I Am Not Free but Caged

21 45
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

I don't know how to start with this. After reading three articles regarding freedom, I suddenly don't know how to define it. I was even mentioned by a lady called Jane, a lady with outstanding beauty within and an outbursting gorgeous, strong facial features. Complete package, one can tell. But with her article wherein she spilled the beans of her past, a very unpleasant one that you can't tell a lady like her had been tormented by memories she wanted to bury in oblivion. Yet she managed to divert that positively and been writing articles of inspiration which is very hard to do so when you're one who had come from that kind of child abuse.

Another one is from Yen, who, despite of her bad past, a wordly woman found her freedom thru the help of her husband. She was able to free herself from her past by finding peace in Christ still with the help and loving support of her husband.

Jullyann on the other hand, is blessed with parents who let her see the world beautifully. Thus, grew up without suffering any emotional and psychological distress.

Happy childhood

We were like birds hopping from branch to branch chirping and singing sweet melodies. We played gleefully at the hills and roll ourselves down. Yeah, no restrictions as I have mentioned in one of my articles. However, as I am growing up I have noticed that I don't want to be with people anymore. I might as well stay indoors and read books. I have no confidence to talk and speak my mind. I was like a snail that would curl and withrew to its shell in the face of danger.

Iron fisted father on teenage

As I was typing this, I was trying to bring back memories that could have contributed to my character. We were raised not to answer back our parents and defend ourselves, or was it me only?

During my highschool days, I eventually became outgoing though I was bullied. I wanted to join sports and other extracurricular activities. I even wanted to join the Tai Chi club, the volleyball team because I was good in playing it during elementary. I wanted to join campings and explore more of my skills. But my father was a tyrant. Dismissal is dismissal, we were not allowed to go home 15 minutes late. I even cried to my mother why are we not given freedom. Our father was a very hardworking man, and very strict in time. For him every minute counts and should not be wasted. A minute late and we hear words that we went for lakwatsa, that he saw us playing with boys which weren't all true. Everyone of us should work in the shop because he said we were already big enough to help. Yes, they were earning big sum of money with their business. But gives us less than 20php for our "baon" because they said our eldest sister who was already in college needs money more than we do. The good thing was I gained confidence behind those bullying and grades were doing good.

Second year highscool, I became rebellious. I skipped class, took 100pesos from my dad's pocket everytime I got the chance. I absent and go with bad peers who smoked and drink Gilbeys gin with extra joss. And my grades declined. My reason when my mom asked, I was not able to join extracurriculars. I think this was the time I became suicidal because I could feel the very hard gripped of my father by my neck that I couldn't move, couldn't even breath. It means no freedom at all. But then I realized that my grades couldn't make it if I will continue with what I was doing, and I don't want to be left behind. So my peers and I stopped skipping classes. Being suicidal, I always make fun of my other classmates I could pinch in. I can be a clown and laugh hard at the slightest of jokes. But when class is over, anxiety is taking over as I walk the 2 minute walk outside school campus to our shop.

Third year, I didn't want to enter school and I insisted on going to the school at our village not in town. I wanted independence badly. They allowed me after unacceptable words from my father. There I came to know about this boy who showed interest in me, older than me by three years but our classmate. We hang out together with our classmates and he even was sleeping at our house because I was all alone. But hey, I was not that stupid. We co-slept and nothing more. I was doing fine in school but one night this stupid guy brought over an alcohol and he was drinking, I was doing our homeworks when all of a sudden my parents were knocking at the door. Because, I was terrified I let him jumped over the window before I opened the door. I was met by a blow in my face.. There and then my reputation was ruined or should I say ours.? I bravely faced my father and told him we weren't doing anything wrong. They can have me checked by a physician. It's them who ruined me all the more. They transferred me back at the school in time where my wants to end my life was more tempting. The school and my classmates learned what happened and they look at me with disgust.

A momster

Because I was being mocked behind my back and my father's words were too degrading that I was able to find peace at the Reserve Corp in college. My mother on the other hand kept advising me and uplifting me because same in highschool, there was a tight grip in my neck. I even told them that I could bring them in school and watched my every move or I rather stop school because I was fed up.

Then I gave up, though I don't feel the butterflies fluttering in my stomach anymore when I see the guy who's interested in me. Nor do I feel my heart skipped when I recognized him I still gave my all, everything nothing left because I thought I am getting attention from someone. I was ruled by my emotions and refused the dictate of my mind. Until such time I missed my period and it was during our community immersion that we needed to undergo pregnancy test. My world turned upside down. I no longer attended class for two weeks and accumulated money from sideline job which my parents thought I was going to school. I used it to run away from home to the city where the guy was. (We lived-in, and I refused to see accept the red flags. All I was thinking was there'll come a tim3 for him to change, but I was wrong.)

It turned out it's not a fetus I was carrying but a hydatidiform-mole.

Years passed and I had my eldest. I pampered him and showered him all the love. But as he was growing up, and started grade school I noticed I was like my father. I am strict to the point I spanked and whipped him. I wanted him to obey simple rules, just like come home from play when its already getting dark, don't stay too long under the sun or in the river, and to come home during lunch. The condition got worst during the pandemic which required them to have modules that he grew tired of it and don't come home and sleep with his cousins.

One more thing that adds to my very bad treatment towards my kids was the lack of compassion from my husband. He also lacks ambition that he doesn't mind if our house wiggled with every step or move one makes. It was too tiny that its not enough for a growing family. He spent more on his bad vices rather than saving it and buy materials for house renovations. To think that he is earning 600-700, sometimes 800php per day and we can't pay our bills on due, no savings account and most of the time no delish foods on the table. Not only money but time, he spent most of his time with his peers and comes home not earlier than 10pm to 2:00 am and expects no armalite-like mouth. He wanted to leave him be. I was stressed every day that leads me to keep yelling at my kids. The worst I don't like about myself was I regret it afterwards and would end up crying after hurting my kids. I am not justifying my acts because my husband's treatment was the triggering agent.

This was not the life I wanted. No matter how strict my parents were and seems to strangle us, they raised us with an optimistic view of thing, to be productive in every way we can. But now, I was full of negativities. I am not free. I am caged in my own self, full of insecurities. I don't know how to express it but I feel that I can't fly because everytime I try to expand my wings I only feel hurt. Because I was told by my husband that we weren't rich so stop being illusional. I told him I'm being realistic and rational. No change is coming if you don't change your ways and start from baby steps. Maybe he was also raised to just see the day ends without any progress or do anything to change his life status. It was enough for him that we eat 3 times a day, no more no less.

I don't even want to bear any more children because I don't want another child to suffer the kind of life this family has.

I can only be free if I am able to let go and change my whole being into a new me. I am trying hard as I might to be a new version of me. For now, I was struggling to fight my own self from being the abusive me everytime a trigerring agent is present because I don't want my kids to grow into bad citizens.

I was just too thankful because I found this platform where we are not only merely earning. I am learning from articles that made me open up my eyes and see the beauty in adversity. To be myself and be inspired though I was not able to inspire others because most of my articles were all rants of my personal life. And am not proud of it. I am processing things that will make me grow. Actually I have a draft that goes, "readcash, the gateway to let go of my old self". But, then the article about freedom came and I just put it all together.

P.s

My father was a selfless granddad to his grandchildren. He gives everything he could most especially to my eldest who was always admitted at the hospital. He does to my children what my husband can't. He always have my kids with him wherever he goes whenever we go in town where they are residing. Before the pandemic, my eldest would cry if he sneaks out of the house and the child heard his car leaving.

I can say I am healing from my teenage years but me today is something I need to conquer.

Wrote this on the 29th of May. Up until this time I am reluctant to post it. But then I think it is another step of letting go of the the past and conquering the present.

06-03-21

z_graeden

15
$ 13.60
$ 12.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Yen
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

Comments

Someday, somehow... You will be free sis. You'll see. It may take more time but I know you are strong enough. Yang mga bata ang magpapalakas sayo.

Sencia na. Ngayon lang ulit active. Hanggang noise noise muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inactive din for 2 days jiji.. kht sa noise d mkaconnect..

Tenchu much...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate ako sobra sa upbringing ng tatay mo, sa akin both of them. Nkakalungkot lang ang epekto nito sa atin, actually I have bits and pieces of my story sa latest article ko about motivation. Anyway, Im so proud of us conquering thoses caged moments in our childhood and hopefully our pursuits too now as adults.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully as we age, we'll be able to conquer those remaining hints of yesterday's bad experiences

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were raised not to answer back our parents and defend ourselves, or was it me only? di ka nag iisa madam that's why grabe din ako magkimkim ng sama ng loob though di naman ako umabot sa pagrerebelde. But it made me weak and insecured , not confident at madami pa. Buti na lang habang tumatanda ako unti unti ko naman na oovercome yung mga yun tho meron pa din talaga. It takes more time para humilom at maging better yung sarili after some not so good experiences din nung bata ako

Medyo late na comment ko kasi di ko masyado active. hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ok nman nung bata pa ksi carefree. But then ung skul-bahay lng with no other extracurriculars to explore and discover more what you can do as a teenager is worst. 5 minutes b4 the time bgo umalis ng bahay. One part of me is confident, active, extroverted but the other is complete opposite..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad,pero you can move on if you want,ikaw po makakapagdecide kung pano ka magiging happy sa buhay mo,bakit ks magtitiis kung pwede naman na hindi,i mean,kung di mo na kaya ginagawa ni hubby mo,get him out of your life,maiintindihan naman ng mga anak baki mo gagawin yun,explain to them and about your father kausapin mo siya,heart to heart talk kayo am sure maaayos nyo yan,hoping & praying n maging ok kayo ๐Ÿ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I told that myself... but unfortunately its easier said than done. ๐Ÿ™‚As for my dad, we're in good terms. As I have said npakaselfless nya when it comes to his grandchildren. Pti din sa amin, qng ano kaya nyang ibigay, binibigay nya prang bumabawi sa pagkukulang nya noon..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Much better๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala madam. Yan pla experience mo.. Yung iron fist father naman ganay dn ginawa samin. Yung tipong hndi ako makalabas with friends kpg anjan sya.. At lage sa bahay ang uwi tulong ka mama. Wala dn akong freedom nun. Pro nakaya ko na hndi mag rebelde cguro dhl takot lng ako sa magagawa ni papa.

Pro madam, yung nkabuntis syo, yun na naging husband mo? Panu natanggap ng parents mo na nabuntis kna tlga?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dhil na din siguro sa peer pressure pero takot p din nman aq mabagsak kya d q tinuloy tuloy ung pagbabarkada.

Yep xa husbnd q now.. well they were devastated ksi naglayas aq. But then after q maraspa from that h-mole, they tried to talk me out to come back home and continue my studies khit daw bayaran p nila ung laboratory fee q na 13k sa skul just for me to continue my studies pro apaka stubborn q. All I was thinking those time is ung sasabihin ng tao kya pinanindigan q n lng ung paglayas q noon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan dn minsan mad iniisip ko kpg gagawa ng desisyon.. Yung iisipin ng ibang tao.. Pro mas importante pla yung tamang gagawin kesa sa iisipin ng iba.. Pro at least, you have your kids now. Gawin mo nlng silang inspiration mo sa life. Cguro iniisip mo minsan na kung hndi ka lng nabuntis ng maaga, mganda sn life mo now . Tama b? You are smart and strong. You could have a better life. Pro everything naman may rason.. Pray ka nlng na sana magbago asawa mo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo may pagka pareho tayo, naiiyak din ako minsan kase nasasaktan ko lagi anak ko Pag di sumusunod kase ganon ako nung bata din ako lagi ako bugbug sarado sa mama ko. I tried my best na di maging ganon pero sometimes ang hirap pigilan..

Kung ano man tayo ngayon talagang reflection yun kung pano tayo pinalaki nang parents natin, although nasa atin na pano e conquer yun.. pero ang hirap nga.

Ako nmn, bless nmn ako sa partner ko. Just like @Yen parang heroic sya sakin kasi sya din naka tulong pano ma overcome lahat.. dahil naging rebelde din ako.

I am just sad at the part na yung asawa mo parang walang pangarap at lagi nasa bisyo. I hope in the long run magbago sya at marealize nya before it's too late. Hugs for you.. keep praying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un nga sis.. un ang more na nkkdagdag sa stress which sometimes lead to a severe ppd pagkatapos manganak.. payting lng tau,,tnx

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Umiiyak talaga ko Z habang binabasa ko , ramdam na ramdam ko yung bigat na nararamdaman mo. Ang hirap ipaliwanag nung salita malaya kung Hindi mo naman talaga nararanasan. Lagi ko padin naiisip yung article mo na dati na she's tired. Virtual hug Kita ah ๐Ÿ˜ญ Kaya mo Yan. I am praying na sana maging okay yung buhay mo at maramdaman mong Malaya ka.

Ramdam ko din Yung minsan nabubunton mo sa Bata Yung nararamdaman mo pero later mo na marerealize na bakit Ganon ginawa mo.

I also feel the same way na para Kong nakakulong pero Alam ko matatapos din Naman to. Tiwala Lang saka pray ๐Ÿ‘†

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Fight lng sis... khit malayo pa ang umaga, ang dilim magtatapos din๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the entire article.. indeed totoo talaga n kung anong ipaplant sa atin un din ang magiging bunga...i do hope that in God's time, you'll be reconciled with your father.yun kasi ung root... nothing is impossible... your kids deserve a good life...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're in good terms nman na and it's true un ung main root and I do hope mavoice out q din sa knila mismo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's good to know sis... aja fighting sa life! are you due na soon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi madam, dami din palang ganap sa iyo noon. Pero ganyan na ganyan di mommy ko sakin, pero di naman matigas ang ulo ko, hindi dumatinf sa point na nag rebelde ako. Siguro kasi after kong iiyak lahat at ilabas ang galit ko sa kanya, huhuoa na din ung mga negatibong pakiramdam na namumuo sa dibdib ko. Saka ayaw kong nag sisi sa huli dahil naging suwail akong anak.

Naisip ko din nga noong magpakamatay kaso diko pala kaya, kaya ayon iyak, suntukin ang pwdng masusuntok para mailabas ang sama ng loob, tapos I'll be okay na later. Aigoo. Tapos kana sa ala ala ng kahapon mo, kaso may panibago ulit. Bat hindi mo pa sya iwanan? Feeling ko mas sasaya ka kahit wala na yant asawa mo. Nga ganyang lalaki kasi hindi na dapat tinatyagaan, wala ng pag asang magbago yan lalo na ganyan ata sya pinalaki.

Basta Fightuuuu madam, nasa sa iyo pa rin naman if gusto mong makaalis jan sa kinalalagyan mo ngayon na wari ko'y malala pa sa hell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Payting lng parotchi.. someday...oneday๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago