The 4 Personality Types: What personality do you have?

30 38
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

On my previous articles, I've mentioned some words and phrases that you can connect together for you to be able to consider me as lover of piece and silence, but sometimes I am craving for a companion as well.

You can see me mingling with other people but not all the time, and I only associate myself mostly with individuals I am comfortable to be with, just like my close friends and family members. But, when needed, I can also interact with someone I can consider as a stranger just like when conducting an interview or when I'm seeking for the truth.

As time passes by, I do not consider myself to be just an introvert because coming across its meaning, I realized that I am actually an ambivert or an omnivert, I can't tell exactly.

But, let me just explain further this time the difference between an introvert, extrovert, ambivert and omnivert.

Let's start....

1. Introvert

An introvert is often thought of as a quiet, reserved, and thoughtful individual. They donโ€™t seek out special attention or social engagements, as these events can leave introverts feeling exhausted and drained.

~Kimberly Holand

When we say introvert, this is often associated with people who prefer to stay silent and doesn't engage themselves that much in social interaction. These are people who gained most of their energy by giving time for themselves away from exhausting crowd. Introvert may no talk that much, but they are very thoughtful and a great listener, plus most of them are intelligent or smart since they are using their alone time through learning or looking for an answer from the questions running on their minds, sometimes caused by curiosity.

2. Extrovert

Extroverts are often described as the life of a party. They seek out interaction and conversations. They arenโ€™t one to miss a social gathering, and they thrive in the frenzy of a busy environment.

~Kimberly Holland

Extroverts are the opposite of introverts. These people are fond of socializing with everyone and they feel more happy and recharged when they are in a crowd with bunch of people they can talk to, whether closed friends or strangers. They got bored easily when they are alone and they seek for social engagement just like going on a party with their friends, or other social gatherings where they can get more attention from people. They are very easy and comfortable to be with since they are not socially awkward and they always have readied topics to talk about (based on my experience when I'm with extroverts).

3. Ambivert

An ambivert is someone who exhibits qualities of both introvert and extrovert. They cannot be labeled as pure introvert (shy) or extrovert (outgoing).

~Dr. Jasmine Shaikh, MD

When we say ambivert, someone has a balanced quality between being an introvert and extrovert depending on a certain circumstance. There are times that they are being an introvert when they are in a crowd filled with strangers or an extrovert if they know bunch of people they can talk to comfortably. Or in some instance, an ambivert is showing his/her introverted side when he/she is tired of social interaction and too lazy to talk with people, or an extrovert when he/she feels like talking about random things and don't want to be alone at that moment because of boredom. Ambiverts know when to be an introvert or an extrovert depending on the situation, that's why they are more flexible, stable, intuitive and practical in terms of socialization.

4. Omnivert

An Omnivert is someone who can be the extremes of either at different times.

~Simon @ SO Coach

Omnivert is somehow similar to ambivert in such a way that a person having this personality can show their introverted and extroverted sides. But the only difference is that, omnivert people can be the extremes of either introvert or an extrovert at different times. It's not balanced unlike ambivert, or in short, there's a dominant personality when talking about this term. But, even if it's not balanced, there's an advantages also wherein we can associate those benefits by combining what I've mentioned in each personality types above, just like being a good listener when introverted side is in extreme, or a great social influencer and easy to go with person when the extroverted side is more dominant.

Talking about these four personality types, we can then conclude that we are all different with each other when it comes to social engagements. There are people who prefer to be alone, but others are fond of social interaction, and there are some also who can do both.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

I love to be in a quiet place with no one pissing me around sometimes. I prefer to stay at home most of the time, doing the chores and other tasks, so when this pandemic came and we have to stay at home, I am not bothered at all unlike some of my friends who are expressing their wrath on social media for having no chances of engaging themselves in an adventure outside their homes. But, their are times also when I got bored inside our house and I am craving for physical interaction with my friends and not just being together in a virtual call.

Being an ambivert or an omnivert, I am more open in understanding people around me despite of the personalities they have. If they are introvert and are very shy to approach me, it's okay, I can understand them since I have an introverted side as well, and if they are an extroverte who likes to talk about random things, then I can show my extroverted side as well to fit in.

Having this personality will help us to be more considerate about the personality of everyone. We are not close-minded in a sense that we are not judging someone for being shy or talkative at times. But what I want to impart in everyone's mind is that, whatever personality we have, we must seek for social acceptance and that no one should be judged for being real.

How about you? Are you an introvert, extrovert, ambivert or omnivert?


Author's Note:


Date Published: August 7, 2021

Lead Image: Originally created by me using Canva

7
$ 6.79
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Stea
$ 0.04 from @CoquiCoin
+ 4
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm an introvert. But after some time in Read and Noise, I think I can say I'm ambivalent, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Read and Noise really help us to be more interactive even if our personality is alligned with introversion. And, I think it's a good thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's definitely a good thing. Agree with you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an ambivert. As I love socializing with people, but I love to spend time alone as well. Well no matter what personality a person has, all should respect and be respected.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we must accept and respect everyone even if their personality contradicts what we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, Amy. ๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an introvert in real life, and I can only socialize on other people through means of social media. Maybe I'm an ambivert or crazy haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I see. I can't really tell if you're an introvert as well, since you're one of the active users here. I guess, your personality splits depending if you're in reality or virtual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an ambivert ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good to know as I am an ambivert too. My personality depends upon the situation, so it's more accurate to call myself as an ambivert, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's right. ๐Ÿ˜Š You really know yourself a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not that 100%, but I know myself more than other people do. Thanks, anyway. โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well, yeah you are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm an ambivert, I enjoy the presence of people around me and at the same time I enjoy my alone time. Woaahh I thought I'm an introvert person, its just a thought, not until I met people who I found myself comfy with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Before, I consider myself as an introvert, but when I met someone I am comfortable to be with, that's when I realized that I am an ambivert who can do socializing as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to me I'm an ambivert and closed thought personality. I'm not too much shy and not too much extrovert. I love to most of my time at home. my home is a peaceful place for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad that your personality is balanced. I think, you're good in being flexible when it comes to socializing.

Me too, loves to be at home since it's my source of peace and comfort.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What makes you are that makes you unique hehe. Introverts are smart people and those followed far, whatever the status or personality of them if they welcome me as friends I will be one. I think I am Omnivert, complex me indeed hahaha. 7:48PM_8.7.21

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, and we shouldn't judge those people for being who they are despite the differences we have. If they are introvert, extrovert, ambivert or an omnivert, accept them because that's their personality and we can't do anything about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that I am ambivert. Sometimes i feel so shy when there's a lot of people sorrounds me. But sometimes I am so talkative and noisy when I am with my friends and classmates. I think i posses the personality of an ambivert person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most of us consider ourselves as ambivert since our personality depends upon the situation. Although, there are some people who are really just an introvert or an extrovert, nothing in between.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an introvert though, and all personality tests also prove that, but I'm beginning to feel maybe I'm an ambivert? I don't know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you also love socializing sometimes aside from being alone then you can consider yourself as an ambivert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that could be very true! Look at all the other comments, they're also introverts+ambiverts or lost in between like me hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow confused maybe, just like me. But, we can be both an introvert and ambivert if we can't decide. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to believe I was an introvert but as I age I am more of an ambivert. I didn't know there's an omnivert.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I too can relate with that! I always thought and believed that I was an introvert. My as I'm growing, I'm beginning to realise that I might be an ambivert or maybe both hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, we're the same. Before, I consider myself more as an introvert type of person, but while growing up, I am slowly learning how to interact with other people as I've realized how essential it is for personal growth.

I guess, most people are not yet familiar with omnivert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I am an ambivert. I love socializing with people and at the same time, I enjoyed spending "me" time. It depends on my mood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, and it depends also on the situation just like when I'm tasked to socialize or when I'm bored, then I am an extrovert, but I also love being alone as I can find peace with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago