The D word

15 45
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Being late terrifies me. For many reasons. I hate the thought of someone waiting for me. One of my earliest articles here talks about punctuality. I was raised that way - to be on time. In fact, I've done better and prefer to arrive BEFORE the appointed time.

When I started school, there was the school bus. Which means having to be ready at the same time every school day. It was a sin to have the bus wait because there were other kids to be picked up, and I wasn't the last on the route. Hold up the bus and chances are we'd all be late. So...

I cannot swear that at that age (6 or 7 years old) I knew to get up on my own and start getting ready. We grew up with househelpers, and it was part of their duty to wake me up so there was enough time to take a bath, get dressed, and eat breakfast before the bus arrived.

There were mornings when I'd be sluggish and getting ready took longer, so the nanny, to ensure I wouldn't be late for the bus, would spoon food into my mouth to rush me along. Eating a full breakfast before leaving was the rule at home.

If memory serves me right, there was only one or two instances when the bus had to wait a few minutes for me, as opposed to me standing in front of the gate waiting for it to arrive.

Without knowing it, discipline was being inculcated in me at a young age. When we lived in Singapore for 18 months, it was mostly my mother who took care of us (Dad would often be away for work for weeks) and since there were two of us attending school, efficiency was in order.

Habits and discipline

Having to commute further ingrained discipline in me. After getting back and moving to another school, taking public transportation was more practical. It also meant an earlier start because we had a few minutes walk to get a ride.

That early start meant I would be first or second as school gates opened. It would later be a contest among a small group of friends who arrived first.

Over time, I learned how fast I could move, how long I needed to take a bath, and finish a full breakfast, and that would dictate what time I needed to wake up to still get to school on time... or more precisely, get there early.

And it was habit that I took to high school. Joining cadet training reinforced both time consciousness and discipline. Having to juggle classes, school work and training, which was both physical and mental, meant learning time management even before it became a by-word.

While my wake-up time would change, depending on where I worked, it would always be consistent. Meaning, if I need to wake up at 6 AM to leave by 7:15, then I would do that every single day. Sometimes, it would be earlier or later, but discipline demanded I always be conscious about time.

Alien concept

And that is what I cannot understand about young people today. Discipline seems to be an alien word or concept to them. They operate on the "rush" principle. Alarms are useless. It would just keep ringing, yet it won't rouse them. If it does, they close their eyes again, burrow under a blanket and wake up 30, 40 minutes later. So, they end up skipping a bath, or more often, breakfast.

It's worse with online classes since they don't need to travel, and just end up not taking a bath or eating while attending class. A very bad habit because food is usually sacrificed once lessons begin. No amount of cajoling, convincing, threatening or even scaring can make them appreciate the importance of discipline to stay healthy while accomplishing all that is demanded of them.

Is it the times that's to blame why younger people have little regard for discipline? That they can rely on hacks, or take shortcuts, to get things done? That there are convenience stores, fastfood outlets, and instant food to help them get by? Technology, social media, more liberated upbringing?

It is both frustrating and scary. The real world can be very cruel. And life will certainly throw a lot of curve balls as they tread whatever path they choose to pursue. A strong sense of discipline is invaluable, it is a key factor when there is need to adjust and overcome challenges.

Respecting time, and knowing how to manage one's time is the most basic way to develop discipline. Habits are formed through repeated action, practiced consistently. Charles Read says, "Sow an act and you reap a habit. Sow a habit and you reap character. Sow a character and you reap a destiny."

If you only learned to wake up consistently each day, whether on your own or with an alarm, it will condition your mind and body that at this time I need to get up and start moving.

Whether you jump out of bed or get up slowly doesn't matter. What matters is pushing yourself to get up and start the day. Let that be your first achievement of the day that required effort. It should, over time, be a good motivator to get things rolling and done for the rest of the day.

Images from Unsplash

14
$ 8.28
$ 7.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Wow I'd like to have that early to rise habit. Sadly the one ingrained in me was it's OK to be late instead of absent. 😂

However when it comes to work of course I prefer being punctual too. That's why I don't like meetings and events that don't start on time. Tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yikes, who ingrained that in you????! Yes, as our time as is valuable, we should also respect the time of others, and the best way to demonstrate this is by being punctual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect on other's time is the most important thing that we need to keep in mind to help ourself to come in time always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When punctuality is something I'm dealing with now ..., I was taught of the need to be on time, but as I grew older, I don't know why but late has been a part of me already.., And your right, it's a matter of discipline...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore you for your punctuality. Back when I was still in high school, I used to be the early bird in our classroom, meet ups and meetings. However, as the time goes by, my punctuality decreases. Maybe because i go tired o waiting for the others 🙂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that discipline is often overrated by those who're disciplined. Where you rely on doing the same thing over and over again, disciplined and obediently going through the motions day in day out, it tends to numb you and discourages creative and quick thinking needed to respond to an unforseen occurance. Don't get me wrong, i am all for discipline, but to a degree. Living in the moment, the here and now, makes you appreciate each moment more and more prepared for anything that happens suddenly and unexpected, ready to grab the opertunity it might hold instead of being annoyed because it interferes with your schedule and doing what you can to make it go away so you can be on time for whatever you're going to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I prefer to look at discipline, not as some form of rigid lifestyle where every movement is measured, but as a foundation of respect – for myself and others. Being disciplined doesn’t mean not being able to think creatively or on the fly when something unexpected happens, or passing up on opportunities. Discipline doesn’t box us in into acting just a certain way. But it can mean showing consideration for other people’s time, concerns and even feelings. That’s why the example I used here was about time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays young people have no regard for being disciplined they do things the way they wish to but they don't know what it would end up with we just don't need to take shortcut and eat fastfoods to get along cuz we are late at work that's going to affect us cuz we aren't eating food that would stay in our body

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Over time, just doing what you want to do without regard for other people, is not going to be in one's favor. There is reason for enforcing discipline. It is the first step to order.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right....i think youths need to be disciplined on things cuz it would affect them on the long run btw have a great day ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like to be always on time. I do not want to be late. Ido not want to be the one people will wait. It is indeed a matter of disciplining yourself and time management. Our house in the province is 1kilometer away from the main road and there is only a few vehicle passing by. I always make sure to wake up 2 hours before the time to make sure I will get on the place on time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that is your big motivation for being disciplined! But now, kids think being late is fashionable... sigh. One kilometer is a long walk but a good exercise, hehehe. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. The change in the discipline right now is very sad. And 1km is really a good excercise, morning and afternoon. Youre welcome Zola.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You remind me of myself when I was younger, I had a very strict schedule to arrive early to all the places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think kids today throw scary tantrums when lectured about discipline. They raise the "rights" card somehow. And the adults don't like that stress of having to stand firm against their little monsters. I don't know... When it comes to pinpointing the real source i am not sure where to pin it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago