The Story Behind the Song "Tears In Heaven" by Eric Clapton

7 35
Avatar for Athaliah
1 year ago

Would you know my name?

If I saw you in heaven

Would it be the same?

If I saw you in heaven

I must be strong

And carry on

'Cause I know I don't belong

Here in heaven

Would you hold my hand?

If I saw you in heaven

Would you help me stand?

If I saw you in heaven

I'll find my way

Through night and day

'Cause I know I just can't stay

Here in heaven

Time can bring you down

Time can bend your knees

Time can break your heart

Have you begging please

Begging please

Beyond the door

There's peace, I'm sure

And I know there'll be no more

Tears in heaven

Would you know my name?

If I saw you in heaven

Would you be the same?

If I saw you in heaven

I must be strong

And carry on

'Cause I know I don't belong

Here in heaven

Lyrics Source: Musixmatch

Tears in Heaven by Eric Clapton

This piece is one of my favorite oldies song. The lyrics are quite sad and intriguing because it seems like it was written for a deceased loved once. Indeed, my guess was right because recently I saw a video about the sad origin of this song on my Facebook newsfeed.

I saw myself crying while watching the video for the reason that I finally knew that I was right with the fact that it was made for a person who faced tragic death, and what's more saddening is that, Eric Clapton's (the singer) son is the major inspiration of that particular song.

The Tragic Story behind the iconic song of the music legend "Eric Clapton" TEARS IN HEAVEN.

In 1991 marks the year of the most distressing tragedy of the music legend Eric Clapton. He had a four year old son named Conor Clapton who he loves so dearly.

According to the source, it was supposed to be the start of a new beginning on the fateful day when music legend Eric Clapton’s young son sadly died. Conor was running around the 53rd apartment in the New York. The window of the said apartment was left open at that time when his poor little guy came up, excited to see his papa to arrive home.

Unfortunately, he tragically fell from the ground and was declared dead on the spot afterwards. Can you imagine that? He fell from the 53rd floor? No one really see it coming. I feel so bad about knowing that tragic event.

Clapton wrote his iconic song Tears in Heaven in response to that devastating accident, the deeply emotional and saddening lyrics results a great impact to those who listened to that particular piece. Isa na ako run.

Just so you know guys, two days before Clapton’s 46th birthday, he said goodbye to Conor at his son’s funeral. I can't help myself from getting emotional.

Clapton once descried his son as “the one thing in my life that good could come out of".

SOURCE


Little did I know that those songs that gave me such a nostalgic feeling, has a devastating origin. And now, when I remember that particular song I genuinely feel the pain and grief of the lyrics, as if I'm the one who lost a loved one.

That would be all for tonight, have a great weekend.

SWEET DREAMS LOVELIES ❣️.

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!

Sponsors of Athaliah
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors!
Check them out!
CANVA

Sayonara!

Lead image from google.com

9
$ 0.91
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 3
Avatar for Athaliah
1 year ago

Comments

i know this song because of neighbour is playing this song most of the time in weekend. so this is the story of the song. i am sad about this po ate @Athaliah . poor kid!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahmff 😞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't know about that story 🥺. But yeah, it is also one of my favorite song. And everytime that I will play it in my phone, I dont know bakit bigla akong nalulungkot. Ang lakas nyang maka sad ganon. So mas lalo na pala akong masasad dahil dito. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Any song that has a devastating story behind it always hits in a different dimension and we get to see what the artist is saying and we can also feel his pain from the lyrics as well, that is why sometimes I just think listening to all this oldies songs are the best because they express feelings and actual things they went through not like this young millennium that sing anything that comes to mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is really a great man, he was strong in the lord and it takes courage to stand in faith like that. What a great story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the greatest songs! Ganda ng message neto eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A true story that is poured with a song is really felt through the words and sentences that can be felt from the heart of the reader, it is truly a tragic story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago