We Sow Greens to Reap Golds

4 18
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Farming, Philippines

Green and gold forever, o'er plains and mountain sides. Green and gold forever, your colors far and wide. - an exerpt from the Mountain Province hymn

Day 1

Day2

Day3

Day 4-7

________________________

Rice cultivation, aside from other crops had always been part of our life. It includes some rituals performed by the barangay elders before rice seedling beds are made for the seedlings to grow in. There's also a ritual after the planting of rice which is called the "inana"- from our dialect it means "to rest," then the "umapoy" comes after. The main goal of the rituals is to please and ask the gods to keep away crawlers of the land from the planted and growing rice. That at the end the crops would yield a bounty harvest.

_______________________

After the plowing of the fields comes the planting of the rice seedlings. Ours was a different variety from the lowlands. We plant it per one.

On my fourth day of going to the fields I can still feel my body aching from fatigue. Me and my mother were the only ones who had gone to sow the gathered seedlings. At sun down we weren't able to finish the bigger one. On my calculation when seedlings were readily gathered, 3 persons are required to get it done at least. But when seedlings are to be gathered yet, then perhaps 5 persons will do.

The following day, I had to collect the readily gathered rice seedlings from the seed bed. Thankfully my parents came to pick my sister at the other sitio then came to where we're waiting for them along the roadside. I am much thankful because Xzeon's older children were available that time because I can't carry a sackful of the seedlings. My sister and mother can't carry heavy loads due to their C-section operation when they gave birth years ago. Xzeon's boys carried it from the seedbed to the road then they have to come with us to carry it again to where my father will drop us to the rice fields.

So on that 2nd day of planting, we were three. We get to finish the first and started on the next one. Sad thing, we weren't able to get it done. The worse thing was there were no longer available rice seedlings in the seedling bed. So I had to look for others excess.

I was able to look for excess seedlings and on the 6th day, me and my sister went to gather it. I can feel I am already tired to the bones and my sister told me to just look after the kids but I insisted to go. I can't stand the thought of the work not done yet and I am having a rest day.

Seventh day, we came to the fields with rice seedlings on the side. I have learned that my husband's cousins brought them. Even if it were a different variety, we sowed it because they're much healthier than the one we brought over.

At 1pm,it started drizzling that we had to hurry to avoid getting wet. However, the rain poured more as we are about to get it done. Rain or shine we still went on. And by the time we're done, we are already soaked in rain water. We tried to get up the road but the 15 minute walk was a long time. We were drenched by the time we reached the waiting shed where we waited for a ride home. Some minutes of waiting and we were able to ferry a pick-up truck.

It was a tough day. As I got home to a very unwelcoming scene..

Like any farmer, may it be rice products or vegetables and fruits I hope and pray the heavens for a good harvest.

Thank you...

4
$ 0.29
$ 0.10 from @Yen
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Farming, Philippines

Comments

Grabi, sobrang busy mo. Parang ang hirap 😱

$ 0.00
3 years ago

D na ngayon, tapos na sa part na hn ng bundok.sunod n namn dto sa mismong barangay. Mas malapit lng at d na kelangang umakyat sa mga bundok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being a farmer is not really easy but when you see how beautiful your crops and harvest them, the feeling is very great. My father is a farmer and seeing how happy he is when harvesting his crops makes me happy too :)

$ 0.03
3 years ago

True sis.. ang sarap sa pakiramdam

$ 0.00
3 years ago