Waffles

21 23
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I am not fond of waffles, pancakes, and what we call "poffertjes" although Dutch people eat it. We have pancake restaurants where one pancake is served bigger than a pizza and it's good for a filled stomach and more carbohydrates one can handle. Poffertjes on the other hand is different. Still, it's the same kind of dough you just use a different "pan". The old fashioned iron one is the best. A minus is a fact the pan turns black and is always sticky.

We have poffertjes-restaurants too. They are rarer. Most likely because it's not like a real meal and if you ask me way too expensive to buy as a bite. It's no breakfast, no lunch, no dinner just... food good for toddlers and kindergarten.

This mom baked them for those children, the same with pancakes. It seems to be a Dutch custom too. Parents baking for celebrations at school.


I had an electric waffle iron. Most likely I had two in my life and I throw them away. Just like the poffertjes-pan, they start leaking, get sticky and the result is disappointing. Yesterday I bought some waffles. They are most likely unhealthy and not as tasty as mine but it saves me time, money and the terrible smell inside and sticking on me, my clothes, my hair, and once in awhile chemicals, trans fat, and plastic are not as bad as when it's three times a day. At least I hope it's not since I read food made for children sold in shops is bad, no quality.

#kittywu #waffles #columnist

6
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Waffles are so nice when eaten with ice cream... And I love pancakes too, they go well with soda, trust me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love to eat pancakes, I observe that it is eaten in several countries, and you can add fruits, chocolate, honey, banana, and many other things, the bad thing about pancakes is that if you eat it a lot, it causes health problems due to carbohydrates. ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed it can be eaten with everything you like. We eat it with sugar, syrup, applause, etc but also with bacon, slices of Apple and cinnamon, ham, everything you add to a pizza.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The shape of waffles there look so different too. They don't have that kind of signature grid markings from the waffles I grew up knowing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are different types of waffles, soft, hard, what they use for ice cream is a waffle too and the shape depends on the iron you use.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They use waffles for crepes? Or for the cone itself? I was sure crepe bread was pancake bread. I've honestly never seen flat waffles like that before or even know that they were baked

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Crepes is the French pancake. Small and thin. Cones are waffles, just like the Dutch syrup cookies (two waffles with syrup between it).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too many waffle variations, i just did a quick search after reading your response orz i wanna try making all of those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Start with the big ones. It's not that difficult and if you do not have all ingredients you skip them. With marmalade, nutella, butter and sugar, ice cream etc and warm it all tastes good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i know how to make some of those at least and i think i have all the stuff i need for most of them so I'll give it a try once a week. I have jams here 😊 and nutella and peanut butter so my dogs can eat too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me know how they tasted and look like 😁 I think @marblely is interested too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do like waffles with ice cream and pancakes too but can't eat too much of them. And they are expensive to buy. I was half thinking of ordering a waffle maker online. They didn't work for you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They work but I bought a very cheap one and it took ages before a waffle was finished. If waffles are expensive I would make them myself. It's just flour with water or milk. You can add sugar to it if you want them sweet, make them with or without eggs. There are many recipes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah ok.. then maybe I might get one :D Yah, I noticed many recipes too and seems easy enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The recipes are not difficult, warm it always tastes good,it's just a thing to find the recipe that fits you. You can add cocoa too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like sweet carbohydrates. I am always preparing them at home. I thought I made a chocolate cake and now the sugar and chocolate are gone. I can't handle that much ... I must wait for my economy to improve.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry to hear about the sugar and cocoa. Instead, you can try raisins or sweet fruit or who knows if you have syrup. It's sweet too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I make the cake myself, without sharing it with my son I would add a lot more. But my son has a very bad taste for the things I add to the cake. If I add things that you don't like, you just eat a piece and say thank you, then you don't eat it anymore. It does not like dry seeds. And right now I have no jam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry to hear that. Raisins are not dry you put them in warm water first. We do the same with raison bread. I hope better days will come and you can bake your favourite cake again. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like waffles too and always order it in a food court in malls when i once lived in the city but since i lived in the province i can't find the waffle that tastes like the one i used to eat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waffles are made in different ways. If you have an iron you can make them yourself. It's mainly flour, water, salt, sugar and baking powder or yeast. Some use milk instead of water and add eggs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago