Tired but feel blessed to be alive

42 57
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I was not able to be here that much yesterday for I had to go see my aunt and her family. I have been mentioning that they have come home for the sake of our grandfather's burial. A service will be held today and tomorrow. That will be another reason that I will not be here tomorrow.

Yesterday, we had to buy the needed materials to build where we would place our lolo's remains. He had been cremated last January and his ashes were in an urn. Because his children are all present now, it's about time to finally put him to rest.

I did not go there right away for I have still have to do some tasks. Once I was done, I then prepared myself and headed out. When I got to the jeepney terminal, the jeepney was empty.

I had to wait less than an hour before it was full. It's past 10 a.m. already but there were a few passengers then. Usually at this time of day, it takes longer for jeepneys to fill up. Mornings and afternoons are the times that they fill up quickly.

When I arrived at our lolo's house, it was already nearing lunchtime. My cousins and brothers who were at the cemetery that time arrived a few minutes later to have their lunch. Once we were done, we rested and then I joined them to go to the cemetery.

This road is temporary for the one on the right is currently being constructed. I haven't been here in a long time. It's impressive the development on this part of the road is going. This is a landslide prone area so they decided to build a better, bigger and hopefully stronger bridge that will last a long time.

These are stuff that we had to carry from the main road to the cemetery which is located at the top of the mountain even past those houses that you can see in the photos. The ones in sacks with pink prints are not hours. Just the sacks of sand on the left. We actually had too much of the sand. I hope our cousins will find someone to buy those from us for we don't need them. We can't order one-fourth load of sand. The required minimum amount is half a load. So what we did is carry the sand that we needed and then left the rest there. I was not prepared carrying these up the mountain. I haven't been to the cemetery so I didn't know what to expect. This is actually my first time to go there. It was a work out that I was surprised I was able to do for I don't usually do this kind of work.

It was rewarding though to be there at the cemetery because the view is nice. It's shady and windy. My cousins and siblings were saying that they were surprised to see how populated the cemetery was. It is a reminder that life can be taken from us that easily and that quickly. Going up and down the mountain with heavy load is not that easy but those who are used to it like those who live there have no problem at all.

This is where our grandfather's remains will be placed beside our grandmother's remains. They started doing what needs to be done yesterday when we were finished carrying the needed materials. I had to leave them though for I still have to go back to the city and had to catch the last ride.

This cat was having the best time of its life. If only I can be a cat. This has been there the whole time we were doing our work and it was still there when I went down the mountain finally.

This is the bridge that we have to cross. It's a weak bridge for it cannot carry vehicles. Motorcycles are fine. That's the reason why the deliver truck did not pass through. Our job would have been easier if that happened. This bridge has been replaced for the old one was really old and was destroyed during one of the strong storms before. This current bridge needs to be replaced as well.

Tiring as it may but I still had fun laughing and joking with my siblings and cousins. It made the work lighter for us all. It's kind of ironic that we it was during sad times that we come together sometimes but I think that is how life is. We come together to comfort each other, to give smiles and laughter amidst the tears and pain. Sometimes we say that we don't need others or others don't need us but we have to learn to be there for others. Your mere presence in times of sorrow is enough.

Thanks for reading!

34
$ 6.11
$ 5.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 23
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

This is life dear. Ups & downs. Love & leave. Sorry about your pain. We all want a peaceful life. A life without sadness. A life like the cat, sleeping peacefully.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the comfort!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so saddening to know that most of the time, family only gathers when someone leaves this world. My deepest condolence kuya Lee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed! It’s the time of sorrow that we need our loves ones around us the most. And when you are with cousins and friends everything feels good no matter how much you are breaking from inside. I hope you and your family finds peace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks so much for the kind words. A family should find peace and comfort from each other.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ganda ng view sir ahh for the cemetery... condolences again sir

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamat, Jean!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about your loss. That's the bitter truth about live. Sad situations most times bring us together .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Life is really ironic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry for this sir lee. I'm sorry for your loss. Be brave sir lee.

May photo na isa na nabigla ako sir lee. Nung tiningnan ko parang sa movie. Parang sa labas ng bansa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry But. I am just curious if he was buried then how'd you able to have his ashes because ashes are only after the body is burned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, we had him cremated but his children and other relatives still wanted his ashes to be buried.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that our presence can be a source of comfort. May your Grandpa's soul rest in peace

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The last paragraph is always true and happens in all family all over the world.. Grandpa's case was a celebration of life since he died at a ripe old age, may his soul continue to rest. may God never let tragedy be the reason to bring our family together.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. Tragedy helps us be closer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda nga nang view...at yung sack kakampink din ahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pansin ko nga din un mga sako e hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Im sorry to hear that. My deepest condolence. I hope ur grandfather soul rest in peace🥺🌹 Nd hope u nd all of ur family is fine there🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. We are getting by :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is so complicated my friend..we have to be strong in this kind of situation and where's are you form bro..?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. I'm from one of the mountainous regions of the Philippines :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung tulay parang kahit among oras binigay, napaka delikako nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Mas matibay pa un pinalitan nyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Condolences my friend. I know how lonely we are when we have to miss one of our loved ones. Keep strong. We'll pray for his peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for your prayers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is tough sometimes, but most of the time it's lovely. Sorry for your loss. Hopeok kay lng dita.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen okay metten ditoy hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so sad that we only gather when one family member departs. Condolence Lee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sorry for your loss bro. But I cannot help myself but to smile and smirk when I see the cat laying down like there is no tomorrow. She definitely enjoying her life in the fullest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! That made me smile too seeing that cat. I guess it was a reminder to me that there is still something to smile about behind the sadness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the journey of duty is tiring but as humans we have to be like that because we have to try and work in search of the necessities of life working is worship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sabi ng cat relax don't be too on rush🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo din haha! Iba din mag remind ang cat :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jeepneys are like that, they don't get filled when we need much and they lefts when we try to catch it faster. Well, the cat is having great time we can see but still not in any home. And I can see the bridge, did that car just passed? Sorry to hear about the event, all we can just pray for your Grandfather. I can feel the pain because I also lost mine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There were two bridges that we had to pass, one on the main road and the other going to the cemetery. The bridge going to the cemetery is not passable for vehicles.

Thank you so much for your prayers. Much appreciated!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I see. I have noticed that bridge toward the cemetry which is not passable for vehicles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate your positive attitude, keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry for your lose and may the soul of your grandfather rest in peace. Now he is already with God, I think he can now also meet your grandmother. Anyway while reading your photos are very distracting as I can't help not to keep on watching them, specially the view in the cemetery, it was beautiful and amazing views. The cat is indeed having a great time 😁. How I wish the bridge was strong enough to carry heavy vehicles, I think carrying heavy stuff and if you don't get used to it, body pain may occur.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good thing we don't have to carry a lot so it was okay. The pain is bearable.

Thank you for your comforting words!

$ 0.00
1 year ago