Missing my hometown

10 476
Avatar for Alther
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Write, Freewrite, Facts, Story

I was born in Jakarta, and I grew up there too. Over the years I have gotten used to the situation and settled there. But in the end, fate spoke differently, circumstances and the journey of life required me to leave my hometown.

Image by David Mark from Pixabay

Well, if I talk about the city of Jakarta, it is not my parents' hometown, if I follow the family tree of my parents were born, they are from the city of Kandangan, South Kalimantan. This means their hometown is Kalimantan and I am descended from the Banjar tribe. Kalimantan is famous for its Dayak likes, while the Banjar tribe is one of the second largest tribes after the Dayak tribe. The difference between the Dayak tribe and the Banjar tribe is a matter of belief. Where the Dayak tribe believes in animism mostly, while the Banjar tribe majority believes in the Islam religion.

When I remember the words my parents' hometown, it's been a long time since I went back there or just visited Borneo Island. But still, the greater longing is not to return to my parent's hometown, I miss the city where I was born and raised. It's been more than 3 years since I left the hustle and bustle of the glittering city of Jakarta. Now I live far away from another island in my country. I live in a small town called Tembilahan, Riau Province. And Riau is on the island of Sumatra. A small town on the estuary of a large river called the IndraGiri River. Many things are much different during my stay here, the existence and conditions of the city of Jakarta. Even though this small town is close to Singapore, unfortunately, there are still many things that exist and are usually found in big cities.

The longing to return to the city of my birth may be unstoppable to say, but due to the existence and conditions plus the Covid-19 problem, it seems to be a dream to return there in the near future. There's no way to get home to be one of those exact words unless fate says otherwise. From the problem of completeness papers, the existence of the economy, as well as the factor of the Covid problem being the cause of being able to return to my hometown.

Missing all the activities that usually happen there, longing for the existence that is easy to find there, and missing family and friends who are there. I don't know what it's like now. Indeed, the hustle and bustle, pollution, heat, and various other things are worse than here where I am currently struggling to live my life. But the habits from childhood to adulthood that are usually carried out and obtained seem to make thousands of memories that always lead to dreams of returning there. Hopefully one day there will be a way to get back to my hometown again.

---

Resource:

22
$ 12.51
$ 12.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @ShameemS
+ 6
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Write, Freewrite, Facts, Story

Comments

I understand your feelings about your hometown. I left my hometown in 1989 for doctoral research studies. Then worked about eleven long years in a government job until I returned to my hometown in 2007. I was away for about eighteen long years. But, living and working in different places gave me immense life experience I wouldn't have gotten without going out of my hometown. I am sure the same is true for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was born in a province but grew up in the city. There are times that when I am alone in that city, my thoughts keep showing me images of my birthplace. Now I came back to my birthplace, my hometown and it feels so good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Fate would eventually lead you there one day there must be a certain reason you didn't visit your home land

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trust in Almighty. You will visit your homeland very soon. Getting to know the names of places is very interesting. Good luck tp you friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do hope you'd be able to go back to your town soon. Let's hope the covid-19 restriction is gone so you can travel freely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My dear friend, I touched what you said with all my being. In my opinion, even if we go to the best place in the world, we still miss our hometown and our city. It doesn't satisfy us anywhere, we just want to go back to our homeland and walk in the streets where we have many memories with them...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray & hope that it may come soon. Your desire can be understood by anyone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hopefully one day you would be able to visit your hometown once more and have fun like you always do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that's true that if we're far from our hometown there is a tendency that we missed that place

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand your feelings mate. It hurts me too because I understand the pain of leaving my home, my city. Because I face it myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago