A Wishlist That Keeps Me Grinding

17 32
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Wishlist, Blogging

When I leave this job here in Manila, I surely know that I would have a hard life afterward and I can't give the exact amount that I'm giving right now to my mother. I don't plan to find another job when I get home but to enroll myself in college. I have no one to depend on but myself since my parents have long been retired from any work except for cultivating our farmlands. Even if I had bought that ricefield of 3,500 square meters, that still couldn't sustain my expenses since I can only harvest after 100 days and we can only plant rice crops thrice a year. It's still can't free me from my financial worries. The value of rice varies in every season of the year and the harvest also depends on the weather.

We also have 2 areas of sugarcane plantations but we can only harvest once a year. It can't be a reliable source of income, either. Though I have read.cash and noise.cash to earn some extras, I still can't just depend on all my expenses here. It's not that Rusty is always in a good mood to shower my articles with upvotes. There are also times that Rusty is cold to me and just rarely pays a visit. It makes my wallet dry from waiting openly.

If the cases of Covid-19 positive will tone down next month, I might have the chance to go home already. If not, then I don't have any choice but to wait for March to come and see if it's the right time to travel back home. I don't have much time left, since I can already count down the days of my stay here and days where I'm still employed. Even if I have savings with me when I resign, I don't know how long it could last to sustain me and my family. That's why I made up my mind to grind as much as I can to fulfill these wishes below so I wouldn't have any worries when I'm unemployed already.

Here are some of my wishlist:

  • Buy a 500 meter water hose.

The water hose that we are using right now is already 10 years old. It's still usable but it already has a lot of ripped parts that were just joined by rubber so the water wouldn't leak out. It was caused by those people who carelessly cut grasses on the irrigation canal where the water hose is placed. They would damaged it but still ask for clean water from us but they ever offered to repair the damages nor apologize for their carelessness.

  • A stainless hand-operated backpack pump sprayer.

This is for agricultural purposes when we need to spray pesticides, insecticides, herbicides, and add-on fertilizers. The ones that we are using at home aren't working perfectly now. It is still usable but if it is used continuously over time, it will eventually give out. It's better to buy a new one now for reservations. I don't want my father borrowing from someone else and we would hear unnecessary comments about it when we are not in front of them.

  • Bags of fertilizers, insecticides, herbicides, and sacks of rice seeds that are suitable for planting.

My family just harvested our rice crops yesterday but the crops are not of good quality because it was blown flat on the ground by Typhoon Odette. We can't use some of the seeds to plant on the next crop. I will try to order at the Barangay's Cooperative Center. If they don't have stocks, then I have no choice but to try my luck in the office of Department of Agriculture. Fertilizers, insecticides, and herbicides are not a big problem if we have enough budget with us. The store there never run out of stocks. We can buy there anytime.

  • Eye check-up and eyeglasses for my my parents.

My parents are old now and they are on their retirement age already. Having unclear eyesight is a common problem with people at their age. They always struggle reading, so I wanted their eyes to be checked so I can buy the right grade of eyeglasses for them.

  • Dentures for my parents.

They never think of buying a denture even though they always complain that it is hard for them to eat while having an incomplete teeth, to worsen it, a lot of it were actually missing. I can even count how many teeth are still left hanging on their gums, yet they would tell me that they didn't need it. I just pity them for not enjoying their food while eating and they are gradually losing weight because of that.

  • A laboratory test for my daughter.

This was supposed to be done before but I'm afraid that they would get infected of the Covid-19 virus at the hospital, so I postponed the plan since it's not that urgent. My daughter is born with a condition which she has a G6PD deficiency. It is an enzyme that helps the red blood cells to work well. If she was exposed to certain foods and drugs which is prohibited, her red blood cells will break down which can cause her to experience these symptoms like dark urine, fatigue, paleness, rapid heart rate, shortness of breath, and yellowing of the skin. It was discovered at the newborn screening and now that she has grown up, I need to schedule her again for a laboratory test for confirmation. It is a lifetime condition and along with it is a long list of prohibitions in foods, drugs, and infections. We really should have to confirm it to be more cautious in the future.


My child's welfare is even at the end of my list. I can't blame her if she wouldn't call me Mom anymore when I get home. I'm a bit irresponsible in some ways, I admit that. We haven't even seen each other in 2 years. But if I don't take care of our livelihood first, we would still suffer along with my family. This Momma doesn't have much choice. I will just try my best to cross out all of that before I get unemployed here.

Anyways, thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|LinkedIn

9
$ 5.33
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 3
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Wishlist, Blogging

Comments

Bless you po in all of your grinds. Hoping your wishlist will become accomplished soon. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, po. Keep grinding lang kahit madalang dumalaw di Rusty. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true po, sana ol po dinadalaw hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep writing lang po, dadalaw din yan sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks po for the generous words of encouragement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure your mother knows how to handle that and telling her that you weren't there for her because of work. keep fighting lang walang di kaya kapag matatag ka hehe. All those list for sure happens in near future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Konti lang mga yan, pero jusme ang mahal. Kailangan ko mag doble kayod dito para cross out lahat yan. Kakayanin yan. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can achieve all that wishlist of yours just keep on grinding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And it's a first for me to learn that you're a mom..o my ghad im sorry beb i didn't know kasi most of your articles is you less likely talk about you baby girl... kaya yan strive lang talaga tayo para ma fulfill natin mga nasa wishlist natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, nasabi ko kaya sa'yo dati. Dun ko pa na mention sa article mo na najudge ka sa workplace mo dahil single mom ka. Dun pa nga tayo unang nag-usap eh. HAHAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun lang parang nag me menopause na ko beb kasi makakalimutin na ko huhhu sori beb

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe menopause agad. Hahaha. Madami lang iniisip. Hehe ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha kasi nakalimutan ko kasi eh...samantalang last year lang nangyari yun aigooooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how your Wishlist prioritizes your family and future projects that could help you. it shows that you really do care about your family and prioritize your future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. I can't take it to see them suffering while I'm enjoying my life. Hehe :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's so kind of you to think about them

$ 0.00
2 years ago