Some of my firsts

40 58
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

alicecalope wrote her mall experiences and that reminded me of my experiences as well. You can read her article here.

Our city is small and it took a long time for us to have malls. We have one but it was an old one such that it is crying for it to be demolished but surprisingly it is still standing and safe.

Soon a new one was built. It was not that big but for us, because it was new, it looked clean and pleasant. And there are escalators! It was my first time to ride one but I didn't know how. I was comforted of the fact that I am not alone for there were others who were also at the bottom of the stairs tiring to time their step with the escalator and not just that but you have to balance yourself. It's like taking your first step all over again.

One other time, we went to a pizza shop. We found a table and took our seat. I wanted to wash my hand first. There was a washing area and I saw that there was a sink and there is a spout without handle but as I was observing, those before me, they were able to wash their hands for water is coming out from the spout. I thought it was like a drinking fountain that you have to step into something which will then let water out. When the sink was free, I then headed to it confidently only to find out there was nothing to step on. The spout has no handle and it took me a while trying to figure out how to do it until I gave up and had to ask one of the staff to show me how. Turns out you have to use your knee to press a button below the sink in order for the water to come out. It's kind of awkward doing that for you have to continually press the button with your knee.

When the biggest mall in the city was built and opened, they did have a lounge area for card holders issued by the said mall. Everyone with that card can use the lounge and free juice and coffee are served. We would go there when we are waiting to meet some friends and would avail for their coffee or juice. I usually go there to read newspaper or browse the internet or charge my phone. Sometimes when there is power outage, I would go there too to work. One time, when me and a friend were there, we ordered iced tea. While reading the newspaper, my vision was blocked and shifting my weight on the chair, somehow my leg caught my glass of iced tea which then fell to the floor with a crash breaking into million pieces. The lounge area was full of other clients at that time and all eyes were on me. I was beet red with embarrassment. Our stay there was short lived. The maintenance guy was called to clean the mess that I made. After that, I couldn't bear staying there any longer so I quietly asked my friend that we leave paying the broken glass of course. I think it costs around Php150.00 (USD3.00) but that is not enough to buy back my pride.

I also worked in that said mall in one of their departments. One time, I was asked by my manager to accompany a client to the parking lot together with her purchases which was placed in a push cart. It was my first time to do that and I was not oriented about it. Me and the customer set off to go to the elevator but turns out there is a service elevator intended for push carts. I have to ask one of the guards where was the service elevator. The client was rushing at that time and of course she was getting frustrated for I don't know what I was doing. Thankfully we got to the service elevator and headed to the parking lot where the client's vehicle is and her companion is waiting. After loading the items in her car, I quickly made my exit after thanking them. I thought that was the end of it but then as I got back to the elevator with the push cart, it stopped in one floor and a lot of employees were waiting. The push cart was taking a lot of space and the guard said that I fold it. What the?! In my mind I was screaming, "this thing can be folded?" Everyone is waiting for me to do it but I don't know what to do. I was already sweating from frustration and embarrassment. These employees are rushing for they might be late clocking in. Thank goodness one employee came forward to help me. I wanted to be reduced to smithereens right there and then.

Except for the broken glass, I have learned things the hard way. Embarrassing and humiliating but still I learned. So you see, sometimes it is in failing that we learn more. Don't be afraid to fail. We don't know everything right away but we can learn.

27
$ 8.80
$ 8.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 20
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Hahah tama, swerte ka nalang kapag lahat ng un ituturo muna sayo bago ka isabak pero ganyan tlga ang buhay kailangan din matutunan the hard way. Matatawa ka nalang sa pathrowback at kita mo may article ka dahil sa experiences na un😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe oo din :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung mga first talaga ang hindi malilimutan , nakatatak na sa puso at isipan , na kapag naaalala mo ay matatawa kana lang sa mga pinag gagawa mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe tawanan na lang ang nakaraan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

natawa ako sa nafofold pala ang push cart..iba din yung mga experiences mo sir.natatawa nalang tayo pag naaalala natin yun pero charge to experience na din and we learn from those experiences

