Money and Love β‰  Happiness

29 64
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Today had started with a lush coolness that comes with the rain. I love the weather, as a matter of fact, I thrive in this weather. The only downside is that I get to cancel my plans of doing laundry. Oh well, it is the weekend, so I'll push it to tomorrow. Today I am writing about some things I often find my self talking about. Three concept HAPPINESS, LOVE and MONEY. Was reading a post the other day by Ruffa Which one Wins: Reality or Imagination? I told her I have got a topic to write about from what I read. Though let me warn that it may turn out to be free writing, and I'll try to organise my thought in a way that the message is passed across, and if not, I apologise in advance.

I remembered one of the profile pictures I used on Facebook years ago had a quote by John Lennon:

"They asked me what I wanted to be in future and I answered 'HAPPY'. They told me I didn't understand the question, I told them they didn't understand life".

These are words but they resonate deep meaning to me. Questions I often ask myself are:

  • What is it you want most in life?

  • Would you rather be rich and unhappy or poor and happy?

  • Does having lots of money guarantee happiness?

  • Can one have it all?

I am sure happiness and money are two things everyone want in life. Some have found one at the expense of the other but I am sure we all strive to be one of those at the point where both intersect. The harsh truth is that not all of us can be there.

But if we are presented with a choice to choice one or the other what would be our choice? I think I am now more inclined to do things that make me happy above all else, as long as I am not hurting anyone in the process. Fair right?

I remember a friend of mine posted :

Money isn't everything, but it ranks up there with oxygen.

Surely I cannot undermine the importance of money. It is very important and honestly, it is the solution to many problems. Or do I say most of my problems?

Every day people wake up and head out to find their daily bread so they can put food on their table and keep a roof over their head. Somewhere between all the hustle and bustle, we forget what true happiness is and we don't even have the time for it. Our life is programmed to follow daily or weekly or monthly or yearly routines. Oftentimes, we find ourselves working jobs we don't enjoy just because we have responsibilities and bills to pay at the end of the month, so we are stuck doing what provides for us and not what we enjoy doing.

Let me switch it up. Would we all agree that love is synonymous to happiness? It is almost impossible to be in love and not be happy, well, that is not to say love doesn't have its own challenges but you do get what I mean don't you?

Now this is another question to you:

Would you rather find true love or be wealthy?

Before we proceed, when I say love, I speak not of unrequited love, finding love doesn't mean that you would be a wretch, also, because I am trying to steer a middle ground here...or not, let me quickly say that money doesn't guarantee happiness or love (at least that is what I think). In fact, it is popular opinion that showing love to someone after money isn't true, or is it unpopular opinion? πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”. Of course that is fallacious but one can see the point.

Real love is unconditional (debatable) but for the purpose of this article, let's all agree it really is. That it is unconditional is why you can be the wealthiest man and still find love. When people love you, they are supposed to love YOU and not your possessions or your features or even your accent. That is why one can be wealthy and still experience genuine love. Besides, love doesn't have to be in romantic form only, it could be your friends or your family that show you the genuine love you need.

They say money can't buy happiness and the best things in life are free, but are they really?

My answers to aforementioned questions I often ask myself

  • What I want most in life is happiness and peace. Really, that is all I want

  • This is a no brainier, I will choose happiness over all if I am being honest with myself. What's the point of having money and not being happy?

  • No, it doesn't. But having money does make one happy in not? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  • Yes, there is a possibility one has it all. But what is ALL? MONEY,LOVE HAPPINESS? Yes, one can have it all.

Let me leave you with a lyrics from Drake's Weston Road Flows

"But money can't buy happiness, Jellee talkin' truthful

But I'm happiest when I can buy what I want"

NOISE CASH

https://noise.cash/u/Aimurie

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

18
$ 4.56
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You are very correct. I think I would rather choose happiness rather than money. I have seen alot of couple that wish they could be poor so as to have happy family. Thank you for this article.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Happy to hear that our choices are the same. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I could have all, I would be so excited because these three sums up a sustainable life. Though money cannot buy happiness but we must strive hard to be happy in all circumstances because through happiness, we find peace and love especially to ourselves.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Beautifully said Princess. I couldn't agree more. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money won't bring happiness but I still want am abeg 😩 if I have money and I am unhappy, I will travel to Italy to lick ice cream, but imagine you're poor and unhappy, wetin you go do ni ? Your lack of money even get hand in your unhappiness πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LWKMD. Na really travel to Italy to lick ice cream.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't care about money. I give value of true love.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's good to hear Shawon. I hope you have found true love?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money and love might not completely give you happiness but to some certain stage I think it will... Over 80%

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I suppose we can say that you are right about that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To some, money is the most important thing, to others money is a important thing. Both the former and latter are still right

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree, both are right, Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was worth the chuckle at the end, @Aimure! I will choose peace and happiness over money, of course. But, as you said, money ranks up there with oxygen, so it's a difficult question. I love my husband to pieces though, and I won't trade that love for all the money in the world. Have a great night!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe. Glad you enjoyed reading. I guess in the end it falls down to whether we are willing to trade or the love we have for all the money we want. Thanks Trifecta, I did have a relatively great night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I have enough love in my life. I just need enough money, haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe. We all need money eh? Good to know you have love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can we have it bothπŸ˜… of course before taking our life being in wealth, we should find ourselve first. By being love and find the genuine love with that we can able think and work smoothly by working hard our success.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am sure everyone wants it all hahaha. I agree with you Kleah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd rather be wealthy pweaseeee haha. Money is life no matter what ✌️🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I know that would be your choice. That was what you said in your post too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And seriously, money is much much more important for me. It can give me a lot of happwiness πŸ₯³πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good to know hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so deep. And I suddenly out of words after reading. Money can solve all the problems but yeah, what is money if you isn't happy at all? If there's no peace and real love money is worthless. Money might can give us all that the materialistic thing that we want, but it can't buy genuine love, true and loyal friends.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Apt! Well said GarrethGrey. You are right, and I agree with what you have said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah we can have that all, so maybe the best option is we must to strive in life to achieve that all.hahah

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, strive to achieve all and lose none in the process too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

WowπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ I picked some point but the question is Does money buy happiness? Maybe, but it’s not a simple question to answer. There are many studies on the topic and many factors that come into play, such as:

cultural values where you live what matters to you how you spend your money. Thanks

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree with what you have said, there are many factors and even individual personalities too can affect one's choices. Thanks for coming by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your welcome and GOD bless you

$ 0.00
1 year ago