A Poor Farmer's Life; She Lost Her Way

6 24
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Life, Experience, Series, Blog, ...

It is the peak of farming season here in our village. Everyone is busy with his own piece of land to plow and plant. During this time, you can't find anyone to chit-chat with. Well, except for those who are unable work on the fields e.g the pregnant and those with babies, the oldies and children and those unhealthy and fit.

Today I insisted to go to the field to have a glimpse. However my husband forbid me to because there's no one to look after the kids. Well, I insisted still because he didn't go to work nor had any plan to go to the field due to his hangover. I hate staying at home when his around when I know there are lots of work that needed to be done.

Before I left we had a little argument but I still packed my baon and water bottle, took some working clothes and 2 pairs of socks and 2 hat which I used on doubles. I wore my socks and boots and strode away.

The clock on my cellphone said 10am when I left.. At this time of day the sun is up high and very very hot. I had to climb the stairways up to to the road. It had taken me 16 minutes.

From the road, climb another stairways up the mountain. A young lady was behind me, and I was glad that I have a companion on the way. But she walks fast thus, I let her go first. It took me another 18 minutes to reach the top.

I was chasing my breath when I got to the shade. I felt like going back but only a person out of his mind would do so.

After climbing up then climb down the mountain. The path was very bad because it was not a concrete one. You need to be alert else you will trip at your own foot and stumble down down down.

5 years since I last passed this pathway. It was not also what I'm used to go to. The field we have when we were kids had a different path that's why I'm not familiar on this side of the mountain. I used to take a jeepney ride whenever I go to my husbands piece of rice paddy, that's the short cut way and that was 2 years ago. And since the time was already nearly midday that it's impossible to ferry a jeep.

Ahh the scent of pinewoods were refreshing. The soft breeze brushing through my face and those pine needles and pinecones under the trees seems like enchanting.. Ahhh, it feels felicitous.

If only I could go back to being a child and enjoy the pleasure the mountains offer.

But wait have I been pampering myself to much from nostalgia? Why am I going down this steep slope and not the smoothly declining path? Too late, I was nearly halfway down another path which leads to a different direction. I can't fathom the heat and the way up to where the paths separated.

No choice but to continue the already taken road. No worries, I told myself, I've been here once when someone asked me to help them in their planting. We took the rice seedlings from here to their rice paddy on the same location am going.

I wasn't able to take photos already while walking down this rugged lane, I wanted to reach my destination the fastest. Additionally, this was a long cut path. I need to waste no time taking pictures.

When I reached the river, I crossed the bridge to be able to follow the irrigation that will lead me. I checked the time and it was already a minute passed 11am.

Crossed the water to the irrigation. Some water got inside my boots. I didn't care anymore. Follow the irrigation, that's what matters. But wait it seems this was unfamiliar..

Walked, trudged, walked.. Hey, this is not really the way. I reached a rock protruding a little that a fat man couldn't possibly go through but I still moved on. Then another rock was the same until I came to a not so cleared path which really looked dangerous. My heart was pounding from the cage. So I just went back. I had to walked sideways along the protruding rocks and I nearly fell to the river below because I walked at ease earlier than I should have.

Finally I came to another bridge and a better concrete path unlike the first I have passed through. Hayy this was it. Another irrigation down which I crossed the river again and follow the irrigation.. This was the real water source of the plantation I am to go.

However, it's not merely following the irrigation because I also need to look for the right path.

At last!! I am here.

I felt really really disgusted when I saw the situation. The "baneng," the "pidjo," the "tavan" was not cleared. Cut grasses were just put in pile at the "baneng."

Holy molly!! Last Sunday, I insisted that I should be the one to come and burn the cut grasses but my hubs said no. I was expecting to see a well burned grasses and weeds but it was the contrary.

My husband's nephew already put the water to make it softer to plow and get it ready for tomorrow. Thus, it is not good to work and clean the pidjo. Wild sunflower weeds were not even cut that made it all the more annoying.

Time checked: 11:35 am. So it took me 30 minutes upon arriving at the river to finding my way here. I took off my boots and socks because they were badly soaked and let it dry under the sun. Even my pants was but I didn't brought extra to change into so I had to endure the cold cloth in my feet.

I asked my husband's nephews if they were to plow now because if they do then better stop it. Because first, I didn't bring food for our lunch and second was the payews' situation. But they answered no, they just put the water to soften the mud for tomorrow.

I immediately brought out my sickle from my bag, wore my long sleeved shirt and my hat and wore my gloves. Then proceeded to work.

With the water already in the paddy that it is not very convenient to clean the area. But I need to go on.

I felt hungry and checked the time. It said 12:58 pm. I went to a shady part and ate my lunch..

I wore my boots only after eating without socks because it's dried inside already. I continued my working and drinking from time to time. I only had a 1-liter water bottle and it wasn't enough to quench my thirst. I had to drink it little by little to last the whole afternoon.

I have noticed that people were already leaving, so I checked my time. It was 4:45 and there was still a little space uncleaned.. Worked at it then prepared to go home after.

There are still lots of work to be done but at least the walls were now cleared. Continue cleaning the upper parts tomorrow (today)

I was thinking whether to take the route in the mountain or the short cut way which is a 15 minute walk up the road and wait for jeep ride. I chose the latter.. I might not be able to find the route up the mountain, I thought if I will take the former.

Thankfully I have companions to walk the road up when I got to the river. They were women washing mud from their hands and feet after rice planting.

Not long, we were able to ride when we got to the road.

Tomorrow I will look for the supposedly path I should have taken. Why I was not able to notice the parting ways.

Ps. I have written this last night and I wasn't able to publish it on time. I slept from tiredness unnoticed.

7
$ 1.67
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 1
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Diary, Life, Experience, Series, Blog, ...

Comments

Ang ganda ng place ;;-;; and i really love how you right now, swear!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang ganda nga jan sa inyo. Pag anjan ata ako sa inyo papayat ako ng bongga kasi naeeexercise sa pag taas baba.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lalaki ang binti mo day... magiging muscle man jajaja..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay maigi nga yun, payat payat ng binti ko ee ahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Taga san ka ulit sis? Ganda ng buhay probinsya .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mountain Province sis.. enjoy nga ang buhay probinsxa,, super torture nga lng ang katawan pag planting season na

$ 0.00
3 years ago