Writing and BCH brought me here

4 50
Avatar for zolabundance2
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)
Topics: Community

At 11 or 12 I discovered I could get lost in a sea of words that I put down on paper. That was many moons ago, but that started my love affair with writing.

It was probably my 17th summer when I went into a writing frenzy - short stories, poems, even songs! I had progressed from pen and paper to typewriter. Some of those stuff I managed to keep and rummage through today just to reminisce.

I was 24 when I learned I could earn a living out of writing. It was kismet. I had just quit my admin job when a former coworker called to say there was an opening in the publication company she used to work in. I should apply for a position.

With nothing to lose and unaware of what I was getting into, I went, took the test, passed, and sat down for an interview.

The question "why do you want to be a reporter" caught me off guard but I must've said something right because I ended up reporting for work on the first day of November.

As it was All Saints Day, the first thing I ever wrote about was a situationer in a cemetery that was wrapped up along with other ASD stories that year.

Thus began my journey as a writer. Covering the news was punishing but rewarding. It opened up many opportunities for unexpected adventures (I scaled mountains and sailed rough seas, promise!) In college, I had set my sights on travel so I got myself a Tourism degree. Two contractual jobs with international conventions and a year doing international exhibition work never gave me that opportunity. Being a journalist did.

There was much to learn and even more to experience. In the process of coverage and writing news stories I learned feature writing was what interested me more, and I had a knack for it.

Fortunately, my editor at that time supported this growing interest. On top of my news assignments, he allowed me to explore and develop my feature writing skills. That was a whole lot of fun and an eye opener.

I've since taken a hiatus from writing. I blogged for a few years and enjoyed that tremendously. I still do freelance writing. Doing it full-time can be exhausting especially when writing about the same things over and over again.

I never thought of monetizing what I put out there in the world wide web. Thanks to my introduction to crypto, and with platforms like noise.cash and read.cash to enable me to do that, I'm willing to give writing a go again. Find joy in words again. Share my thoughts, again.

And honestly, Bitcoin Cash... BCH can get you excited to do those things. It can certainly help pay the bills some, and then it's the smarter alternative to saving money. Banks? Blah! It doesn't make our money grow.

But with patience and perseverance, BCH can make the future look more rosy. And it's a huge plus that the vision is to make it a utility currency.

Other than accumulating BCH, and growing it, it's time to contribute in raising awareness about it. Make people see it as money, not just the kind they're used to, but one that can be even more valuable in the years to come.

As I get lost in a sea of words once more, I look forward to making new connections with people from everywhere, thanks to the Internet. Writing provides that opportunity, too.

I was raised to love reading and books. Who knew it would lead to something equally fulfilling?

#originalphotos

Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 0.46
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @deedum
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)
Topics: Community

Comments

Reading your story, I wonder what would my life be like had I followed my passion for writing. I grew up reading lots and I also started writing around 11-12. My schoolmates loved reading my stories, but I never took their encouragements seriously. I remember getting a B in Polish language once for writing too good for my age 😅 I guess this discouraged me even more.

Anyway... thanks for stopping by at my profile and see you around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your passion is writing, the greatest feeling of achievement would be to publish your first article and be eager to create new articles in the succeeding days. Keep on writing and express your your passion for the art..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate the encouragement. I'm working to get back on the groove again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would definitely love to hear more about your journey! I used to write a lot too and it became exhausting at some point and had to stop. Hopefully, you'll find the spark to write again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago