The Inevitable

6 57
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite, Natural

2 days countdown to New Year as of writing December 30, 5:50 pm.

I ran to town for some errands. I left the baby with my mother but I took my 5 year old girl with me. Upon arriving, I have noticed the people around. It was just like the prepandemic except that most are wearing masks while others don't. Even some store owners I passed by are bare faced - no facemask while they attend to their customers. "This is the advantage of being vaccinated, less or no worries at all while in the middle of interacting with different people physically, I thought."

Because it is a holiday here in the Philippines that you can see people all walks of life coming to and fro. Mostly are shopping in preparation for the upcoming and welcoming the new year. I can say that the town market that I have too hold my girl's hand while walking.

Grocery stores aren't an exemption. They're jammed. You can't see a shop close or with no customer in. Gift givings is extended until new year and that explains it.


This article, however, isn't about it. I was left thinking about death. It isn't a timely topic in this time of the year but I can't just help thinking about it. Everyone was busy, happy and excited this Yuletide season. One reason is the homecoming, reunion and gatherings of families to celebrate and be with their love ones. But what about if the reason is the death of a family member?

When my father came to pick us up on 23rd of December, he just came from one of his cousin's wake. It was a single old lady who died from her longtime disease. Since then, news of someone who died kept coming.

A 39 year old lady, a church member of my parents just passed away yesterday leaving her husband and 4 children. The youngest is a 14 months old baby. She had been suffering from asthma since she's young, she also had heart problem. She was hospitalised before Christmas arrived. She was transferred to a regional hospital on the next town then eventually transferred to a higher hospital in the city. But then, she was not spared from the claws of death when her lungs was said to have enlarged.

While browsing Facebook, I have seen my youngest brother's batchmate posted on his story a picture of the hospital's emergency room. Later learned that the one they brought to the ER died and was dead on arrival at the hospital. I asked my brother if he knew about the guy and he said he saw him in one of the youth camps held in church in our place and was a drummer like him.

They were having a concert in our place which he was playing the drum. He felt uneasiness while they were performing. Cold sweats begun to swell out that after performing he went to wash his face. There and then, he collapsed causing everyone especially the youths to be disorganized and the concert stopped. He was immediately brought to the hospital, unfortunately, the news shattered everyone.

A healthy young man, barely 20 was just picked by the Saviour.

Same day, my parents (who were with their church mates who met and brought their member's remains on the next town) received a phone call from one of my cousins. A phone call saying that one of my mother's relative died. It was a man, my father's batchmate. He had already been ill for some time. His diseases were complicated that knocked him.

A single old man or a bachelor was gone missing on the death anniversary of his brother. It caused the villagers on that same day to conduct a search operation. He was finally found on the ninth day in his hut in the fields which was previously searched by the people but he wasn't there. He died in an unfavorable state.

A middle-aged woman was also dead with reason I don't know because I don't know anyone acquainted with her.


While typing this, I was looking at my parents especially my dad who is having different kids of pain. A couple of days ago I urged him to go for a check-up at the regional hospital which they did. His ultrasound and other laboratory tests came out good. Now, I suggest they go to the city when for a general check-up.

My dad was taking different kinds of medicine; for his hypertension, diabetes- which we never expected because no one from his elders had it when they were alive. Painful head which my mother kept massaging, painful lower extremities when his arthritis attacks. His fingers and arms numb anytime especially when he's working to craft some furniture and while driving. And now, a pain at his left lower quadrant which the ultrasound wasn't able to detect.

I can't imagine how much pain when losing someone especially a family. Parents are our ultimate savior in times we are in need.

I was thinking about me while I was looking at my kids. I am 30 and blessed with 4 kids to nurture while looking at the things happening around that I can't help to think about such. Questions and what ifs begun to cram my head. If possible, I would like to live and watch my children grow, see them achieve their goals and dreams, and are happy with their life before I depart the world.

Death is inevitable. Young or old, healthy or ill can't escape when it snatch one from his precious life. Life is short and was even made shorter by man's lifestyle.


And so as we turn to the next page for a new chapter and welcome a new year, we should, if we could take off grudges from our hearts, be more patient, spread love, be more kinder to others and most especially to self. After all, life is short.

12-31-21

Z_Graeden

11
$ 19.32
$ 18.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite, Natural

Comments

My brother's wife's dad passed away yesterday. Not a good welcome for this new year. Unfortunately, they can't come home because of our COVID situation. Indeed, death will come anytime. One cannot be prepared well enough for such event. Praying for those who have lost their loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's something that we can't escape talaga madam. I'm not afraid to die, I'm more afraid of witnessing my loved ones' death. Nakaka panlumo yan. I can't imagine 💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sorry to hear about these deaths.. indeed 1/1 dies ... its inevitable.. that's why it is important that these people knows the gospel...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, anytime pwede taung mawala sa mundong ibabaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa naman yung baby na naiwan 😢. Hndi tlgA natn malalaman kelan ang end. Hayst.. The saddest part of living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, ung khit man lng sna maabot ang 70 ay okay na. Seeing kids lose their parents at a young age is intolerable

$ 0.00
2 years ago