Backyard Planting

16 44
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Plants, Blogging

My mother said to me one day,

"Planting vegetables and fruits in our backyard can be a huge help. May it is not now, but when rainy seasons or dry seasons come, we are prepared."

She is fond of planting different vegetables and fruits. She often gathers seeds of them. She'll immediately dry the seeds and plant them around our house. She is more fond of it more than flowers. Maybe she has some flowers but those flowers are only Orchids attached to trees around the house, a huge tree of the old white Santan, and some pink roses.

Do you know what kind of walls and gates surrounds our home?

Our home is surrounded by mango trees, bananas, tar apples, and green mandarin oranges. I love green mandarin oranges the most. I remember those days where it's the season for fruiting of the fruit trees around the house. When we spot some ripe fruits, we will climb the trees and eat above the branches. Then our mother will scream her lungs out of nervousness if we accidentally fall to the ground from the higher branches. Those days were more fun than pulling an all-nighter at the computer shops just gaming with friends. I miss those days already. I hope I can go home next year so I can relive those days.


I'm reminiscing about such things because a few months ago, Madam mentioned that it might be good if we can plant here some vegetables in the backyard garden. The prices of vegetables in the market are doubled in this pandemic, so she was thinking of a solution of how we can save some money from shopping every week. The problem is we have limited space and she spent a lot beautifying her garden's landscape. Since this might be a huge problem, we disregarded the thought.

A month ago, we found empty pots that are hidden by the gardener and had an idea. We tried to dry some seeds of riped bell pepper from the market and planted them. We were all overjoyed when the seeds sprouted their leaves and grow taller. It grows a lot faster because the gardener just put a lot of fertilizers in the Palmeras, so did the Bell Pepper received some of their blessings. Now we have this one healthy and fruitful Bell Pepper blending amidst the Palmeras.

We can harvest 2-3 Bell Peppers in that one plant. Just enough to spice up 2 menus. If we buy those in the market, it is quite expensive. Maybe it's ranging now for up to Php 285.00/$5.60 per kilo. We are cooking a lot every week for the employees' lunch at the office, so that's quite a savings already.

We also planted Wild Chili (Siling Labuyo).

It's still small now, just about 2 weeks old. I will replant the others somewhere if it grows taller. We are using a lot of these in our menus since most of the Employees at the office are Bicolanos and they like spicy foods. Not all Bicolanos do like spicy foods, I guess, but the ones at the office said they love it. So we tried planting the seeds, aiming to minimize the volume of Wild Chili that we can buy at the market.


Another seedling that I have is Tomato.

I spread the dried seeds at this pot planted with a Sword plant. It looks dying, so I took advantage of the space. I'll just replant it somewhere if it grows more. I'm still looking for another pot to replant the Tomato seedlings. We also used a lot of these. Since they are cooking a lot of oily foods here, my Aunt includes this on some servings. Like when she cooks fried fish, she'll chop 2 to 3 pieces of tomatoes and sparkle a little bit of iodized salt in it, mixed and then include it in the serving. Just to balance their diets. You can pair it also with Adobo, Smoked Fish, and Marinated Milkfish.


We also planted Malabar Spinach (Alugbati). The boys planted it in the plant box above the Lanai, so I can't take a picture of it. For Non-Filipino readers, here's how it looks like.

Image source: Home Remedies 101

It's delicious when you sauté it with minced garlic. You can also cook it with vegetable soups.

Sometimes when we take a walk around the park, we will pick some branches of Moringa (Malunggay) and cook them in Tinola (a Filipino dish). May it is fish or chicken, it can be cook also in vegetable soups. We have some generous neighbor here that is giving away their branches of Moringa every time the leaves became lush again. I like to eat Moringa leaves in dishes. To an anemic person like me, I need that in my life since it has a lot of iron vitamins. I'm even taking Moringa vitamins back then because Ferrous Sulfate tablets taste like rust and I can't swallow its bad taste.


Lastly, we have this Oregano plant.

It's not for cooking but it's our remedy when cough and sore throat have their way to the barriers of our immune system. It's tastes like a bitter mint but it's quite effective in alleviating cough and sore throats. Just look at how leafy it is. It's satisfying every time I stare at it, perhaps I just missed the countryside so much that I'm overjoyed every time I see those kinds of plants.


Do you also have plants in your backyard or garden? How do you plant having a little space at home? What kind of plants do you have there? Let's talk about it in the comments.


Seeing these lively plants make me more energetic every day. It's like I'm on a full battery instantly when I those leafy, lushy, and bushy plants. I'm so overjoyed seeing the fruits of Bell Peppers that I can't stop myself from sharing it here. So allow me to update all of you when my tomatoes and wild chilis bear some fruits.

Thanks for reading this blog until the end. See you next time. Stay safe and God bless us all!

Here's your motivated Farm Girl,

bidding her goodbyes and good night.

9
$ 3.83
$ 3.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.02 from @Caroline17
+ 3
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Plants, Blogging

Comments

Your childhood might be memorable for you just like mine. We don't have fruit trees around our house but we climbed those trees own by our neighbors haha sometimes, we incurred resentment from the owner. But that's just a child thing haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, even if we are already adults, we still do that every time we are home. Then my mother would shout at us at the top of her lungs. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I'm not doing that anymore coz I'm afraid if the branch will break and see myself on the ground haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha. I guess we are already numb from always falling when we were kids. We're not afraid of it anymore. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay yan marami kayong tanim na vegetables para less gastos na din kapag magluluto ng mga gulay :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo. Namimiss ko na din sa probinsiya. Yun bang pipitasin mo pa puno bago ka magluto. Saka laking tipid talaga sa probinsiya eh, kahit isang libo lang budget mo dun sa isang buwan basta marami kang tanim, buhay na buhay ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gaganda nila, mga healthy. Samin di kami makapag tan gawa ng ang mga alagang aso ay nakupo. Kagagaling maglaro sa halamanan 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy yun lang, haha. Sa paso ka na lang magtanim tapos bakuran mo ng chicken wires.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuhhh, pati yun mamalayan namin puro ngatngat na ahahaha. Nangamatay na ung andito kaya di na ulit nag tanim si mama may natira pa namang isa yong santan nya haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dami niyo palang fruits and veggies, yung front yard namin na supposedly tataniman ni mama ng orchids ay hindi natuloy kasi nilagyan ng mga isda, ginawang breeding place lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana naman isda na nabebenta o di kaya nakakain para menus gastos may kita pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we have plants and vegetables and some fruits in our backyard, this is very big help to us no need to by in a market

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. And it also, it's much healthier than in the market 'cause it's fresh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung walang space pero madiskarte ka eyy hahaha. Linalagyan ng kamatis yung adobo? Hindi ko pa natatry

May tanim rin kaming alogbati hahaha madali lang siya itanim tas masustansya pa. Tas pinapainom rin kami ni mama dati ng oregano e sa tuwing inuubo HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ipares mo lang siya parang side dish ba pero wag mo iluto sabay sa adobo ha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha akala ko talaga gin igisa rin ni ante mo HAHAHAHAHA lutang is me, yay 🤣🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago