Freedom

22 26
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

It was another day for me at the farm. Though it was a new experience for me today, as I and some of my other class mates were designated to the poultry section of the farm. You see, I have specifically avoided going into any of the poultry halls to have a look at the birds for the sole reason of experiencing it newly the first time I’ll be assigned there. Fortunately, today was that day, and just before the farm manager assigned us to specific halls, he had given us a general work of cleaning one of the halls for poultry birds.

With the excitement of doing something new, for the first time after much anticipation, we cleaned the hall – although with the help of one of the workers in the farm. After we were done, the manager called us as assigned us to specific halls of duty where we will either pick eggs into crates and sort them into three different sizes after we were done. We are supposed to do this routine at twice (Noon and at around 4pm).

Hall I was in

It was time, and as I walked into the hall assigned to me, I could already hear the hens increasing the volume of the sound they were making as though they had something interesting to tell me, and I couldn’t hear them unless they spoke louder. As I picked the already laid eggs, I couldn’t help but wonder what must be running through the minds of the hens. Do they even have minds?

Me picking eggs

After picking about 56 crates of eggs at noon,, I had to join the workers in sorting them accordingly. And I less than 2 hours, we were done with all the work we had to do. At 4pm the eggs to pick weren’t that much, so I actually had time to look at the hens. Boy was it an expression on their face. Some looked like they were angry at me for not listening to them earlier, and with what you could call anger on their face, I thought about the life, how they are caged like prisoners, and are fed for the sole aim of producing eggs for as long as they can. And when they had stopped being useful to the cause, they are simply replaced.

The Birds

I thought about a time where women were married for the purpose of childbearing, a time when all they were good for was cooking and bearing babies for their husbands, and if this setting can be unpleasant even for a hen that doesn’t have much of a choice. Did women felt imprisoned by the shackles of societies’ patriarchy? Was this the reason the fight for gender equality sprouted and has since then flourished.

What was freedom? As I was in the hall, one of the birds was out of the cage, and as I looked at it, it seemed like a the happiest of them all at that moment. As she walked graciously towards me like I was an ally helping her breakout out of jail. Happy as she was determined. I stood in its path. And just the I could see the confusion on her face as she bent down submissive to fate. I suppose she was confused how the saviour had turned the captor.

I teased her, gave her hope by moving out of the her way, and she responded quickly by rising to continue her jail break, I stood in her way again, she paused and bent down like she was submitting to fate. We continued the show for about two more times. As her cell mates cheered on and on. I finally decided to let her have a taste of the freedom she so craved. I locked the door, leading outside, and let the hen be, let it walk about savouring the taste of freedom, however brief it might be. I am sure many other birds were jealous at that moment.

This made me thought about life and how we will always crave for something we may never get, and even though we might not get it completely, a taste of it is sufficient to make us happy. Even if it was only for a moment. We deserve to be. I am sure the bed might be sad when it was put back into the cage, but it will cherish that brief moment of freedom it experienced today.

Don't forget to subscribe if you liked my content

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Special thanks to @DanLawan for the sponsorship, I appreciate the support you have extended to me.

11
$ 1.34
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 8
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

There's a poultry farm close to where I stay and it's actually not easy with the way they work and they are always available at the farm each day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really they have to be there every day to feed the birds and pick eggs. It is actually not easy to do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The poultry farm is interesting. I have never been to one :) And it is also interesting that whilst you were there, you got into thinking about freedom and life. It's awesome what you arrived at, giving you a different yet better perspective too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really beautiful . Your really an amazing writer. Wow. May God continue the shower his light of inspiration on you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤭🤭🤭 Thank you Bil. You warm my heart with your compliment 💜💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

freedom is the most precious thing in this life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You see, I told you they look like they always have something to say 🤣 which hall them even put you? You get luck say no be goodness hall

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Is goodness Hall that bad? Na peace Hall I dey sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The chicken wastes flow directly under their cage in other halls, but it flows out into the walkway in goodness hall. You go march shit tire

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness Hall at the other side of the farm or covenant Hall?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one at the other side of the farm, close to the fisheries unit gate. E cast pass covenant hall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. I didn't know that. Never been inside. In fact, I have only been inside Peace Hall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try visit all the halls 🌚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am perfectly fine where I am thank you very much. I have a particularly delicate relationship with food in my belly, I don't want to ruin that by irritating myself and throwing up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree my friend. We will always craving the things we want even it's not enough we are super happy and for us it's enough. It's seldom to happen that's why we cherish it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You get my point. And I agree with what you've said. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. You're always welcome my friend.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's fantastic!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our favourite Devil. Thank you very much 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago