Winter is Coming

Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago
16-11-2021
Tuesday
#52

We have just two weeks left to get into the last month of the year and forty-five days left for this year to come to an end. The year is running to an end and gradually we are moving close to winter.

Lead image source

I remember those times, whenever we hear the sound;

do re mi la... do re mi la... do re ti...

ti do re so... ti do re so... do ti la...

Oh! I'm sorry! Don't mind me, that is the tonic solfa for the G.O.T soundtrack. Whenever we hear the sound from SUB's main speaker, we'd know a new episode of the Game of Thrones is out.

Why am I talking about Game of thrones?

If you've watched the series you will understand what Winter is coming means.

"Winter Is Coming" is the quote that was always said by the House Stark of Winterfell. Just as every state in the country has its slogan, same is "Winter is coming" is the slogan of Winterfell. The clause simply serves as a warning and constant reminder that there Is a war ahead. And as they prophecied, the enemy came and they defeated them due to their preparedness.

Winter and Harmattan

  • Winter

According to Collins dictionary, Winter is the season between autumn and spring when the weather is usually cold. It is always occurring at the end of the year. During winter periods in some countries such as America experiences Snowfall. The scientists forecasted that Winter 2021 in Northern Hemisphere will begin on Tuesday, 21st December and will end on Sunday, 20th March 2022.

Image source

  • Harmattan

Nigeria is a West African country, and all West African countries experience Harmattan. This occurs between the end of November and ends in March. In the winter seasons, while every street is cold in the united state, in Nigeria, everywhere will be dry and dusty.

Noses will dry off and skins will dry off too. Sometimes it will become difficult to breathe. Lips will get dry and sometimes peel off. Injuries during harmattan seasons are always quick to heal.

Image source

During harmattan season, early morning when you go out, it's always difficult to see what's in front, because the dew would have covered everywhere. To avoid accidents, Car drivers will need to use their wipers every morning, because the dew would have covered the windscreen. Everywhere is always cold and dry during harmattan season. I dare not use cold water to take my bath, I have to use warm water if I don't want to get frozen.

I remember an occurrence that happened last year. A mother called his seven-year-old son to come and take his bath. Do you believe the boy ran from their house to our house crying? My mum thought his mum beat him and followed him home. It was when she got there she realized he was running away from taking his bath.

During harmattan season, due to some untarred roads and streets in my country, houses will be full of dust. The plan view of houses, i.e viewing from the roof, will look like the desert in Harmattan season because the clouds of dust carried by wind would have covered the roofs of houses. The beautiful paints of houses would be destroyed by the dust. Owners of white houses will regret ever painting their house white, except for those that live in GRA and Islands.

Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Check out my sponsors.

Generally, In winter and the Harmattan season, the nights are always cold. The breeze is always freezing.

You might find these interesting

Bitcoin.com wallet my choiceπŸ’š

If I were a superhero🦸🦹

Wisdom is mightier than power 🧠πŸ’ͺ

I wanna be forever young🀱

Myths our parents told us🀣

Thanks for reading πŸ™β€οΈ

15
$ 2.78
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
+ 5
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Winter and summer is inevitable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish we have winter in our country tho.. :((

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like winter but just to watch it from my warm room, through the window. 😊 Interesting article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one. That is it, watching the snows fall through the window on your room.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait for harmattan to start cos those times my sleep are always on a different level,everywhere will be cold and chilled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know jack about winter haha. All I know is harmattan. It is already harmattan here in Kano. You know how the north can get. Everywhere is as dusty af already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, even without harmattan the north is always hot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really miss the harmattan period, it's a year already again and it's time to start going into a cold but hot weather... It's that complicated, dry lips, lips bursting and all... White bodies too πŸ˜“πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not actually dust though. Every country has their kind of snow πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Winter is fun , I remember then when winter comes we all where strong cloth and go and play at the river. Am a new bie here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Even with all of this harmattan is my favorite part of the year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? It shows you like cold weather. I like the season celebrations but not the weather πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like every season, but winter the least. I feel like a boy who was runing away from taking his bath. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ you don't like winter too? What country are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like winter only when I am on the mountain and when I am wearing a ski suit.😊 I am from Serbia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago