Sleeping in the cemetery

7 45
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

When is Halloween actually? In October 31st or November 1st? Tell me.

I've never been in a Halloween party nor dressed up to do trick or treat in my community. Have you ever done it? How much candy did you make from trick or treating? I envy you all. LOLS.

We call this season kalag-kalag and what people mostly do in this season is make a rice cakes! We use glutenous rice and cook them and make coconut caramel in a separate pot and mix them. Delicious! And that's the highlight of the season and probably what I had been looking up to tomorrow.

Unsplash

Way back when I was younger, I used to visit my friend's house during this season; our house are near to each other and we often pay a visit to play.

I saw them putting rice cake in a plate and offer them to thier gods and to the loved ones that had passed away. They put them in an altar and lighted candles in ther too for prayers. Aside from that, they bring food and even liqour to the cemetery where the dead loved ones are buried.

We had different beliefs and we do nothing, my father's grandparents are buried in the same cemetery(I only knew about this when my uncle died a few years ago) and we do not do anything. But maybe my father doesn't love them a lot, or maybe he didn't care.


I guess we got this culture for the Spaniards; I don't really know their cultures well but the movie titled Coco shows that they are celebrating the day of the dead where they visit the burial palces of their loved ones too.

During these times, spooky stories are everywhere too. From ghost sitings to ghost experiences from any where; some people even say that some souls of thier loved ones are disturbing them and it would them remind them to pay a visit and offer to light candles.

Televisions and radios and even social medias are following the trend and it makes me scare to look and listen to them. I gat scared a lot especially when I hear stories about it.

But where do you think is the scariest place on earth?

Abandoned house, hospital , Cemetery or church?

They are all probably the same to someone.

For me, teb three is not a big deal. I don't go into places where I don't own so probably I won't be going into abandoned places and cemetery and church is oaky as long as I go there during day time. Right?

For the hospital, maybe I should self medicate before going there so I won't be spending time there.

But my mother in law insisted that the scariest place is the church because all the dead people are brought there before being burried in the cemetery. She can tell because of her experiences and I do not want to hear any.


This might also be a comfort to my husband who is sleeping in the cemetery right now. It was thier team's schedule to report for work today and they had to do it 24 hours.

Tomorrow is the first time that people are allowed to visit the cemetery from the restrictions that the pandemic made and the barangay staffs were asked to be present in two days there.

They were forced to do so because the things they needed were already there and they would prevent anyone from stealing them.

The husband's team mate went to our house to fetch him and I joked that he is having a fever and will not report for duty. But there they went and I hope they are all doing great right now.

I'm excited about his story tomorrow. I guess they are all doing well because they still didn't leave thier post. LOLS!

I would love to hear you halloween stories in the comments section😊

This will be all for now and keep safe!

11
$ 1.02
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
+ 1
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

Comments

We lost our love ones in cold hands of death....the cemetery is one of the most scary place for me... happy new month

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asa rag biko hahah. Diko na bet yung biko habang patanda na ako, hanap ko baso na instead of biko hahah. Anyways nakakatakot talaga yung mga place na sinasabi like cementery simbahan hahah sa gabi parang ma dare ko siya puntahan peru takot to the highest level cguro yung ramdam ko hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't know more about Halloween untill last year's Halloween on this platform (readcash), I read a lot of pattern on how it's done over in your country. We don't celebrate Halloween here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din sis neverpa nakaranas ng trick or treat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

31 October in the States. Trick or treat as kid was a dream come true for sweets. Many times pillow cases full of candy. Often tummy ache the next morning 🤣 I dressed up as many characters such as Ghost, football player, zombies, demon, Spiderman, vampire, and anything popular at the time. As adults we supply the candies once our children have grown. Still can get candy as an adult by dressing your baby or young toddler and taking them around 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly yan yung sinasabi nila but for me yan tatlo yung nakakataok ,sobra kasi akong matakutin 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan din sabi nila sis na ang pinakatatakot daw ay yung church. Mas nakakatakot pa daw kaysa cemetery. Daming tao mamaya sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago