When is the right time to forgive?

21 35
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Does someone hurts you in the past? How long does it take for you to forgive that someone? Do you believe in forgive but do not forget? You might wondering why I am asking these questions, well it is because last night, after our yummylicious samgyupsal dinner and when everyone was a little tipsy, my husband got a heated arguments with his brother. I am used to their arguments like everytime, and as you know no one wants to let their pride down. Everyone was shouting at the top of their voice proving their points of view. Maybe if you just knew them and you heard them arguing like crazy you might get turned off but well they love each other like that. After their heated arguments, the topic has been changed and just like that everyone is on good mood again. 😆

Now going back to our main title, the reason why these brothers are having a very hot conversations was because of their oldest brother. Last year, during pandemic they had a misunderstanding with the big brother. Unfortunately my husband isn't ready to forgive and forget the things that his big brother has done. However his other brothers were on the opposite side. They are willing to forget everything for the sake of the family. About two weeks ago, his big brother came to North Fairview to visit, by the way he is living in Los Baños together with his family. My husband was asked to go there, my hubby on the other hand went without the knowledge that his big brother was there. When he found out about it, he didn't even bother to show himself to his big brother because he has been vocal to everyone even to me that he isn't ready to face him. He was really hurt by what happened in the past. I already shared about it in my last year article. Allow me to share you a little glimpse about it.

During the early pandemic, as we all know a lot of people lost their jobs and that includes my husband and his 2 brothers as well. In their family only his big brother has an stable job and his salary is way above others because he is working as a director of a research center inside UP Los Baños. More or less in times of hardships we can only rely to him because no one in the family beside him is capable to help financially. However that wasn't the case. In the whole duration of pandemic he gave my husband 5000 pesos and his other brother too. Of course we were thankful for that. Little did we know after a month or two he was asking where did the money he gave went to. Like he was expecting we should have make the 5k into something. To be honest the 5k that he give was used to repair our car that time, as we all know car repair is quite expensive. He was disappointed because it seems like we didn't use the money he give into something productive. First and foremost we didn't asked for it and we thought he give it from the bottom of his heart so why after a month you are asking where did the money went? And for just as low $100 dollar you are willing to forget your brotherhood. What a shame right? If we only knew that it will happen that way we should've received that certain amount in the first place. One more thing, it was the first time that he give our family that amount. Anyway, with or without his help we survived the challenges of pandemic.

Because of that, all the hurtful things he has said to my husband even before that incident came back, that lead him to block his wife because for us she is the cause of everything. If you notice that I am really close to my in laws family but there's always an exception on the list. My sister in law,the wife of my husband's big brother is such a pain in my head.😅 I don't want to elaborate anymore the reasons why because we might end up tomorrow if I will mention the things I hate about her. Am I being bad? Well my patience with her ended when she blocked me on fb. Is it because my husband blocked him, does it give her the right to block me as well. Ok so if that is the case why blocked my other sister in law and his husband as well. Mind you she is way educated and much mature than me but she ended up being the immature one here. I haven't see her and refuse to meet her last Christmas, however I am okay with his husband because I don't have issue with him. Whatever his issue with my husband, it will always be between them two. I don't think I have right to mingle because it might get things worse. They are old enough to handle things.

According to my husband, he isn't ready to forgive his big brother, now his two brother however was explaining the things about this and that. I was on the middle of them while they were shouting at each other. It seems like my husband needs more time to heal his feelings regarding with the incidents in the past. No matter how his two brothers insisting that is not the right thing to do, my husband however stay firm on his decision. And that's where their conversations ends. After a while they were all calm and we bid our goodbye because it was already past 2 in the morning.

While we were in the car, my husband just suddenly said that it is not that he didn't want to forgive and forget, what he is asking is for more time to heal. And as his wife I understand him very well. I know time will come that he will eventually get along with his brother and let's just hope that it will happen soon because at the end of the day they are still family. As for me I don't think I am ready to get fine with my sister in law. (evil smirk). Hahaha! I guess being civil is all right but being close to her will never happen.

Thank you for dropping by at my post once again. I know everyone of us have different opinion with regards to forgiving someone. Maybe some of you might agree or not with my husband's attitude regarding his present situation. Honestly I am praying his heart would open up and see things in a brighter way. I know God will always listen and one day He will make it happen.

