in life.

The third piece of advice that he gave to us was,

"Strive harder and do your best. With this poor life that we had in the countryside, there is no one that we can rely on but ourselves."

There's no one really that I can rely on. Instead of giving me assistance to reach my goals, they gave me problems. Especially my younger sister, she just gave us stress from seeing our parents silently being depressed about our family's current situation. I wouldn't say that I'm a perfect daughter but at least I have learned my lesson long ago. If I can describe myself, I may say that I'm a wayward daughter back then. I left home and started fending for myself because I hate staying with them since I don't feel that I'm a part of the family back then. Just a middle child syndrome but I'm fine now.

I don't have any regrets about what I have done, though. I know it's a bad thing to rebel from your family but it taught me a lot of life lessons. It taught me how to be independent and make my own decisions. Now I'm the one who is supporting them, also known as the "Breadwinner". I'm always sharing those lessons with my siblings. I'm glad that my other siblings have listened to me and started to improve their lives, too. My younger brother is now enrolled in TESDA, for he wants to get a skilled job immediately. My elder brothers are changing, too and the best example of that is our eldest which I have once called "The Turtle".

Our conversation ended when my uncle suddenly dozed off and dropped the phone on the table. It's already late at night, about 10 pm, and I still have to write my article last night, so I said my goodbyes to them, too. It's nice having a heart talk with the elders sometimes because I can learn a lot of life lessons. Just a little problem with my elders, though. I have to talk to them like that only when they are drunk. Because when they're not, they are silent and unapproachable. They will tell you that you are so overdramatic when they are in their right mind.


Ops. Nice to see you here! 😊

Thanks a lot for always checking my articles. Your efforts are greatly appreciated. Stay safe and take care, beautiful people!

From your broke Farm Girl,

@Ayane-chan

See you!

9
$ 7.64
$ 7.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Geekgirl
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Siguro kaya nagiging mahins ang puso nong mga smart people pag dating sa love kasi ss isip nila wala na silanh inatupag sa buhay nila kundi ang mag aral ng mag aral ng mag aral kaya ngayon gagawin naman nila ang gusto nila dahil siguro napagod din kakaaral? Not sure ahahahaha.

Anyways, agree din ako na di dapat talaga minamadali ang Lahat pag dating sa lahat. Baka pagsisihan lang nila sa huli ang lahat if ever you know. Maaaring manpostponr ang pag abot ng pangarap niya or worst baka kalimutan nalang talaga ang pangarap para sa pamilya. Ang hirap pag ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para ngang walang pangarap eh. Patay na patay siya dun sa lalaki niya. Hahaha. Ewan ko ba dun. Buti nga nakinig pa samin na ipagpatuloy niya pag-aaral niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuuu, hayae sya nalang sa desisyon nya. Wag lanh syang iiyak iyak kapag naranasan na talaga nya ang hirap. Wag ng return button yon so ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga sabi namin sa kaniya eh. Wala lang iiyak iyak kapag iniwan siya. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky nya pag nag tagal, pero pag hindi - ee si bye bye walang dapat sisihin kundi sya lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sabi nga sa isang bubong may black sheep,,samin tatlo lang kaming magkakapatid pero rainbow color of sheep daw kami walang black hahah pero may grey

anyways about dun sa when you are smart you are weak at heart and when you are weak in the head you have a smart heart

so san ako nabelong weak ang heart ko and di rin ako smart head hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy grabe ka naman mamsh. Matalino ka din naman, nakahanap ka nga ng magandang trabaho eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pure luck yan beb hahaha ..joke lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Penge naman pure luck, mamsh. Wala ako nun eh. HAHAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahaha .05% nalang natira hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo napa"Go girl!" ako sa reaksyon mo to your younger sister. Kabata pa eh pagtatanan na nasa isip! πŸ˜‚ Iba talaga pag nashushuna na ng pag ibig. At nasa huli talaga ang pagsisisi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Kaya ako focus na lang sa goals ko. Nakakaloka sila. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng sinabi sis pero pasawaykapatid mo jusko, kahit ano pangaral kunggabyan wala rin. Baka saka matauhan yan kung maunawaan nya bat mo eon sinasabi para sakaniya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's up to her na. Ang tigas ng ulo eh nagpapadala lagi sa bugso ng damdamin. Di nila alam mas masarap maging single.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan na talaga kabataan ngayon mabait pag kausap puro opo ang sagot pero pag tapos wala na balik sa dati

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Ahahaha. Ang galing galing pa nga nila magtago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stubborn dn mga kapatid ko. Kht anong pangaral ko sa knla..useless lng..kya minsan nkakapagod na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh, ansarap pagtampalin paminsan minsan. Hahaha. Pero kapatid natin kasi eh, kaya dapat pag tiisan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What she did isn’t right Eloping from your parents place to your boyfriends place is not a good idea. Please try to caution her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not to my boyfriend, it's hers. Hahaha. She's a stubborn one. I'm having a hard time with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago