Creepy Urban Legends

19 27
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Halloween’s party isn’t over yet. Yesterday as I was browsing my twitter, I’ve seen a lot of celebrities flexing their scariest costumes. Even on every tv shows, the topic was all about creepy and scary encounters by an individual. And who would’ve missed the KMJS “Gabi ng Lagim” special. For some reason, I am fond of watching this segment that days before the special episode comes out, I’ve been watching the previous years episodes on you tube. To my non Filipino readers KMJS is popular magazine show in our country. If you want to know her, you can search all of her show’s episodes which are uploaded in youtube.

Speaking of halloween, I’ve been reading a lot of scary stories from my fellow read.cash readers for the past days and I am so loving it. With all honesty, I just love reading it but I don’t want to experience it in real life. Of course, experiencing it is a whole lot different from reading. I grew up in the province, and eversince I was a kid I heard a lot of stories that have something to do with paranormal activities. Aside from that, urban legends is a popular topic too during this season. let me list down some of the scariest urban legends that has been spread all over our country for decades now.

White Lady

First on the list is the white lady at balete drive. According to the legend, the white lady is a ghost of a teenage girl who was hit by a taxi driver and then buried near the balete tree. From then on, the ghost keeps on haunting most specially on taxi drivers whenever they passed on Balete drive at night. They said the ghost was probably seeking for justice. There were actually a lot of different version about this very famous white lady on Balete drive, and because of that many motorists were afraid to passed by at this particular street specially at night.

The jeepney driver

I have read this story in one of the ghosts book I love to read when I was still in college. The story is about the a student who ride the jeepney going home at night. She was the only passenger at that time. When she asked the driver to dropped at her stop, the driver looked at her in the rear view mirror and continued driving. Though the student is a little afraid, because of what might happened, the driver finally dropped at her supposedly stop. While leaving the jeepney, the driver told the student to burn her clothes right away because she saw the girl student headless in the mirror earlier which could mean death.

Headless Priests

These headless priests were also very popular back when I was a kid. Somehow stories like this is effective so that kids won’t go out at night, because according to some, if you see one something bad is going to happen to you. From what I have heard and read, these headless priests was from the world war II era. For some reason they were beheaded. We all know how cruel or brutal our countrymen suffered under that very dark times in the history. And all these priests were one of the victims too.

Haunted Universities

Many of the old universities in our country believe to be haunted. As this was used to be a cemetery and for some other reasons. Back in high school days, I’ve witnessed some of my schoolmates who were said to be possessed by some unknown spirits. Fortunately nothing bad happened to them afterwards.

Here in the Metro, popular school like University of the Philippines in Diliman have a fair share of ghosts stories among its former students. There is a particular building where the ghost haunts the students. Rumor has it that it was an old student who was molested and then found dead the next day.

My way

Everyone is familiar by Frank Sinatra’s song my way. But this song believes to be a cursed song within our country, that whoever sings it will eventually died. Most of Filipinos loves karaoke specially on every occasion. And celebrations wouldn’t be completed without it, but because of this killing phenomenon this particular song was removed from the playlist, according to others to prevent unfortunate killings that was connected with the song.

So that was some of the creepy urban legends I could share for now. I know there’s a whole lot more as our country is very rich when it comes to this creepy stories. Thanks for sharing your precious time again by dropping at my post. Before I end this up, please don’t forget to give some love on my sponsors list below. Happy Halloween to all! 🎃 👻

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

All images used are from Unsplash

11
$ 4.56
$ 3.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

My heart beats fast after I read this blog entry of yours sponsor. 😯 By the way po, Parang bago lang sakin tung jeepney driver and My way na urban legends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Matagal na yang jeepney driver baka ngayon mo lang din nabasa, about sa my way, ang kwento jan pangit daw kasi yung pagkakanta kaya ayun pinatay sya, at marami pang version na connected sa kantang my way:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung my way talaga creepy ba, lalo na't marami talaga nagsasabi na may cursed talaga ang kanta na yan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga sis, kakaloka kaya tinanggal na ata sa videoke yan, not sure though😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung headless priest yung pinaka nakakatakot para sakin. Kasi sabi nila ang mga headless priest daw ay pinatay noong panahon pa ng pananakop ng mga kastila.

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Oo madaming kwentong ganyan, specially sa province at maraming nagclaim na nakakita na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag sinabi talagang province iba nagiging vision ko HAHAHA parang nakakatakot tuloy mag punta sa probinsya namin dahil sa mga kababalaghan HAHAHA

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Sa kmjs nga lang di ba, nakakaloka paani pa kapag mga tipong liblib na lugar, pero lumaki naman ako sa probinsya so far wala namang lumabas o nagpakita sakin so I can assure you na puro kwento lang yun hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, pero minsan sa pag narrate nalang din sa kmjs kaya nakakatakot pero hindi ko alam pinapanood ko pa din HAHAHA

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Creepy Urban Legends I first read about this today. Although I had seen it before but could not pay attention. It felt good when I read it well today. I learned something new.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh our country has a lot of urban legends that up until now many still believes in it. I wish I could share some of it next time:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed reading this, those are super scary stories. I am not really into believing in haunted stories, I usually see everything as fiction until my mom told me what happened when she was in secondary school.

Regardless of that, I usually enjoy reading scary/creepy stories. I am good at bringing the story to life in my head and that's the big deal for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for dropping by George, our country is very rich with so many stories about creepy creatures that even up until now claimed it is real, some even caught it in videos and pictures. Of course some will say it is just edited, while some really believes in it. For me as long as you have God in your heart, we shouldn’t be afraid:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, because of this I missed reading different horror stories on spookify, a page on facebook. I think I was only 13 when I first read the story of the headless passenger. Katakot until now 😬

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, iba ung pakiramdam kahit matagal ko ng nabasa ang kwento nyan, creepy pa rin up until now😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, natakot ako sa jeepney driver..pero sabi nila totoo daw yn... Kelangan sunogin lahat ng suot para mapigilan ang masamang mangyayari..lalo na at may nakakita na wla siyang ulo.. naibalita na nga din yan sa tv dati eh.. nakakatakot

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo sis, alam mo naman tayo maraming mga paniniwala, pero so far puro kwento pa lang ang naririnig ko dito, pero there was one time yung dati kong katrabaho nagmessage sakin kasi nakita nya daw ako na walang ulo sa picture namin na magkasama kami, natakot din ako, pero dasal lang talaga after a decade wala namang nangyari

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel chill on my spine when I read about jeepney driver, actually I've watched a video on tiktok about that story, the jeepney driver saw the girl headless that's why he dropped the girl and told that she must burn the clothes and don't go straight at home. I don't know if it's true or not, maybe it's one ability of our eyes to predict what may happen to give warning to a certain person.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Aww thank you dear for the upvote, appreciated it much😍 I actually read it in a book entitled the Philippine Ghost Story a few years back, imagine the chill I felt while I was typing the story in the middle of the night. I have to pause and continue it this morning😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago