Social Distancing? ~ A Fairy Tale

37 56
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

It was yet another day to waste money on surgical masks without actually putting them to good use.
I mean of what use is a mask when it's not being maximized for its work? when there is no social distance or any kind of safety precautions taken?
In my country, sorry to say, our masks have become more of a uniform or part of our uniform than it is used as one of the safety precautions
Whether it's our office wear, schoolwear, or church wear. It appears more as part of our uniform than it is put to its proper use.

Here we are still very carefree about the pandemic. We believe that it is not really among us or that it even exists (although for some people). We trust the next party so much that we don't even care about our health. We don't care or mind if the next person seated or standing by us is diagnosed with covid. I mean who cares? No one and I don't think any sensible person would accept that he or she is a covid patient or whatsoever.

Guess what happened today in school? Due to the terrible dust around the school environment, one of the lecturers suddenly developed a disturbing cough while the class was going on. We all chorused; Sorry Sir and then the next thing the man said was use your masks and this was when everyone became conscious and rushed to use their masks lol.
The man laughed because of the reaction of the students that he had to tell them that he wasn't a Covid patient and that telling us to use our masks doesn't mean he is one or that doesn't make him one.
But do you know the next thing he said?;


Even if he was to be a covid patient, do we think he would tell us?


Of course, no one would love to admit that they are covid patient. So most people used their faces in the class after they were being told to but I? No way! I mean there was no one I was going to inconvenience myself with that thing. It's always hot even in the few seconds or minutes of wearing it.
We weren't even close to the lecture even if anything were to happen, by the way, so don't be scared, we are safe, or better still, we were safe especially for that particular class.




Non-social Distancing?

But do you know what wasn't safe? It's the non-social distancing observed in the laboratory today.
For crying out loud, it's a practical laboratory, and we shouldn't be expecting this number of people.
We got more than 200 students in a particular laboratory and it was hell if you must ask me.
Some were with their masks but some weren't. And within such a confined laboratory, you know what that means right or what you are in for.
But all the same, thank you for the little rain that fell and made the whole laboratory less stuffy.

Physics Laboratory


It's funny how you can't even sight the lecture from this crowd. I mean even the students weren't seeing the lecturer again, less more you.
Most of the students climbed to a certain point and degree just so that they too can see and understand what the lecturer was saying and many did this to the detriment of their health.

This is no social distancing, I repeat! It looks nothing like social distancing. The clustering here was too much and it wasn't funny at all.
I was like, what's this, for the love of God, what are we preventing when buying and wearing masks without even observing the social distancing
Is this what a learning environment should be or look like?
No, it isn't, but this is what we got and we have nothing to do about it
Welcome to my country, where social distance is just a fairy tale.
And the educational/academic sector has made it very inconvenient for students to learn peacefully.



But do we have any right to complain? Of course NO, who born you? Like them born you well to complain? (Sorry for the use of pidgin for those who might not get a grip of what I mean :)...)
All the same, we keep striving and someday we will tell the story.

Still your baby girl ;)


To my faithful readers and wonderful sponsors, my heart goes out to you guys. Thank you for making my journey here a fun-filled and exciting one. Thanks for trusting and supporting my work too. I pray that God bless you all real good :)


10 August 2021

PS: Photos are mine except stated otherwise

16
$ 7.12
$ 6.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 10
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

I am surprised looking at your lab photo with all those students packed in it! It is good that you are back to face-to-face classes as opposed to the online class. But that is quite disturbing indeed. So just be careful and do the basics my princess, masks, disinfectants, making your system healthy :) Keep safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Yes! Yes! I will do all those queen mother.😊 And I will be careful as well. I trust you are doing good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good! I am very well, thank you my princess❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good news🙃😊 be fine always queen mother😚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of people are not taking the social distancing serious because they have been used to the life covid has presented us with. I still suggest a careful examination of this and seeing how crowded that place is, I can only tell you to be safe out there, Zelly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, many aren't really taking this social distance of a thing seriously. Thanks ola, I will try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries dear. Please be good. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure I will😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take care, Zelly. You need it always since you are with great number of people. Stay safe always and have fun in school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I do Nov. I will stay safe dear. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the photo at the physics lab is alarming! everyone must be careful.. we really don't know if the person next to you is just asymptomatic ... take care dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite alarming right?😔 We really need to be careful and keep safe. Thank you! I will take care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with ours. Mask and face shield is no longer for protection because people will only use it when they were told to or when there's a police officer that keeps roaming around the town. They use it for protection to the police so that they won't get lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isn't it funny how people use the masks because of policemen and not even the virus itself😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so heartbreaking but just as you said, what can you do?... I put it to you that you have a million and one things to do but the problem is that we gave even become our enemy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, my dear. All I can say is, it is well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our country, we only wear mask when theirs an officer hahaha. The people are more scared with the police than the virus itself. Well, social distancing is a bit visible here but not consistent tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems there is nothing as social distancing again here in my country. I pray everyone stays safe all the same. Funny how people wear their masks for policemen and not because of the virus lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be careful zelly. Others may take safety for granted but as much as you can, take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try Mura. I wouldn't take my safety for granted. Thanks dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really said the real truth. The universities in my country or let me just say all the public places in my country have failed woefully about this covid guidelines. They don't care at all about your health, they just pack student like sardine in a small class to contain over 500 students. Be careful out there and do your part by protecting yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in eh. They just pack students like sardines. Its sad but what a poor educational sector we have here. They don't even care about the students. Not considerate at all. I will try and keep safe. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social distancing is a fairy tale indeed. Lol Nose masks is now part of our uniform and I keep wondering why do we still use it even when we are surrounded with lots of people around us. The nose mask can't even save or protect us again. We are just at our own risks. 😁 But do I still believe it exists even though we still hear cases that people are being tested COVID I just pray nothing of such happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all pray the same prayer princess. Mask had become fashion for us. More like a part of our uniform lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God. The numbers are making me anxious. Please practice safety protocols at least for yourself. That's already a major contribution to the society.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it has a major contribution indeed. The number and crowd is scary right😔😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super. 200 is alarming 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So your back on face to face classes already. Wow! In here it is still online which I don't really prefer. Please do take care and be healthy. Keep safe always especially during times like that wherein you socialize with many people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we are already back on face to face classes. And as much as I can, I will try to keep safe for Johnny😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huh that's alot. You should keep a distance if not then always wear your mask

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could do just that dear. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! 200! that's a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right😀 it's alarming lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! the anxiety it brought me? 200 people stuffed? were y'all vaccinated? Goodness! I'd prefer online classes than this one!

take care bestie! Mask is for tha face!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mask for the face😷😷

I know why you would prefer online classes to this, but then,I tend to enjoy or like offline classes the more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago