i am not left behind

4 31
Avatar for wittyscrivener
1 year ago

Everyone strives to accomplish something in their lives.

Some are a little faster than others, but we all have our timelines, as they stated.

However, I cannot deny that I am frightened of being left behind. Seeing people my age achieving something and doing amazing things in life left me doubting myself. Seeing their huge milestone, I cannot help but compare myself to them. I cannot help but belittle myself.

It has been weeks now that I have been in a loop of self-doubt and frustrations. I can count many nights that I cannot sleep due to overanalyzing what is wrong with me.

One cause of that is my schooling; I have excelled in academics and extracurricular activities since I was a child. I have put tremendous pressure on academics since my mom and other siblings excel in that area. I could say that I did well since I have achieved more than what I desired. During my elementary days, my competitive nature earned me the title of a class valedictorian.

And I'm still that kind of achiever in my senior year. I joined different organizations. I involved myself in Campus Journalism and got the spot as a Sportswriter. Also, other than that, I had the chance to compete in different schools whenever we had competitions. I was competitive, and I knew that I was still on my track since I also graduated with high honor.

So I was that achiever. But then, one day, when I was scrolling down on Facebook, my university classmates were already posting that few more steps to go, and they were already graduating. Some also posted about their other successes in life. Some also traveled everywhere and even got good positions in work. Their achievements made an impression in my heart that I think I am now left behind.

This thinking has bothered me for almost a week now. The thought of being left behind creeps in and becomes my disempowering thought. Whenever I feel left behind, I cannot cope with the world's speed. Whenever I feel like it, I am under pressure to achieve more and do more. It seems like I am looking for my old self, that self who is willing to cope with the pace of the world. I was feeling lost and ended up beating myself. Then I had a period of solitude myself. I prayed to the Lord while I thought about it. Is it now too late for my success? Am I left out?

At my weakest point, something in me said, no, I'm not being left behind; instead, I'm on the perfect timetable explicitly designed for me.

Because there was never a race, my timeline does not compare to that of others. I don't have to rush because God has everything planned out for my benefit. I don't have to worry about anything since He is in charge. So, once I discovered that I felt relieved, I no longer felt compelled to compete or show off since I now understood that I was in charge of my own time.

So, if anyone else feels the same way I do about being pressured to keep up with other people's schedules or feeling left out, I'll tell you, Do not be concerned about anything because it will all work out for the best, and if it does not, God is still working in our lives. Let us all remember that we each have our timeframe.

Well, stop comparing your timeline to others' because it's different.Let go of the notion that we must accomplish something now because the other person has already done so. Because, in reality, we all have our agendas, and things go according to our preferences.

There is no need to hurry; instead, let us appreciate and treasure each moment of our lives.We descend at our own pace. There's no rush, just gratitude.

Sponsors of wittyscrivener
empty
empty
empty

We are all just on time , not to early not late , just on time. 

Hi , thank you all for allowing me to bother you ! As I write this, I hope you too can reflect 🌻😌Ciao! πŸ˜‰

I also have my noisecashacc.@Favoreduniverse See ya!

6
$ 1.31
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Shawon130
+ 1
Sponsors of wittyscrivener
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for wittyscrivener
1 year ago

Comments

Oh that's a reminder that I forget sometimes about my little success. I will share in future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We should celebrate our small wins. Huge achievement or small we should tap our self for a job well done.🌻

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for sharing! I too have been unconsciously competing with others that I forget to appreciate and celebrate my own little successes. Yes we all have our own timeline!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you . Some nuggets to chew while we navigate this life πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago