Fish or morrocoy curd?

16 51
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Recipe, Traditional, Animals, Fish, ...

The truth is that I would not eat morrocoy, not really, it does not seem right to me, but there are many people who eat morrocoy and that is normal for them, not for me since I did not grow up eating that animal.

Some time ago I talked about strange or exotic foods where I talked about dishes prepared with puffer fish, iguana, rabbits, snakes, chigüire, pigeons, etc. Maybe for you this food is normal, but for me not so much and I wouldn't eat it, but I respect your tastes...

What is Cuajao?

The cuajao also called fish cake or morrocoy cake, is an exquisite dish that is prepared at Easter in Venezuela, this tradition is usually prepared with fish, but in some few places they do it with morrocoy. This cake is usually served with white rice, beans, casabe or whatever you like.

Hey friend, remember that you can visit and read the articles of my sponsors, their articles are great!

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

Commercial break haha

I had many years without eating cuajao and since the beginning of February I had the desire to try this exquisite dish, I really love it, I don't know why, maybe because of the variation of flavors inside, it is the union of sweet and salty, which is quite common in our country. Today I traveled to my parents' house and I was able to eat this delicious food, but I have never tried cuajao de morocoy and I really don't want to

As I said before, the ingredients of this delicious dish mix sweet and salty, so this traditional dish has dogfish, onion, potatoes, garlic, paprika, chilli, pepper, eggs, carrots, plantains and olives, it's like a kind of Spanish omelette, maybe... I can't explain it, but I love the mix of flavors of fish, plantain and potatoes.

The recipe may vary a bit depending on the region of the country or family tradition, some people add paprika, capers or olives.

Cuajao

As I was very late I could not take pictures of the whole preparation, only of the portion that was left, which was my and Luis' meal.

As you can see, this delicious fish Cuajao is served with white rice and beans. My grandmother was the one who did all the preparation, in the mix of flavors you can notice her secret ingredients hahaha.

The history of this fish cake dates back to 1779, in parts of the History of New Andalusia. During Holy Week it is not usual to eat red meat, it is preferred to eat fish, as these days are days of abstinence. Many people only eat fish on Thursday and Friday of Holy Week, but we all know what happens in the world, so, sometimes it is a little complex to follow something like that.

Fun facts

My parents have a morrocoy named Marta, he used to be called Martin because we thought he was a male, at that time he was too small to determine his sex. When she grew up we realized she was a female and we changed her name to Martina, but sometimes we call her Marta or Martica, so she has many names....

As I said before, cuajao is made with fish or morrocoy, so while I was on the road my parents told me they had made cuajao de morrocoy with our morrocoy Marta, but I did not believe them, my father has always said "if the animal has a name, you can not eat it, because it is a pet and is part of the family", so I knew they had not made cuajao with Marta, because she has a name. But I got a little scared, my mother seemed very convinced that I had made a cuajao with Marta, so when I got home I went to look for Marta before I ate the cuajao.

Marta was at home, so I was able to have a relaxed lunch.

My morrocoy Marta

Thank you for having reached the end of my article my reading.effective friend, I hope you liked the food that my grandmother prepared, have you tried something similar?

By the way, what do you usually eat at Easter?

See you in the next article!

All content is original

The photos were taken by me

Greetings from Venezuela!

Friday, April 15th

4
$ 1.03
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @daring-celt
+ 2
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Recipe, Traditional, Animals, Fish, ...

Comments

I like to eat rice with beef, chicken and vegetables.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh how nice my friend, I really like veal and chicken, although at Easter, by the religion of my family should not eat, but sometimes it is unavoidable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We used to have a pet turtle but run away. One day we found her shell in the garden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I am very sorry, they are quite calm and quiet animals, but that does not mean they should be neglected, they are still living beings. We have had that morrocoya for many, many years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are protestants and we don't celebrate holy week or Easter. Over the years, our country are influenced by western practices and Easter egg hunting is now becoming common here. About food, I have no idea.

I'm trying to think of food I can compare your fish cake with but comes up blank. At least with that I have eaten or tasted so far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand, for me it is a normal week, work or studies, but I accompany my parents and support them in what they believe in. I am currently at my parents house and I have eaten only seafood because it is part of the Easter tradition, if I were at home I would eat whatever I have even if it is meat haha. I don't understand how the Easter egg hunt works as we don't practice that. That cake is a little strange, but tasty, I had been for many days wanting to eat it, you can eat it any day of the year, but it's more common to eat it at Easter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was funny, when you check martha first before eating, it means that you really cared about your pet..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I like animals a lot, recently my puppy passed away and I'm still really sad about it, but a new cat has arrived and helps me to be a little bit well, there is also Marta, who is also funny, sometimes she makes weird things with her nose or starts blowing the pipes around the house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the exciting story, Francys! It is always interesting to learn about the national traditions of people in other countries, especially about cooking.

For Easter, we eat ordinary boiled eggs with red-colored shells and also bake bread made from sweet dough with raisins and covered with whipped protein. It's called "Kulich"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear friend for reading my article. Yes, I also like very much to learn about cultures, traditions and especially food from other countries, I would love to try food that others like. I have seen here on read.cash many foods that seem a bit strange to me, but they look very tasty. Those eggs are quite strange to me, I have never seen eggs like that. I just did some research on the Kulich and it looks really delicious, I really like the bread and raisins, and when put together it is really delicious

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I'm happy what your Marta is alive!)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are ordinary chicken eggs boiled in boiling water. Their shells are dyed red (usually onion peel is used for this, it is safe for health, unlike industrial dyes). Where did this tradition come from? There is a version that the Virgin Mary entertained the baby Christ with such painted eggs. In the old days, children were also given painted eggs for Easter to play with and with each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I understand, the people I know who generally celebrate Easter (with eggs) are people from the US and Mexico, but we, or at least in my family, don't celebrate it, just the part about going to church, not eating red meat, etc, etc, etc.

I got a bit confused by the translation because Easter in English is written the same as another tradition, which is Easter eggs, I will try to identify it this way and excuse me if it is complex for you to understand me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's all right, Francys, I saw! At least Google translates correctly, ha-ha!)))))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh haha last para was hilarious. By the way i wanted to say that I'm not food lover means foodie but my Hoby is to taste food of different countries and your cuajao seems interesting. I'm thinking to watch recipe on YouTube and try this out at my home. In asia I've not heard about cuajao, so this gonna be amazing work to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much hahaha Oh excellent thank you very much, I hope you like it, anything if you want to post it you can tag me gladly or if you want I can ask my grandma how she did it and explain it as best as possible haha, thanks for reading my article my friend. I have also seen a lot of food from Asia, quite different that I would love to try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago