Urticaria and Fever

5 37
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

What is urticaria,anyway? We call it "kabkavo" in our dialect."Suput-supot" in Ilocano or tagalog language.

It was called hives or angioedema medically which is a flat,raised bumps on the skin's surface usually pale or dark red.It is either small. But due to itchiness which makes one to scratch it, it becomes bigger in size forming welts which interconnects with each other and is called plaques. It appears anywhere or all over the body.

https://www.istockphoto.com/photo/urticaria-gm507963996-84980999

It is either mainly caused by allergens, certain drugs,and viral or bacterial infections.

Allergies may be from dust, mites,certain foods(fish,nuts,milk,poultry), pollen, and furs from dogs or cats. Some situations also trigger this reaction such as change in temperature to either hot or cold and sweating.

iimage credits to pixabay

Urticaria was categorized as acute and chronic. Wherein acute is defined when it clears out within six weeks while in chronic symptoms persist more than six weeks.

Hives actually clears out within 24 hours while angioedema's symptoms can last up to three days without any medications but for itch, antihistamine was commonly taken. Calamine lotion helps in easing the itch also.

Some herbal baths such as boiled and cooled guava leaves is also applicable. Don't try to take hot or warm baths as it would worsen itching. but cool, comfortable baths help sooth the itch.

If symptoms other than itching, burning and slight pain when scratched appear such as difficulty breathing, weakness,fever don't hesitate to go or bring your child to the hospital.

It affects anyone of all ages but mostly children, teen agers and young adults. Which I experienced it while I was on my fourth year in highschool at the lowlands, it was all over my body which lasted for 3days. The second was some a couple of years ago which lasted for three months. It was triggered when the temperature drops at dawn and when it rises during the day. Any folds on my shirt's sleeves and sweat would trigger it that I had to change clothes often. Body fitting clothings is also one.

Yesterday, I adamantly had to bring my daughter to the hospital for a check-up.She was having those angioedema for two days already accompanied by fever which ranges from 37.4 to 39° celcius. I was a not a little bit convinced that it was caused by allergy from the kittens furs her cousins have. And she did not play with cats or kittens because she's afraid of them. Neither, did she acquire allergy when eating fried chicken or squash to which her uncle prepared for dinner wherein the onset of hives appeared.

She is really afraid of cats since she is a baby, even a picture of it makes her fled the room. And last Saturday, due to a cat her playmates are playing caused her to fall hitting her forehead. It makes a real big goose egg. She came home alone crying and showing me the big, soft bump.I immediately grab some ice on the fridge,wrapped it with cloth and place on her forehead. I talked to her while on carrying my lap. I was a little bit relieved when she remembered what happened and she said she haven't thrown up. I observed her for 24-48 hours and nothing's out of the ordinary.

Why I added it to the topic above? It's because I was suspecting maybe it's one part causing her fever. Unlike her older brother who was prone to food allergies when he was still a baby to toddler, he never did have urticaria accompanied with fever.While she never have any issues with foods that would be causing her condition.

Her fever alarmed me, so I told everything to the doctor at the hospital including her fall that I am suspecting a concussion .

I told her,my daughter was eating and peeing normally which the doctor was suspecting either a U.T.I or tonsillitis.

However, the doctor required for a frontal X-ray, and a complete blood count.

my girl on that X-ray table

The X-ray result was negative of fracture which am thankful of. While her laboratory test result shows a little inclination in WBC, so it means she has an internal infection. But when I brought the results to the doctor, she said all was well and maybe its just some allergy which is causing her fever. I was just like, what? With a fever so high and it's just some allergy? So normally, like any allergy drugs she only prescribed antihistamine.

X-ray result
CBC result

I was not satisfied as am really worried. I checked the time and it was already 4pm, because am planning to bring her to a private clinic but its already late and unluckily it was raining. 5pm was the last the trip for jeepneys going our village so its impossible to go to a private clinic.

If there's anyone there,a pediatrician maybe or a nurse or anyone who is suspecting anything from this lab result?

As of this writing (3:03am) her fever, subsides as I have given her paracetamol at 12:05am.

z_graeden

4
$ 0.60
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

Are you planning to take her to private physicians?. Its better to have a second option, maybe theres something really wrong.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried to light her throat and there are white spots which indicate tonsillitis. I compared her lab test with her brother's on January and there was only a little difference on the WBC level and neutrophil count yet her brother was treated with antibiotics. .need to have her check up again tomorrow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Something's not right. Yes sis better take her to another doctor tomorrow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pagaling ka baby, hirap magkasakit ngayon mam. Dito sa amin punuan na halos mga hospital. Good morning po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

tnx,good morning din po mam.. as much as possible ayaw nating pumupunta sa ospital dhil sa pandemya, pero d ntin maiiwasan lalo na pag may mga bata

$ 0.00
3 years ago