Silver lining

8 83
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

It rained...

Well, the sky did give off that vibe earlier. And big, fat raindrops did fall, for about three minutes. Then the sun shone again.

But that's the nature of weather, right? Unpredictable. And it was scorching hot early in the day. For the last few days, actually.

With summer upon us, we in the metropolis need rain. Badly. Otherwise, they'll be forced to ration water again. But to bring the water level up in the reservoir where our water is sourced, the weather agency said we needed a typhoon. Gasp! Really?

They could just adjust the water pressure a little so the taps don't blow out water when it's opened.

Today is my Dad's death anniversary. Four years. Can't believe it's been that long since we said goodbye. It must've been his doing that things fell into place so we could spend some time with him at the cemetery.

Last week was the health scare of my aunt. I had to spend three days with her at home so she wasn't alone. Then I had to accompany her to the doctor to listen to her diagnosis and prognosis.

The good news is: she is NOT dying. BUT... she does have a disease that needs to be managed, including carefully monitoring her diet to prevent exacerbating her condition.

What made the last week difficult for me was being able to sense the patient's feelings. And those feelings were very strong, I was a mess myself! Talk about empathy.

First, prior to seeing the doctor on Friday (it's Saturday now), she was in denial about her condition. My aunt talked about everything, except what the surgeon saw during her laparoscopy. She even missed on the bandage on one incision that we hadn't been able to remove along with the rest.

Many people have been calling to ask how she is. She'll give an abbreviated version, then move on to other topics. I guess like most people, no one wants to talk about being ill, especially with something irreversible.

My aunt now has home companions. Two boys - sons of my cousin who grew up with her next door - who are more than willing to stay with their Lola and take care of her. All good because they're comfortable with each other.

And that means I don't have to stay with her for days on end. I just need to visit to check on her. Maybe once or twice a week. And call. OFTEN.

Second, with mobility restrictions lifted due to low COVID cases, it's easier to go out. Of course, we mask up and observe physical distancing. Besides, the cemetery is a great open space. Air ventilation is terrific!

And finally, since we decided to go in the morning even with the sun out and glaring (we did have a tent), the weather was still perfect for a day out. And while afternoon visits are preferable, we didn't have to rush because they would be closing at 5 PM.

As a bonus, there was a priest nearby who was blessing graves, and he agreed to come over and bless Dad and my sister's. Isn't that wonderful?

The gravestones of my Dad and sister are under there somewhere. The huge white flowers are Easter Lily plucked from our garden. (Original photo)

I was dreading a lot of things the past week. Mostly because I was picking up my aunt's vibe. Didn't realize my empath ability was super strong. Several times yesterday morning, I felt my insides quake. That was DREAD.

Now, I'm praying my Aunt will be better. She needs to take the medication prescribed by the doctor, strictly follow a diet, especially those that she ISN'T allowed to eat, and not stress herself out.

Has she accepted her condition? That's still iffy. But the fact that I don't FEEL her anymore (no anxiety vibe coming to me even from across town, unlike the past few days) means she's more settled. Here's hoping she settles even more.

Asked Dad and sister to pray for Auntie. Guess they heard. And really, they must KNOW.

Accepting you are at risk of becoming terribly ill, or worse, passing on to the next life, is no easy thing. Doing it alone is even more nerve-wracking. But it's something we have to come to terms with, and be ready for.

But I get it... easier said than done. A million thoughts will fly around in your head. And sometimes, your body just reacts without you being able to control it.

GRACE. That's what we need. It's what we should pray for.

Ernest Hemingway says "Courage is GRACE under pressure.' Something to think about.

All photos are original

4
$ 8.09
$ 7.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 3
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Prayers to your aunt and the family. It's a lovely thought that things were set in motion for our benefit. You needed a break from all the stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your prayers are much appreciated. And I was very grateful for the break.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ll include your aunt in my prayers. We lost my sister when I was 5. They are guiding us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your prayers. She needs it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure he is looking over you and your family. He will always be guiding you. I am praying for your aunt as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I know he and my sister are watching over us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying for the healing of your Aunt,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. We need all the help we can get.

$ 0.00
2 years ago