My Journey

8 35
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

I travelled to school today, and the journey started two days ago, as I had to wash clothes I wanted to travel with. Yesterday, I packed the bags and got all the things I needed set, so I don’t leave anything behind. I slept past midnight, as I had to read some posts I didn’t have the time to view during the day. In fact I dozed off reading a post, as I was really tired. Barely had enough sleep, but I was up by 5:30am to get ready so I would catch an early bus.

I always like to leave the house early whenever I am travelling to school, so I arrive early too. And when I opened the door to my room, I was greeted by a film of dust covering practically everything in the room. Dusty rewarded me with 3+ hours of cleaning. And guess what, I am still not done as I have the window glasses to clean. But the room is much better now than when I found it. I’ll clean what’s left tomorrow or Saturday.

My parents stay in another state, which is over 200Km from the state my school is located. One of the events thag caught my attention during the journey was the uncontrolled bush fire I observed. I saw not less than four Bush fires and the strange thing is they were all uncontrolled. I thought to myself:

“WHY WOULD ANYONE CHOOSE TO BURN BUSHES?”

“WHY WOULD ANYONE CHOOSE TO BURN BUSH IN THE DRY SEASON? ”

“WHY WOULD ANYONE BURN BUSH IN THE DRG SEASON AND LEAVE IT UNCONTROLLED?"

These were the questions I asked myself time and time again. Now here’s the funny part. The burning Bush were just by the roadside. A road different vehicles are speeding on at about 80–120KM/Hr. Of all places, you had decided to light your uncontrolled fire where the will be wind to spread it. Perhaps there is something I am missing. I spent time thinking about The Amazon Forest, and how different countries came to its aid during the wild fire couple of years ago.

Another event that caught my attention was the immature tree trunks I saw some trucks transporting to the saw mill, to be processed. I am not an expert forester, but I did an introductory course in my sophomore year to know those trees were not matured enough to be sawed down for wood. I wept inside me, there is a global cry about climate change, ad here are some people burning bushes and cutting down trees that are not old enough, just so they can make a quick buck.

Speaks a lot about human selfishness and desperation to make money at all cost. Not knowing the effects of deforestation are devastating, and could bring an end to life as we know it. Plants help to remove carbondioxide from the atmosphere, and add oxygen to it, through a process known as PHOTOSYNTHESIS – it is the process by which plants manufacture their own food using sunlight, carbondioxide and water.

The need to pay more attention to nature cannot be overemphasised, as it has been said that the earth is heating up 100× more than the volcanic eruption that led to the mass extinction of living organisms millions of years ago. Although, there is another theory that it was large meteor that hit the earth and led to the mass extinction.

I haven’t really been active here the past two days, because of the travel I had to do today and preparations for it. Hopefully, tomorrow is better.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

7
$ 1.78
$ 1.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Welcome back to school. I trust you have enjoyed the holiday so well. It is now time for work😄

$ 0.02
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

I know, right. Work had started since that Thursday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lack of enligutenment and ignorance makes man to destroy his own natural habitat. The funny thing is that it is underdeveloped countries like ours whose practices causes more harm to tue earth are the worst hit by global warming while the advanced countries that are at the forefront of saving the earth are the least affected.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actually, global warming is changing the climate of the whole world, affecting the delicate balance of nature. That is why it has been a major concern of world governments for years now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes is the country we are because if there's a law guiding cutting down of trees, I'm sure they will heed to it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly what I think. But are Nigerians law-abiding?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! The sight of dusty room isn't welcoming. You really need to exercise some cleaning skills. 😂. Bush burning I think is a problem in my community as well. If not smokers today , tomorrow it will be hunters. People have to stop unnecessary burning if bushes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truth is, if we don't stop this indiscriminate burning of bushes and fossil fuels soon, it won't end well

$ 0.00
2 years ago