Wean them, they say

1 34
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
10 months ago
Topics: Milk, Food, Nutrition, Blog, Life, ...

How would you feel when somebody thinks you are not doing a great job? Well, they don't really tell that but they don't suggest things when people think you are doing well in what you do, right?


I am a mother of three and even if my oldest child is already 8 years old, I still give her milk.

Milk is essential to our body; its supplements the nutrients we don't usually get in our diet especially when we have limited access to proteins and other important nutrients, even micronutrients too.

Just so you know, we almost always have dried fish, canned corned beef, instant noodles, and other not-so-nutritious but cheap food every day and milk really helped my kids to become healthily balanced.


You may be wondering about the statement above, I wrote it because, in some countries, milk is supplied to people and is even included in their everyday diet. It comes in gallons and is stored in almost every household's fridge. But in the Philippines, especially in my place, children who reach a year old are weaned from it. The parents give them solid food which is also good but children who were raised in the said manner are visibly malnourished and it makes my heart ache.


My husband's nieces and nephews were done the same and that's why my in-laws suggested the same when my eldest daughter turned one and they found out that she is still having milk whenever when feels like it.

I also received the same comment from the plant manager where I work for. He said his Children made an effort to eat the food that they, adults have when he stopped giving them milk and he even said it's a big savings on the budget.

But to the two statements above, my answer is that I will give my children mils as long as I can afford it. I myself still drink milk so I will never refrain my kids from drinking it. It may be expensive but it's worth it. My kids don't get sick often and they are visibility larger than the kids who don't drink milk and obviously, they are healthier.

Then here am I, bringing home two 2 kilograms of milk for my kids! It's cheap milk but it's a huge help for the nutrition of my kids


It does not matter if most of my income goes to buying milk for my kids, I don't have savings too but as long as I see them healthy, it's more than the two mentioned above.

What about you, what are your thoughts on others suggesting to wean your children?

lead image from unsplash

3
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
10 months ago
Topics: Milk, Food, Nutrition, Blog, Life, ...

Comments

Maibigay mo lang ang kailangan ng iyong anak, ibang klaseng saya ang mararamdaman mo bilang ina.

$ 0.00
10 months ago