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di kasi namn work un e. Pero sana na inform man lang ako hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga eh para di tayo naging mukhang shonga sa harap ng ibang tao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seemed to have a lovely adventure in the mall. First the escalator and thn the embarrassment by breaking the tea glass. Ofcourse can understand the situation. But never mind, we learn only from such experiences. So keep making such adventures. When we luk back it's such fun. That's it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm trying to remember more but I failed :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you said at the end is what I was going to tell you, we must not allow shame to minimize us. The thought of what others may think of our behavior does not let us continue to learn or enjoy a moment. That way of getting water out of a dispenser is the one used in an operating room when we wash our hands before operating because we should not touch anything with our hands.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I didn't know that about the dispenser. Come to think of it, it's better and safer that way anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang yan, marami kayang nakabasag ng glass, ako din, ahaha,at first parang nakakahiya, pero kalaunan naging ok nah rin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayoko na maulit haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga first times talaga tayo na nakakatuwa but most of them ay nakakahiya hahahah. Okay lang yan Kuya Lee. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tinatawanan na lang pag naalala hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's understandable that you did not know what to do because they did not even tell you how to do it. Haha, I hate doing things I am not oriented to do how in the first place. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the most shameful and humiliating experiences is where the best life lessons are learned and assimilated, they are significant learnings that will never be forgotten. Lesson of life. Thank you for sharing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All first times are okay talaga eh. Sabi nga nung logic prof namin, lahat naman tayo nagsimula sa walang alam.

Pero hanggang ngayon sa elevator, naaano pa din ako sumakay kahit lagi naman ako nag mamall. Feeling ko kasi mahuhulog ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya di ko magets un mga magagaling na supervisors minsan e. Ineexpect na alam mo na lahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe iba din yung experience mo sir lee. Ganyan talaga pag first time sir lee. 😁 Yung matatawa ka nalang pag maalala mo yung experience mo. Naaalala ko tuloy yung experience ko sir lee. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe kaya nga e. Tawanan na lang natin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It ok budy wahaha kapag first time talaga problem Dyan Kasi nga first time it's understandable Naman, ako nga dati Hindi ako marunung omorder sa mga fast food and until now Hindi parin HAHAHAHA lt langπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe mas dalasan mo pagpunta sa fastfood para matuto ;D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I remember the first time I rode an elevator, I was supposed to be for interview in the 18th floor. I don't know how to do it so I wait for people and join them. You know I observe how, then a lady approached me asking how ? I told me I don't know how to use elevator too. We just laughed . Were both naiveπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is funny indeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Embarassing but still you learned important things kuya Lee. Sabi nga nila, some things are learned in a hard way. Chaka understandable naman kuya kasi that is your first time hihi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e kaso di alam nung iba na first time ko haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's sometimes funny that some experiences are new to us. But sometimes gets embarrassing like u experienced. But everyone understands that it just happens with everyone. 2 days ago my brother was in bathroom and the normal tap was jammed so I told him to use the shower instead and he asked me how to open the shower? I said whattt? just rotate the tap and the shower will be on. But he went into another bathroom and I said to him woow.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Better tell him to learn how to use the shower :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ndi ko din alam na nafold ang pushcarts, minsan tlga need din natin magtanong para ndi din tayo nanghuhula sa isang bagay kong paano gamitin or san banda ang insang bagay or daan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti talaga may gumawa nun para sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, moments like those make us concious and careful next time. We don't want to feel the same way again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun nmn tlga. Sa failures at first times tyo natototo haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo din. Kelangan mapahiya pa haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the first time I went inside a CR with automatic flush, lol it didn't when I was done so I was desperate to find a way how to flush it, I was embarrassed with myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We really have moments like this :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is actually awkward to press button with knee for water, lol! I almost forgot when I last visited this kind of mall with escalators. Sorry to hear about that embarassing moment, don't worry to much accident happens and glasses are meant to be broken. I love the last line that it is failing from which we can learn.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm scared to have ride on escalators so I prefer lift or stairs. We have big malls in our city.

$ 0.01
2 years ago