Lead image from Unsplash

15
$ 4.01
$ 3.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
+ 7
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hayy I know how you feel sis. I am just kind of okay2 with my sis in law, she's not that bad. Maybe we just have had a gap ever since. It's okay to forgive but not to forget if I am in your husband's situation. Para sa peace of mind nya. But at the end of the day, it depends on him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo complicated tlaga ang lahat pgdating sa mga in laws sis no. Pano pa kya sitwasyon ko non parang world war 10 talaga. Ang hirap kalimutan pero tao lng tyo sis. Kya iwas iwas na lng tayo. Kya Ako mgkalimutan na lng tlga pero di Ako nagtatanim ng galit sa kanila ksi dios na bhla sa kanila, mga taong mapagmataas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a bit of bad type if the earlier issue with the person crossed limits, I may forgive him even forget about it for the time being. But when someone will call his/her name or If I see them in face to face I will immediately remember that incident. I don't like revenge but I do want the other person to learn the lesson that what they did was wrong. But if the person genuinely comes to me and say sorry that I acted like that earlier. Let's forget all it. Depending on the way he/she is guilty I will forgive and forget about the issue. I guess the final answer will be it depends on the type of person I get issues with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm...when money talks. I always forgive even the pain lives. I believe that forgiving heals the soul. Let any missed chances fade away. Find the strength you didn't know you had and hold onto that. Instead of searching for flaws to correct, search for forgiveness. We are all flawed, will always be flawed, we are only humans. Praying for your hubby and his brother, sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Iba talaga pag galing sayo, tagos sa puso. I am praying for forgiveness in their hearts too, because at the end of the day they are family after all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe good vibes lang tau, sis para lahat happy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For meh don't mind her, just focus on your goal, then ask the guidance neh God para makapatawad kah sah kanya,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are unhappy because they doesn't forgive. Let us forgive and forget to have a peaceful life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo naman yan sis, sana soon eh they'll forgive and forget the things in the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is the key for everything. Grabe and galit ko sa Mama ko noon pero dumating talaga ang panahon na napatawad ko talaga siya at napatawad niya din ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan sis, alam ko darating ang time na magkakapatawaran din sila di pa lang cguro ngayon ang time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis ang gawin mo na lang hayaan mo n lamang para walang gulo. Hindi ka naman nagkulang. Sila ang umiwas sayo. Atleast nasa tama ka sis. Malay natin sa banda banda dian marealize nila kung ano ginawa nila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku mataas pa sa mt. Everest mga pride ng mag asawang yun. Mababa tingin nila samin porke't mataas pinag aralan nila. Hays kaya civil lang ako sa kuya ni hubby pero yung asawa nya di talaga kami bati😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I can move on without forgiving or forgetting. Life moves on. Life is too short to ponder to negativity. Siguro dahil madali ako magmoved on and my mind is always occupied (for now) hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time will come sis , na mag heal si husband mo only time can tell, about sa sister in law mo kung hindi naman kayu magkapit bahay hayaan mo na lang yun kung magkita man kayo sa mga family gatherings civil nalang atleast ipinakita mo lang na ginagamit mo ang iyung pagka educated unlike her na immature and all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo yan sis, mahirap kasi pilitin kung di pa fully heal, babalik balik yan sa umpisa. Pero pinagdadasal ko din na maging maging mapagpatawad ang puso nya.

Naku sissy ewan ko ba dun sa hipag ko akala mo eh hinihingian ng pera eh never nga kami nakautang sa kanila. Sila pa nangutang samin. Kaasar no, makikita mo ang ugali ng tao kapag walang wala ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sis , same sa husband mo. Di rin ako nakikipagharap kapag di pa ko heal. Di naman sa di marunong magpatawad pero kasi mahirap makisama ulit kung nmmay dinaramdam ka pa sa loob. Kaya better na lumayo or dumistansya muna kasi baka magkainitan na naman.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, mahirap yung hinog sa pilit, yun kasi ang di maintindihan ng iba nyang kapatid. Iba iba kasi tayo ng emosyon. Antay lang at darating din sa pagpapatawad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Antay lng darating din naman sa point. Ako nga kahit sa isa kong kapatid, lumalabas tabas ng dila ko kasi inis pa ko sa kanya. Eh pano ba naman kasi, pinatawad na lahat ang gawain ganun parin. Kaya di masisi tlaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, may mga ganung instances talaga kapag pinatawad mo eh umuulit ulit pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan sis. Kaya mahirap na rin talaga magtiwala. Balang araw magheal din asawa mo sis. Wag lang talaga nila pilitin oag di pa kaya talaga kasi lalong lalala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago