Shoes are supposed to get dirty

10 30
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

Do your shoes get dirty too? Do you clean them often? How often was it?

if you ask me the same questions I do, in fact, it's my own shoes in the picture. it didn't bother me until I saw a co-worker being so conscious about his shoes.

He brought a rag with him to the office and every time he sits down from a walk, he wipes the shoes with the rag. He made this his habit and when I had the chance to visit his boarding house which is also a co-worker's house, I noticed that all of his shoes and sandals were clean (he was a Bisexual by the way).

Whilst mine is like this in the picture above, and sometimes even worse especially when I get to travel through that muddy road with my husband in the morning after a night's rain.

His deeds made me remember my fourth-year high school classmate, Beverly( yup, there was still no 11th to 12th grade in my time). She and her sister are obsessed with cleanliness to the point that she uses her handkerchief to wipe her school shoes clean and the funny thing is that she only folds it upside down to wipe her face with it, haha!

I think they did it because she is a woman and sir Greg is a woman by heart. I am a woman biologically but I really think I am different from them. I am not that hugawan, ( I'm sorry I do not know the English word for that and, I tried to translate it from google but I am not satisfied with its translation) it's just that to me shoes are meant to get soiled and dirty. Would you agree with me?

I wash my shoes once a week but once in two weeks especially when there is no rain and when forget about them while doing the laundry.

Shoes were invented to give comfort in walking, but to this date, shoes have become fashionable and some people even buy shoes that are worth two months of my salary, are you one of them? Shoes prevent your feet to slip and have blisters in walking on a rough and uneven path or get your feet from being burnt from walking on the road. And when it gets rainy, the shoes help your feet from getting muddy.

Imagine if you remove your shoes from your feet to avoid them from getting dirty, then the shoes will lose their purpose, right?


But there are some people who value the shoes more than their feet

I remember so well way back when I was still so little and we live on the farm, we were so far from the civilization (kidding, I'm only exaggerating ) every time it rains, we remove our slippers from our feet so that they will not get damaged for the clingy mud that will attach to them.

Most people living in the mountains do this too and they have gotten used to them.

There was even a famous conversation about a man and a boy(he is going to school) who carried their slippers(they cannot afford to buy shoes at that time ) and walked barefoot in the rain.

why do you carry your shoes when walking in the rain?

then the boy said

My feet can heal if they get hurt but the slippers don't

I wonder if you ever heard this conversation that had become a joke in my place, Probably some people who live in Mindanao heard it already.

The good thing is that thrift stores are found almost everywhere in the country and the people living in the mountains have easy access to them.


What about you, have you experienced preserving your shoes/slippers so they won't wear off easily and walking barefoot too? I'd be happy to hear your story in the comment section

PS

For me, walking barefoot in the mountains are the best experience ever.

Thank you for your time and see you in my next article. Keep safe

6
$ 0.64
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

Comments

I have "dress shoes" and "home" shoes. I just wash my home shoes with water, not often because they are working shoes, and it doesn't even make sense to wash them often. But the dress shoes I clean every time, even after a walk.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's good to know. Aren't there muddy place where you pass by? If not I'm glad you don't have to

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is of course, dear😊 My way to the stores and to my former work is along the river, and if after the rain there is such mud😱 But I know that I go where there are many people and I need to look neat, in this case I take a change of shoes. I clean my dress shoes not only because they look dirty, but because after that (especially in summer) feet sweat and shoes get an unpleasant smell.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, that's why you don't have to care. I agree about the unpleasant smell. Nut here in the Philippines it feels like summer all year long except for the times when its rains, in fact, the rainy season still has sun and it can make the feet sweat. That's why I have to wash them to get rid of the smell. I only buy new shoes from the thrift when the shoes are really damaged that they cannot be fixed. Well except if hand-me-down shoes are handed to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I rarely clean my shoes maybe once ko lang siya hugasan every 3-5 months...mOstly kase color black lahat ng shoes na binibigay sakin kaya I dont worry na kung madumi ba ang itsura ng sapatos HAHA since invisible naman yung dumi dahil sa kulay ng sapatos 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko yan lods kaso kahit Black visible yung puitk dun sa shoes eh. May black shoes akong nasira na dahil kaka suot. Tapos bumili ako sa ukayukay, yun, orange naman, naengganyo kasi ako sa presyo, 50 pesos per pair lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't usually clean my shoes. Haha. All I care is I can still wear it and there's no opening from the front.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do din yata maputik dyan sa inyo at sa dinaaanan Mo palagi dong. Sakin kasi yung nga tumatalsik na putik from gulong ng motor while tumatakbo ito

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so weird to see someone who values shoes more than his or her feet. I value my feet more than shoes and I also prefer walking on the mountain with my feet instead of shoe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was long ago my friend, I too even experienced it. During those times, slippers and shoes seems to be so expensive and one needs to travel to the city to buy it.

Life in the mountains is hard at those times but it all changesld somehow

$ 0.00
1 year ago