Portulaca

22 31

If you need to cover hot and sunny ground or you’re tired of watering your hanging baskets every day all summer, look no further than moss rose! Whether you call it moss rose, portulaca, or purslane, this plant is tough as nails and can stand up to almost anything. And with a trailing habit and nonstop bloom power.

Moss rose comes in many colors. The blossoms of moss rose generally come in bright, vibrant jewel tones, but there are mild pastel options as well. There are also flowers with "broken color," where a solid colored petal is randomly streaked through with a secondary color. There are also other forms of this broken color patterning where the outside of the petal is one color with a splash of a second color in the center—it's truly unique!

Blooms are typically single flowers with five petals and a pom-pom of yellow stamens in the center. You can also find semi-double blossoms that have a few extra rows of petals. Also, fully double flowers exist that are many petals together with no visible stamens in the center.

These plants are adapted to dry conditions, so they have very fleshy, succulent leaves and stems.

You can propagate this plant from stem cutting or from seeds.

5
$ 0.00

Comments

Nice post. and the flower is beautiful. Gardening is my hobby from my childhood. i will plant this in my garden

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ha. It needs very less care and grows from stem cuttings. Easy to grow. All the best. You can grow it well. And it blooms good in summer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for adding more information about it. Can you mention the price? it will be helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The colour of this flower is so beautiful...l like this flower...your previous article about peace lily is also good one....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank apu dear. I love your articles too. Stay blessed. Have a nice day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This flower is my favorite. The color is very pink like heart <3. When I find this specie I will buy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can get it in any local nursery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice article about protula man . This is very interesting ti read. Last time i read one of your article too that to for flower. It was nive too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the comment. Actually I love gardening so I write articles on plants I know about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mother loves to gardening. She remains always busy in doing this. This information of planting helps her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the comment. I will write more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You love gardening, do you? You also have a good knowledge of every plants you have. Keep on sharing. This is nice to know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Gardening is my hobby. Sure I will write more. Keep supporting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This flower is my favorite. The color is very pink like heart <3. .My mother loves to gardening. She remains always busy in doing this. This information of planting helps her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are hundreds of colour combination. I have 6 colours in my garden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You love gardening, do you? You also have a good knowledge of every plants you have. Keep on sharing. This is nice to know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love how they grow instead of being mostly ignorant..This article is a good one.keep sharing more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Portulaca is indeed a strange plant to me. Its natural features are awesome with beautiful colors. Thanks for providing information on Portulaca.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought these was called Vietnam rose. And what you said is true. These really can grow without taking too much effort to water them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago