Perks of being an Owl

4 31
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Life

So I've become a night owl. Sometime ago, I began to write nonstop at night that I would just sleep at around 3 am. The habit continued until now and though being a night owl has many detrimental impact to the human body, there also are perks of being one.

Firstly, I get to quiz my son the next day if he heard me snore during the night!

I would ask my 10-year old son, "You heard mama snore last night? How bad was it?"

The young lad would animatedly relate how his mommy snored. Mimicking it like it were true. I smile discreetly, amused. Teehee!

I ask him, "What time did I snore?"

He even provides an answer for that. How genius an inventer my son is! Seriously. I just hope he'll understand the implication of his 'untrue' story. Teehee!

I quiz him again, "Are you sure?"

Then he finally admits, "Joke only, mama."

Likewise I would tell the truth and he would say, "You owl, mama, you always do that to me!"

Then we burst out laughing.

I get to look hard at my face in the mirror and see how beautiful I am.

Well, good morning, myself?!

No really, just simple pleasures of being a woman. You assure yourself you're beautiful no matter how time ages you. You put on your red lipstick and take pictures while you're mind brews some thoughts for writing. And you feel special.

Sometimes, because of what life throws at us, we tend to forget to take the time to tend to our injuries, inside and out. And little by little we lose regard for ourselves.

But my being a night owl sometimes remind me to take care of myself. I thought, 'Someday I'll sleep earlier.'

I experience faster internet connection.

No doubt about this one. I think providers love night owls more than anyone else. Hahaha. Just teasing. But yes, it boosts my mood sometimes that I don't have to experience lags.

At night, the air is fresher and the world is asleep, and I own the internet.

I get to meditate quite well.

Since it's a night, no one bothers you except perhaps if you're still nursing a small child.

You also get to be nostalgic about a lot of things and the more you desire to write.

You create dramas of sorts and you feel like an actress. Why not?!

Sometimes, I also dance but I make sure my husband isn't awake.

Lastly, I get to reflect and plan for the future.

Yes. I make plans about my/our future. It feels good being able to at least think ahead before things come to pass. I tell myself the future will be bright, I will no longer be an owl but I will still be able to see in the night.


Caution: Being a night owl is not as simple as sleeping late and getting up late. You have to have a supportive family who lets you rest at day time. Otherwise, reconsider. It will make you irritable and it will affect your health overall.

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HyeRin
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Life

Comments

Absolutely right, we are beautiful on our own way.. I can relate to that part where you own the night haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? What time do you sleep?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Past midnight. Sometimes 2 to 3 in the morning.. The latest was 4

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe, good for you you may extend you sleep? For my case I have to wait for the next night if I wish to sleep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago