Am-among 2022

7 38
Avatar for z_graeden
1 year ago

Garbed in their traditional colorful native attire, men in their "bahag" and women in their tapis, they danced like the birds as they marched to the sounds of the gongs while presenting their traditions and cultures. The men has with them their gongs, their spears and bolos glistening at their waist as it comes across the rays of the sun. The older men masculinely show off their tattoed bodies, their headdresses colorful and on their necks hang their necklaces of fangs of wild boars that portray them courage and bravery during their youths. The women, likewise are gracefully dancing with the beat with their "among" on their heads. Their arms are intricately tattoed that most likely indicate beauty.

Those were the days, the prepandemic times when festivals knew no restrictions. However, the Bontoc villagers and its barangays again come in one to celebrate the 18th Am-among festival. Due to restrictions that activities are lessened and one of them is the presentation of each barangay or zonal area of their cultures and traditions thru street dancing as what I have mentioned above. Nonetheless, it's still a festive, joyous day which shows the resilience of the Igorot people in times of adversities.

Am-among festival is held every 16th day of September in celebration of the Mountain Province's capital town, Bontoc's Founding Anniversary. And this year is it's 114th year.

Elderly men of a village opened the occasion with a prayer to Lumawig- the Bontoc people's god.

"Bontoc @114: Dynamic and Proactive Towards Recovery and Prosperity." This is the year's Am-among theme.

The town mayor's welcome speach
The guest speaker's speach

A civic parade, thanksgiving mass, program, indigenous games, concert, sports festival, and the week-long trade fair are the activities during the said occasion.

Led by the province's congressman and town's mayor, they won the tug of war against the PNP. Tug of war is an indigenous game which is played among children and the elderly. It is mostly enjoyed along the river banks of the Chico river during the olden times.

Pattong- the playing of the gongs.

"Am-among", by the way is a a colloquial word, a native word rather which means "to come together". It is by coming together or "am-among or maam-among" wherein bonds and family ties are strengthened.

During our childhood days, when my paternal grandparents were still alive I could remember that each family brings in whatever they have gathered in their crops and chicken to their parents house. It is a weeklong occasion if I'm not mistaken that's why they share and dine joyously with what they have brought in.

The famous tapey- rice wine is always present.

There was a day within the weeklong family feast where the men go the river to catch fish we call "gadiw". Women cook glutinous rice like "patupat" or what we famously knew as suman.

________________________

Hmmm... It's been a while folks. And I can't help but think how're you all farin'. I've been thru a boatload of dilemma and currently still is that makes my ever chaotic world all the worse. Hope it won't get worst. Anyhow, those challenges we encounter measure the strength and unleashes out our capabilities, abilities and whatever ies there is which is still hidden within.

I've checked out here one time and learned some changes. Some upgrade, I should say in noise. Sadly I wasn't able to try it yet due to my very very slow net connection in my current location. Sometimes, I use wifi but because I lack the budget to provide me a good supply of data for a longer span of time that's why I can only check on my online selling once in a while...

I do have written articles but I don't think it's worth posting due to the fact that it was outdated. Honestly, some were written just after the national election and that was some months ago wherein I was still active in here.

If you have gone this far reading my article, I thank you..

All photos credits to the rightful owner

9-22-22

Z_Graeden

6
$ 10.05
$ 9.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
1 year ago

Comments

I really have to attend this at least once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcum backuuu, namiss ka ni Rusty, UwU. Pero ang saya naman nyang am-among. Now ko lang narinig yan ee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ngayon lang ulit Kita Nakita dito Z hehe. Anyway dami talaga paganyan sa Lugar nyo to. Talagang napreserve Ang culture

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Cute nung thug of war hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi madam! Came here after your comment on my latest article. Yung isa mong sissy, di narin ng post dito no? Kmusta na sya?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Post it still, dear. We will understand. :) Nice to see you again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks jeje... I will try to pag my load wifi, kahirap ng net connection dto sa pinaglipatan namin

$ 0.00
1 year ago