Traveling around

17 38
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Did I always love traveling? I guess so or perhaps the main reason why I feel restless, travel around is (was) I am a wanderer plus never really felt home. Not with my parents, not in the country I was born. Something is missing. It's getting better now I am getting older but the feeling is still in me. The need to leave. Homesick to home I never was or am. If I feel homesick it's back home, because of what I left behind.

The only "home" feeling I have is in me. In me and the dogs, I need to leave behind. Knowing they need me, depend on me which means they are my biggest worries. The older my children get fewer worries I make about them. They can stay home alone and if I leave for a longer period I take them with me. My grandfather said: "You only need your toothbrush and wallet..." As a little child these words impressed me, I still remember them although he died as I was still young. He loved traveling but his wife didn't. He went to Israel though but at that time he was already sick (dying). Not old but sick most likely for already several years.

My children are not such travelers but they traveled with me because it's good to know more than the street you live in, it's good to have memories of days out, camping (even if it is in your own garden), hike or bike around, hop in a train or bus and observe life from a different angle.

We started in Noord-Holland, went to Gelderland next Noord-Brabant, Belgium, Luxembourg. On our way back we biked via Zeeland.

It's not that each travel was easy. I rarely had money to spend where I arrived. I biked through the Netherlands in the pouring rain, fighting against the rain with a friend and her sister. They brought along a tent and we traveled light. As light as possible. We did not biked through the Netherlands only but visited Belgium and Luxembourg as well. Hitch-hiking where the bike couldn't take us, taking the train and sleeping over with stranger, in a soaked (incomplete) tent while the rice took hours on the small paraffin stove we took along.

I still have two of these stoves. A small and bigger one. The slow cookers of decades ago.

We were camping in between very luxury bungalow tents, campers, and struggled but all together build great memories at the age of 15 because we achieved something together under bad circumstances.

Camping is popular with Dutch people but it's not said it's per se cheaper than a hotel. I am not the camping type although I did it several times in my life.

#traveling #kittywu

All photos can be found on pixabay.com

10
$ 0.26
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Good for you to travel around, someday if my child(ren) will grow up I'll do the same just like you do, traveling should be done not when you are too old because you can't enjoy it that much as older people get tired easily. Have fun and enjoy being yourself, enjoy traveling with your home(self)💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always traveled no matter if I was pregnant or just gave birth. With babies you can easily travel you just need to carry them around with you. It'cheaper too. Babies/toddlers, children till a certain age travel for free.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's really great to travel, seeing new environment, meeting new people, knowing different cultures and traditions,learning survival methods right?perhaps you'd like to check some of my articles about our village which is good for camping and trekking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To me it'snot always the different culture because in the cob try where I live different cultures is normal. At least over 40 or more. I like a different environment, watching people, buildings, being somewhere where no one knows you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you've camped out before. Hopefully I get to do it one day 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You never been camping? You live on the country or in a city? It is something you need to like. We had a very small tent. This meant outside of it we jumped in our sleeping bag and next crawled into the tent.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, anyone barely does it over here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never camped anywhere in my life. I liked traveling and I did it from my adult life. When I was able to become independent from my father's yoke. I graduated from my first profession at 18 and then bought my first car at 20 years old. I started traveling immediately. But I was staying with relatives of friends I traveled with. I never learned to ride a bike when I was young. Until about 30 years of age when I had my second profession and I went to work in the fields. Then some friends taught me to ride a bicycle. Many adventures that now remain in pleasant memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the stove :) That is quite a distance of biking there. How many days was the whole journey? I like traveling when I was younger but not that much anymore. I did camping a couple of times too, I enjoyed it but not really my cup of tea. They did give good memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These small stoves are still for sale second hand. Not expensive. Most of them are grey or white. You can temper the flame. It takes longer for water to boil but it's great for soup, one-pot dishes, warming up, keeping warm if you are not in a hurry plus it doesn't take much room. You can place them on a table. Through the Netherlands, we traveled close to 100 kilometers a day. There are bike roads in the whole country. The more south we came the harder it was. More hilly and Luxembourg were really hard. We hitch-hiked with bikes. The train we took once in the Netherlands and once in Belgium. On our way back we went via Zeeland, mainly farmers, it only rained and we had to take the boat to get there. It was a nice experience although not every part of the trip was well planned. 😬

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The stove is so cute! I like it! Dont worry everything will be alright what you were feeling right now. Its just for a while. Sooner you will found out the reason why it happens. Cheer up! The world means a lot through you. You have your own universe and you are the star by your own universe! Keep on shining! ❤️😊🌸

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Netherlands is a country of nature, diversity and everything else. It is worth a visit, for sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on what you are looking for and what you visit. If you will have a look at the real people, real life, or just go where the tourists go and prefer to stay blind for what's really going on. I think if you travel you rarely meet real life, the suffering, struggle, poverty. After all, we go to celebrate, drink, the (free) drugs and...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hah... yeah! You'll right. 👍😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago