Coz We're Not the Same

15 21
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Going out and partying with friends are what teenagers or youths are commonly up to.

But, I am not basically like them, because aside from I am not fond of going out in a crowd, my parents are so strict to let me hangout with random guys.

As I am having my class earlier, my messenger app kept on popping notifications in my phone, and messages flooded our specific chat room. Honestly, I was distracted with the incoming messages, but I am also curious about what could be the topic of my former classmates to send bunch of messages like that. As I open our chat room, I got to back read all the messages which made me further concluded that they are planning to have a friendly outing particularly in a resort.Ā 

They are specifically planning to have a night swimming which will be held in a resort located in other city and is scheduled next month, during weekdays. As Iā€™ve read all of these, I immediately decided not to go out with them considering the factors that I think would hinder me to do that.

These are:

1. My parents are so strict to let me go out alone at night

Sometimes, even if itā€™s day time, my parentsā€™ canā€™t easily give me permission unless my reason for going out is valid. What more if itā€™s night time? I understand them for being like that as itā€™s really not that very safe outside considering the pandemic that is still ongoing, and also, they donā€™t want me to be in danger as some people nowadays are unethically doing something even if they know that they would end up in jail, and that commonly happens at night, when everyoneā€™s silent.

Aside from that, my parents donā€™t want me to be the topic of gossipers here in our place. When our neighbors saw me going out at night, they will eventually conclude and spread the news about me, going out to meet my imaginary boyfriend and end up being pregnant at this age. Yes, they sound horrible. Thatā€™s the truth about them. HAHAHA

2. I have my online class during weekdays

Being in college is so tough and I canā€™t just disregard my daily class just for the sake of having fun. To be honest, weā€™re just in prelim period, but I am already stress with reports, activities and continuous classes. Yes, having fun for quite some time will somehow help me relieve my negative feelings, but having fun while having my studies to be compromised is something that I donā€™t want to happen.

On that note, since the schedule of that outing is on weekdays, I have no time and interest to go with them. Some might say, ā€œit will happen at night, your online class wonā€™t be compromised?ā€, hey, I have to do my reports and activities at night for me to be ready on my next online class in the day time. I donā€™t want to disappoint myself and anyone if I got failing grades in the finals.

3. I donā€™t personally know those former classmates of mine

The former classmates that Iā€™m talking about here are my classmates when I was in first year college. They are supposed to be my classmates again this 2nd year, but they transferred in another school due to some reasons which are mostly related to financial aspect. I am studying in a private institution and the tuition fee is quite high thatā€™s why these classmates of mine decided to transfer in a state university offering free education.Ā 

Since we spent our first year in college with distant or online learning, we never had the chance to get to know each other personally. Yes, I got to meet some of them in few instances, but I am not pretty sure about their real attitude and personality, thatā€™s why I am quite hesitant to go out with them especially at night.


CLOSING THOUGHTS

Anyway, itā€™s not that I am killjoy upon othersā€™ happiness, itā€™s just that I am really not the type of person who is always on the go, and can go out whenever others asked me to. We have different personalities and state of life. Others donā€™t have strict parents that will hinder them with whatever they want to do. However, there are these people like me who canā€™t just go outside because their parents donā€™t permit them to do so. Regardless of age, young or not, asking permission to our parents is not a sign of being dependent, itā€™s a sign of respect wherein they are the highest authority at home and they are the ones who are taking care and protecting us at home.

But, it all depend on the nature of children. If they are the type of person who never asked their parents about his matter, I also respect them.Ā 

I am just stating all of these to emphasize the differences we have, and that no one deserves to be called as killjoy just because he/she donā€™t want something that anyone elseā€™s are fond to do.


Author's Note:

As a sign of gratitude, I want to express how thankful I am to you, my readers. Thank you very much for those who keeps on supporting me with my articles, and I hope that even though my writing skill was not yet pro enough, you are still learning from it. I am very thankful also to my sponsors, I am hoping that you are all doing fine and for you to be showered with more blessings from above.Ā 

May the good Lord bless you more with love and grace! šŸ˜‡ā¤ļø

Thank you so much for reading! šŸ’•


Date Published: January 29, 2022

Lead Image and Gif: Originally edited by me using Canva

7
$ 3.72
$ 3.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 2
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Growing up in a conservative family is difficult but it has its advantage too. Just take your time and enjoy life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po, growing up like this somehow protects me from the influence of negative things and people outside. Anyway, thank you po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree! I also like this when it comes to priorities, I decline and turn down events when I had lot on my plates even that thing is would surely fun but yeah we should prioritize significant things then happiness and fun come later bevause we are still young and had a lot of responsibilities as a student, daughter/son in our house.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those fun moments can wait, but our priorities now will not, because our future depends on it and we have our own dreams to be fulfilled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeees, you're not a killjoy. Though my parents are not strict as yours, I have me, I restrict myself. Haha. I do not want to be in a crowd place especially this time of pandemic.

In college, I remembered before pandemic, I got sick, I wasn't able to attend classes in just one day but it seems that I missed a lot. Kaya sa college bawal magkasakit. šŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True yan, kaya as much as possible ayaw ko talagang mag-absent kasi kung kailan wala ako tsaka marami ang ganap wherein hindi na ako makakarelate agad sa mga next lessons namin. Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaah. Tapos may mga prof pa na mahilig sa surprise quiz o kaya may biglaang activities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako diyan. Kaya ang hirap umabsent kasi for sure mangangamote ako sa quiz and activities, hindi pa naman maasahan minsan 'tong utak ko when it comes to stock knowledge. šŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same here. Stock lang meron ako e, walang knowledge šŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman out of stock na talaga. šŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have restrictions, we can't always do the things we want. My parents were also strict but I'm still thankful for that because they show me that they genuinely care for me and just want the best for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they just want us to be safe and not be in trouble, that's why they're putting restrictions that they think will possibly harm us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not alone. Look behind, the Devil had that restrictions too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you're there who also has this kind of restrictions. ā˜ŗļø

$ 0.00
2 years ago