The Lost Command

12 30
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Stories

As a driver, being good with directions is a huge plus. In the days before there were GPS and Waze and all other apps to help you find your way, there were only maps, landmarks, and a good sense of direction.

It can be kind of tedious to rely on maps while in the metro, or in adjacent towns and cities. But the streets of Metro Manila can drive anyone nuts, so sometimes it pays to check out those guides before starting off somewhere unfamiliar.

There are big roads, little streets overlapping with major roads, hidden streets, and streets whose names have changed so often, you can't keep up. Exasperating if you don't know your way around.

Like a cabbie

Thankfully, I have a fairly good sense of direction. So, even in unfamiliar places, I can find my way to a destination and go back to where I started from. When I used to work with the newspaper, and traffic had started to get bad, or because of terrible flooding, I had to look for every side street to help me find a shorter route home or to the office or to steer clear of high water.

So, it wasn't uncommon for me to be driving through alleys and streets you never knew existed just to exit to a main road that would lead me to where I was going and get there faster. Manila is so notorious for those side streets.

Many people who would hitch a ride with me or join me to some destination have always been impressed by this. In fact, I've been told that I was like a cab driver, because they usually know the ins and outs of the metropolis. It was a necessary skill if you wanted to save on time and gas.

A sample of road network in Metro Manila from google maps

Come to think of it, I am sometimes better than some cab drivers, because I often give directions to take shortcuts when taking a taxi, and they'd be amazed when we popped out somewhere in less the time or to avoid jams. I just don't know if they took note of where we actually passed. Well, Waze and Google are there for them now.

No sense of direction

While I have a terrific sense of direction, there are people who are just along for the ride and can't be relied on to get you to a place, even if they've been there more than once. They're the passengers who never pay attention to where the vehicle passed or the corners turned.

They remember some landmark that is so common everywhere that each time they see it, they'd point and shout, "there!" only to learn there were four other similar landmarks before the actually place we had to be.

They're also the ones who typically arrive late when you meet up somewhere new because they'd get lost on their way to the place. Whether passengers or commuters, there is a term for them: The Lost Command.

The only way they are familiar with is the one from home to work and back. And that means taking that one same route each and every time. But if you give them a ride, and get caught in traffic, don't expect them to find some other way to get you out of the jam you're in. Because? You will get lost!

I remember once we were heading to a friend's new house and four other guys hitched a ride with me. They were all enroute to the destination so I volunteered to pick them up somewhere along the way. I had this thought that with the companions I had, there would be no problem finding the house.

And an hour-and-a-half later, we were still driving around... Someone would remember something, and we'd turn there, then bam! We would end up where we started from. Someone would say, "Oh, we're close..." and the only close I could think of after driving several minutes more was me getting close to being hysterical!

Family, too!

That's not just with friends, okay? There are family and relatives who are just as bad with directions. And they're usually demanding, or easy to cast blame when we get lost. Of course, once you reach the destination that whole experience is synthesized into an anecdote where everyone ends up laughing.

But I swear, it was not funny while stuck in that situation an hour earlier. Tempers rise, foul mouths explode, mutterings are plenty.

Tricycle drivers are best at directions. (Photo: Marchel Espina/ Rappler)

Good to ask

I am not averse to asking for directions, and I usually do, when I'm alone. (Men? they are so proud to ask) I learned that the best people to ask are tricycle drivers because they usually have the lay of the land. They give you accurate description of what to look out for, how many streets before making a turn, and often lead you exactly where you need to go.

It's also good to ask those who sit in front of their homes, or those in small groups exchanging chitchat. And with just the address, they'll even identify whose house you're searching for.

In the Philippines, people don't give directions with units of measure, like 250 meters or half-a-kilometer away. They will tell you to turn right on the fifth corner, then a left on the second stoplight, then count three houses and find the green gate.

Security guards of buildings and even parking lots are poor direction givers. They usually just know the block they're in and don't bother to find out streets nearby, or other buildings.

It's been a while since I've had to drive around with friends or family looking for a particular address. I do miss the Lost Command group of before because there are apps to guide you today. Still, I don't trust them a hundred percent because there are still streets and alleys that aren't reflected in them. You just end up with a dead end.

So, as much as I can, I will continue to rely on my sense of direction, and real maps not apps, to get me where I'm going. Being a member of the Lost Command group isn't among my aspirations.

Lead image: Unsplash

5
$ 11.88
$ 11.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.03 from @deedum
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Stories

Comments

That's what my dad taught me ...to always remember all the roads that we passed through and just like you para din akong driver ng trike na alam ang mga pasikot sikot🤭 and i feel you dun sa mga kasama sa sasakyan na... Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is good to pay attention to where you are going. Di ba kakabanas ng kasama na ililigaw ka lang? hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo naman mas lalong nakakabanas yung tulog lang 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun pa! Kaya sariling sikap talaga nangyayari...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I haven’t learned to drive but going from one place to another by taking taxi cabs or public transpo forced me to remember routes. I’m not that good with remembering places before but due to frequent fieldworks, I easily remember places now even if I just have been there once. This is a life saver when you’re always on field and I’m not even afraid to go everywhere because of this 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Common sense is very helpful when it comes to directions as well. The trick is just paying attention when you head off to anywhere, and tag certain landmarks. That's the simplest. Thanks for the upvote!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsaka po I’m thankful for my extrovert self, asking is the way to go po talagaaaaa 🤣 dami ko na pong nachika dahil sa directions 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mismo! Mga guys lang naman madalas ma pride kaya ayaw magtanong hangga't di ligaw na ligaw na. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opssssss… HAHAHAHAHAHHA. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 may pag atakeeee 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just speaking from experience! hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I myself is bad at reading map and following given direction especially if I am new to the place where I can't imagine what the place looks like where he pertains to. But I am proud that I can easily remember places and good at giving directions. Whenever I go to a place in a first time I can easily find myself going back and also by the next time around I came back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then you are not a member! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago